(Cedar Rapids, IA 09/04/09)—Close finishes and close points standings continue to be the rule at Hawkeye Downs Speedway as action continued in the Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Series Friday night. This was the first of three “ September Showdown” races that were added to the schedule after a slew of rainouts early in the season.


Derek Parrott picked up his second straight feature win in the Sunline Hornets after taking the lead from Jasen Freeman with just three laps to go. Freeman had built a commanding lead but once Parrott cleared the rest of the pack he quickly reeled in Freeman and powered around the leader for the win. Freeman maintained second while Dan Burhite finished third. Shane Hanson and Jim Hanson also posted finishes in the top five.


Aric Becker found himself in Coca-Cola Victory Lane at the conclusion of the 20-lap IMCA SportMod feature after a last lap spin that included point leader Scott Kositzky and Dave Coghlan scrambled the order. Rookie Ken Kositzky finished second followed by another rookie, Blake Carson. Jonny Williams wound up fourth and Tim Dains was fifth.


Scott Kositzky continues to lead the IMCA SportMod points but his lead over Carson has shrunk to just five points with two races remaining.


Roland Bohnsack took home the winner’s hardware in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks after running side-by-side with Deb Mefford for much of the 20-lap feature. The two traded the lead throughout the race before Bohnsack claimed the point for good for good with four laps remaining. Mefford finished second, right on Bohnsack’s rear bumper while Nathan Ballard crossed the stripe in third. Scott Siems finished fourth and Jeremy Robbins was fifth. Ballard unofficially now has a two-point lead over Siems.


Brian Beaty recorded his second win of the season in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars after taking the lead from Chad Siems just past the halfway mark in the 20-lap feature. Cory Houdek cut into Kurt Bohnsack’s point lead finishing in second, one position ahead of Bohnsack. Dennis Hundley was third while Siems finished fifth.  Bohnsack now has a two-point edge on Houdek with two races to go in the chase.


Larry Clausen and Tim Plummer waged a terrific side-by-side battle in the 25-lap Coors Light Modified feature with Plummer finally clearing Clausen with three laps to go. Clausen bolted into the early lead and once Plummer got around Mike Schulte the battle was one. Clausen maintained control, staying on the inside groove  but Plummer stayed alongside and with five laps to go he mounted a more serious charge for the lead, taking the spot a couple laps later to claim his fifth win.


Clausen maintained second while Mike Schulte was third followed by Ryan Luedtke and Tony Olson.  The point battle remains tight in this division as well with Plummer holding a one-point edge over Clausen.


Andy Duggan prevailed  in the 25-lap Budweiser Sportsmen feature but not without heavy pressure from Dave McCalla. The two were tied in points coming into the night. McCalla stayed with Duggan but couldn’t rally a serious bid for the lead and had to settle for second. Kevin Lee, Brad Daugherty, and Travis Thompson all posted finishes in the top five as well.  Duggan, who now has 5 wins, has a one-point edge over McCalla heading into the last two races of the season.


Finally, in Miller Lite Late Models, Curt VanDerWal notched his second win of the season crossing the stripe .241 seconds ahead of Dudley Fleck for the win. VanDerWal got a late start on the season but has been running strong since his return. Thor Anderson finished third while Point leader Joey Gase was fourth. Johnny Spaw, who is second in points, ran fifth.


Before the first lap was complete, Jim Ross and Lane Brendan tagged the wall in turn three and both cars suffered heavy damage but the drivers were OK.


Joey Gase continues to lead the points with a 25-point margin over Johnny Thor Anderson. The Late Models have just one point event remaining and Gase must start that feature to secure a championship.


Racing continues on Friday, September 18 with all seven divisions in action.



HEAT 1 (previous winners) 1. Brad Burnite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6.Steve Miedke,Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2 (previous winners) 1. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 4. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 6. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 3( non-feature winners) 1. Cory Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, IA; 2.Zach Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 6.Christiam Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Charles Evens

FEATURE(25 laps) 1. Derek Parrott 2.Jasen Freeman 3.Dan Burhite 4.Shane Hanson 5.Jim Hanson 6.Merv Chandler 7.Cory Van Der Wal 8.Bryce Bailey 9.Brogan Fiala 10.Nathan Chandler 11.Brad Chandler 12.Chuck Hanson 13.Steve Miedke 14.Zach Burhite 15.Dakota Dains 16.Dallas Chandler 17.Christian Grady 18.Charles Evens 19.Jose DeJesus 20.Brad Burhite



HEAT- 1. Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA; 2.Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 3.Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 4.Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 6.Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA;7.Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8.Roger McDonald; 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Becker 2.K. Kositzky 3.Carson 4.J. Williams 5.Dains 6.S Kositzky 7.Coghlan 8.C. Williams 9.McDonald



HEAT- 1. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 2.Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 3.Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 4.Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 5. Jeremy Robbins ; 6. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 7.Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps)- 1.Bohnsack 2.Mefford 3.Ballard 4. Siems 5. Robbins 6.Franks 7.Floyd 8. Herb



HEAT- 1. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 2.Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 6.Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 8.Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9.Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 10. Craig Stepanek

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Beaty 2.Houdek 3. Bohnsack 4.Hundley 5. Siems 6. Hentrich 7. Bolton 8. Ballstaedt 9. Stepanek 10. Ahrendsen



HEAT- 1. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 2.Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 3. Mike Schulte, Norway, IA; 4. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 6. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8.Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE(25 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Clausen 3.Schulte 4.Luedtke 5.Olson 6.Bender 7.Lindell 8.Arlo Becker 9.Aric Becker



HEAT- 1. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 2.Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA; 3.Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Duggan 2. McCalla 3. Lee 4. Daugherty 5.Thompson 6. Hentrich 7. Ahrendsen



HEAT 1- 1. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 4. Johnny Spaw,Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 6. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 7. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Lane Brendan, Mitchell, SD; 2. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Justin Jennings, LaGrange, MO; 4. Logan hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Curt Tillman, Rockford, IL; 6. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (40 laps) 1. VanDerWal 2.Fleck 3. Anderson 4. Gase 5.Spaw 6. Hale 7. Dvorak 8. Jennings 9. Scott Siems 10. Tillman 11. Osborn DNF- Ross, Brendan DNS- Darrell Long