(Cedar Rapids, IA  09/24/04)—The first champions of the 2004 ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championships were crowned Friday night at Hawkeye Downs.


            Matt Poduska became the first IMCA Hobby Stock Season Champion at Hawkeye Downs  by taking the green flag for the fifteen lap feature for that division. Brandon Herb won Friday night’s feature event, finishing ahead  of Bryce Mitchell, Chad Vozenilek, Roland Bohnsack, and Scott Strauss.


            The race was slowed by a couple cautions including one with just three trips around the quarter-mile remaining. That YellowBook USA yellow flag took out the second and third place cars of Terry Shaffer and Jeff Selfridge. 


            Dave McCalla put an exclamation point on a very successful season Friday night by winning the feature and the season crown in the Barron  Motor Supply Super Stocks. McCalla slipped into the lead on lap nine after starting tenth on the grid and crossed the Lint Millwright Start-Finish Line ahead of Bob Ahrendsen, Doug Simon, Jim Hanson and Logan Hale.


            Hale also picked up the Royal Flush Plumbing Rookie of the Year award.


            The remaining divisions which raced Friday night will crown their champions on Friday, October 1.


            The Performance Concepts Late Model field was slim due to several competitors racing at the National Short Track Championships in Rockford, Ill. but the field put on an entertaining race for Armed Forces Night.


            Brad Osborn chalked up another win Friday night in a rebuilt car. Osborn was involved in an accident at Madison, WI. On September 11 and had to do substantial work to get the car ready for Friday night.


            Kyle Hinrichs had built a sizable lead in the 25 lap Late model feature but saw the margin erased after a lap nine caution put Osborn right on his bumper. A couple laps after the restart Osborn powered into the lead and looked to have things well in hand. On the final lap Hinrichs made a ferocious charge but came up .269 seconds short according to Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring. Finishing behind Hinrichs was Denny Osborn, JJ Meyer, and Chris Sevey.


            Martin Ballard held off a hard-charging Scott Wennermark to pick up the feature win in the Budweiser Sportsmen division. Ballard amassed a huge lead but Wennermark was knocking off nearly a half-second per lap once he cleared the field from his sixth starting spot and eventually wound up on Ballards tail. The winning margin was a scant .199 seconds.


            Brian Franks finished third with John Henecke and Johnny Mudd rounding out the top five finishers.


            It looked like it would be Aric Becker’s night in the Miller Time Modifieds as he led much of the feature in convincing fashion. A caution with 7 laps to go bunched the field and after forging ahead of the pack on the restart Becker suffered mechanical problems and quickly dropped back.


            That misfortune put Chad Willett in command and he collected the checkers after holding off a last ditch effort by Larry Clausen to take the lead. Rodney Rocarek crossed the stripe in third while Bob Gase and point leader Tim Plummer also finished in the top five.


            The Women on Wheels division is still very much up for grabs with Jessica Hoffman the latest combatant to earn Coca-Cola Victory Lane honors. Carrie Carnahan appeared to have things well in hand when she faltered a bit on the final turn of the final lap and Hoffman was able to sneak by for the win. Amanda Oakley finished in third with Connie Binder fourth and Kandi Floyd in fifth.


            Also on hand Friday night were 4-Cylinder cars doing battle on the quarter-mile. Jake Blumer was the class of the field, winning the 15-lap event which saw about a dozen cars participating. Blumer beat John Flury to the line by a sizable margin. Bryan Klein took third place honors while Gary Moorman and Adam Green also placed in the top five.


            Finally, the eighth division in competition Friday night were the Nostalgia Stocks, which actually run as two separate classes, Sportsman, and Late Models. Brad Huff of Center Point took home the trophy for the Late Model division piloting a ’70 Chevy Nova. Merle Leonard nabbed the hardware for the Sportsman division, driving a ’52 Studebaker.


            The final night of racing for the 2004 campaign is Friday, October 1st. Season Champions will be crowned in the Late Models, Modifieds, Women on Wheels, and Sportsmen.







Feature (25 laps)

1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 3. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 4. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 5. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 6. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 7. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 8. Tom Mangano, Cedar Rapids; 9. Jeff Watters, Mineral Point, WI.



Feature (25 laps)

1. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 2. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brian Franks, Central City; 4. John Henecke, Hiawatha; 5. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 7. Andy Duggan, Marion; 8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 9. Rob Keeney, Cedar Rapids; 10. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 11. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids



Feature (25 laps)

1. Chad Willet, Cedar Rapids; 2. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 4. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 5. Tim Plummer, Norway; 6. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 7. Arlo Becker, Norway; 8. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 9. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 10. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 11. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids



Feature (25 laps)

1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Doug Simon, Marion; 4. Jim hanson, Cedar Rapids; 5. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 6. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 7. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 8. Matt Greiner, Washington; 9. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 10. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 12. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids; 13. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 14. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 15. Terry Shaffer



Feature (15 laps)

1. Brandon Herb, Cedar Rapids; 2. Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 3. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids; 4. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 5. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 6. Matt Poduska, C edar Rapids; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 9. Dave Gleason, Cedar Rapids; 10. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 11. Terry Shaffer, State Center; 12. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 13. Scott Durlin; 14, Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 15. Roger Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 16. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 17. Jeff Selfridge, Marion; 18. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 19. Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids; 20. Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids



Feature (10 laps)

1. Jessica Hoffman, Atkins; 2. Carrie Carnahan, Marion; 3. Amanda Oakley, Cedar Rapids; 4. Connie Binder, Clutier; 5. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids



Feature (15 laps)

1. Jake Blumer, Manchester; 2. John Flury, Epworth; 3. Bryan Klein, Cedar Rapids; 4. Gary Moorman, Conrad; 5. Adam Green, Clinton; 6. Jena Barthelmes, Cedar Rapids; 7. Chad Kugel, Ogden; 8. Gary Peiffer, Troy Mills; 9. Justin Kay, Wheatland