(Cedar Rapids,IA  09/18/09)—Round two of the “September Showdown” is in the books at Hawkeye Downs Speedway and the Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Series point races remain tight after Friday night’s action.


                Jonny Williams picked up his second feature win of the season in IMCA SportMods. Williams started alongside his brother Creston in row one, bolted into the lead, and then held off a stern challenge from Blake Carson at the halfway mark  before collecting the win. Ken Kositzky crossed the stripe in second. Carson was third, and point leader Scott Kositzky rallied from an early spin, finishing fourth. Dave Coghlan was fifth in the 20-lap feature.


                In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Sock Cars, Bob Ahrendsen found Coca-Cola Victory Lane for the third time this season. Ahrendsen started outside row three, took the lead by the halfway mark and then held off Cory Houdek to secure the win. Point leader Kurt Bohnsack finished third after a caution with four laps to go when he tangled with Dave Ballstaedt.  Dennis Hundley finished fourth and Cory Houdek was fifth.


                Derek Parrott racked up his third straight SunlIne Hornets feature after taking the lead on lap 20 of the scheduled 25-lap event. The race was slowed by several cautions with Brad Burhite leading  in the early going. Parrott, who started in the rear as the previous feature winner, methodically picked his way through the field before taking command.


                Burhite maintained second and was chased to the stripe by Jim Hanson, Shane Hanson, and Brogan Fiala. The current point leader, Nathan Chandler, finished sixth.


Nathan Ballard has been on a roll in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks and he pulled in to victory lane for the fifth time this season after that divisions 20 lap feature. Ballard started in row four and took the lead on lap fourteen using an outside pass to take the top spot. Duayne Herb finished second with Shaun Myers, Gary Pfantz, and Kandi Floyd finishing out the top five.


Coors Light Modified point leader Tim Plummer edged out Larry Clasuen for his fifth feature win of the season. Plummer started near the back of the field, pulled alongside Clausen at the halfway mark and took the lead on lap sixteen of the 25-lap feature. Ryan Luedtke finished third, Tony Olson was fourth, and Rodney Rocarek made a successful return to Hawkeye Downs finishing fifth.


Another familiar name returned to the Modified ranks Friday night as well as Chad Willet finished sixth.


Andy Duggan and Dave McCalla waged another side-by-side battle in Budweiser Sportssmen with Duggan eventually winning the battle for the lead. McCalla led the early going but Duggan quickly closed in, taking the point on lap seven.  McCalla appeared to close back in a bit for a couple laps but Duggan pulled away, eventually posting  a 2.2 second win over McCalla.  Doug Simon was third, Brad Daugherty finished fourth, and Travis Thompson was fifth.


Finally, the Miller Lite Late Models were also on the card Friday night although it was not a points race. Hawkeye Downs elected to allow those drivers that wanted to participate in the ASA Late Model Series event at Iowa Speedway to do so and at the same time any drivers that wanted to run at Hawkeye Downs could run the special non-points event.


Tim Plummer took his second trip of the night to Coca-Cola Victory Lane after winning the thirty-lap Late Model feature. This came after he and Jim Ross tangled on the first lap forcing a yellow.


Johnny Spaw led the early going but Plummer was up to second by lap seven and had reeled Spaw in by lap eleven. Plummer took command one lap later and was never challenged the rest of the way. Spaw finished second, Brad Dvorak was third, Logan Hale crossed the stripe in fourth and Scott Siems finished fifth.


All seven divisions will crown champions next Friday night as Barron Motor Supply presents Season Championships.



MILLER LITE LATE MODELS (non points race)

HEAT- 1. Jim Ross, Robins, IA; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 3. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 4. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA; 7. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Spaw 3.Dvorak 4.Hale 5.Siems  6.Ross 7.Boelts



HEAT- 1. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 2.Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 3.Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 5.Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA; 6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 7.Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Duggan 2.McCalla 3.Simon 4.Daugherty 5.Thompson 6.Hentrich 7.Ahrendsen



HEAT – 1. Mike Schulte, Norway, IA; 2. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 5.Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 6. Chad Willett ; 7. Rodney Rocarek, 8. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 9.Steve Lindell, Marion, IA

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Clausen 3.Luedtke 4.Olson 5. Rocarek 6. Willett 7.Becker 8. Lindell 9. Schulte



HEAT 1. Dave Balstaedt, Marion, IA; 2.Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 4. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawtha, IA; 7. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 8. Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1.Ahrendsen 2.Houdek 3.Bohnsack 4.Hundley 5.Beaty 6.Balstaedt 7.Hentrich 8.Stepanek 9. Siems



HEAT 1- 1.Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3.Gary Pfantz, State Center; 4. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 5. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Matt Petrezelka

HEAT 2- 1.Jeremy Robbins 2. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 3.Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 5. Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE- 1. Ballard 2. Herb 3. Myers 4.Pfantz 5. K. Floyd 6.Mefford 7.Franks 8.Petrezelka 9. Robbins 10. Siems 11.J. Floyd 12. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT- Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 2.Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 4. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. J. Williams 2. K. Kositzky 3. Carson 4. S. Kositzky 5. Coghlan 6.C. Williams



HEAT 1 (previous winners) 1. Shane Hansen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Steve Miedke, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- (previous winners)1. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 3.Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 6. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 3- (non-winners) 1. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 4. Jeff Dvorak 5. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Charles Evens 7.J.C. Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Derek Parrott 2. Brad Burhite 3.Jim Hanson 4. Shane Hanson 5. Brogan Fiala; 6Nathan Chandler  7.Chuck Hanson 8.Jasen Freeman 9.Steve Miedke 10.Jose DeJesus 11. Dakota Dains 12. Christian Grady 13. J.C. Floyd 14.Charles Evens 15. Cody Schultz 16. Bryce Bailey 17. Jeff Dvorak 18. Steve Dighton