(Cedar Rapids, IA  09/25/09)—The 2009 racing season at Hawkeye Downs Speedway came to a close Friday night with the Barron Motor Supply Season Championships.


Five of the seven divisions that are part of the Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Cup Series were still up for  grabs Friday night and were decided by just a few points.


Blake Carson took the 20-lap feature win in IMCA SportMods after starting outside row two. Point leader and 2009 IMCA SportMod Season Champion Scott Kositzky finished second in the feature after starting fifth and took the title by just three points over Carson, who is a rookie.


Nathan Ballard came in Friday night with a nine point lead over Scott Siems in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks and by the end of the 20 lap feature there was little doubt who the season champ was as Ballard won the feature after starting seventh.


Ballard, who racked up six wins this season, took the lead on lap eight and crossed the stripe ahead of Gary Pfantz, Jeff Franks, Duayne Herb, and Matt Petrzelka.


Kurt Bohnsack and Cory Houdek came into the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Feature separated by just one point with Bohnsack holding the lead in feature wins as well. Houdek started in row two and Bohnsack in row three and moved toward the front with Dennis Hundley leading before caution bunched the field near the halfway mark of the scheduled 20 lap feature.


With 5 laps remaining Hundley was still leading with Houdek in second and Bohnsack in third. The last lap was a wild affair with the front three coming out of turn four three-wide. Hawkeye Downs transponder timing and scoring showed Houdek winning the race by .010 seconds over Hundley. Bohnsack was only .129 seconds behind the leader.  Brian Beaty was fourth, just .205 seconds off the pace, and Bob Ahrendsen was fifth, .205 seconds behind for one of the closest finishes in recent memory.


Since Houdek finished two positions ahead of Bohnsack, he edged out a one-point lead and was named season champion.


In Sunline Hornets, Derek Parrott racked up his fifth straight feature win after starting in the fourth row. Bryce Bailey finished second in the  25-lap caution-filled feature after starting on the point. Brad Chandler  came from the fourth row to finish third while Brad Burhite was fourth and Jim Hanson was fifth.


Coming into the night, Nathan Chandler had a 27-point lead in the point standings with Jim Hanson in second. In Friday night’s feature, Chandler finished seventh which allowed him to maintain a 24 point edge in the final points.


Moving to the half-mile, Tony Olson took the winners’ hardware for the 25-lap feature in Coors Light Modifieds edging out season points champion Tim Plummer. Plummer came into the night with a two point lead over Larry Clausen and once Plummer got around Clausen in the early laps, the points title was his.


Clausen did finish third in the feature and ended up three points behind Plummer in the final tabulations. Arlo Becker crossed the stripe in fourth and Ryan Luedtke was fifth.


Andy Duggan and Dave McCalla came into Friday night just two points apart in the Budweiser Sportsmen standings with Duggan holding the edge in both points and wins. Dave McCalla took the lead early and stayed on the point the entire race. Duggan did make a couple challenges for the lead over the course of the race but with the pair running one and two on the track Duggan still was in control of his destiny as far as points .


Travis Thompson finished third on the track and in points followed by Doug Simon and Brad Daugherty.


Joey Gase brought a 25-point lead to the track in Miller Lite Late Models and effectively had the championship wrapped up just by showing up Friday night.  Getting to the checkered flag wasn’t easy though as the 40-lap  race was slowed for several cautions including one when the point leader himself spun while trying to challenge Brad Dvorak for the lead.


Dvorak started on the pole and never trailed, picking up his first late model feature win. Justin Jennings crossed the stripe in second, followed by Johnny Spaw, Thor Anderson, and Gase.


While Spaw led in feature wins this season with five, a disqualification earlier in the season left him with a tall order to take another championship and he ended up third in points behind Thor Anderson. Gase and Thor Anderson each had one win this season.


Plans are already underway for the 2010 season with all seven of the current divisions returning in 2010.



SEPTEMBER 25, 2009



HEAT- 1. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 3.Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 5.Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Carson 2. S. Kositzky (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 3.K. Kositzky 4.J. Williams 5.C. Williams 6. Coghlan (Brian Gibson tested during this race but was not scored)



HEAT 1- 1. Matt Petrzelka, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 3.Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 4.Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 5.Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Frank Auen, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- 1.Jeremy Robbins 2. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 3. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA 4.Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 5.Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ballard (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 2. Pfantz 3.Franks 4.Herb 5.Petrezelka 6.Robbins 7.K Floyd 8.S. Siems 9. Betzer 10.J. Floyd 11.Auen  DQ- Shaun Myers, Deb Mefford



HEAT- 1. Kurt Bohnsack, iowa City, IA; 2.Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 3.Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Brian Beaty, Palo; 5.Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 7.Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Dave Balstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Houdek (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 2.Hundley 3.Bohnsack 4.Beaty 5.Ahrendsen 6.Balstaedt 7.Stepanek 8.Hentrich 9. Siems



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 2.Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 8.Cory VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 9.Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11.Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12.Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13.Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14.Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 15. Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 16.Steve Miedke, Cedar Rapids, IA; 17. J.C Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 18.Charles Evens, Cedar Rapids, IA; 19.J.R. Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS-Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Tim Plummer, Norway, IA (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 3. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 5.Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 6.Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon, IA; 8.Steve Lindell, Marion, IA



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA(SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 3.Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 4. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 5.Mark Hauder, Dubuque, IA; 6. Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA



FEATURE (40 laps) 1. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 2. Justin Jennings, LaGrange, MO.; 3.Jonny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Thor Anderson, Bonduraunt, IA; 5. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 6. Jim Ross, Robins, IA; 7. Mason Mitchell; 8. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 11. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 12. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 13. Curt Tillman, Rockford, IL