By Brad Grupe

Photos: Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir

Photos: Ed Siems

Cedar Rapids, IA 08/26/2011)—The 2011 Hawkeye Downs regular season came to a close Friday night with the running of Barron Motor Supply Season Championships. Point champions were determined in all six divisions of the Papa John Cup/I-Wireless Championships Series.



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir

In Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, Matt Petrzelka put an exclamation point on a successful season by picking up his eighth win of the campaign. Petrzelka started outside row one and then outlasted Roland Bohnsack for the feature win. Brad Chandler was third followed by Jeremy Robbins, who finished second to Petrzelka in the points chase.

HEAT- 1. Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2.Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 3.Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 4.Jeremy Robbins, Swisher

FEATURE(15 laps) 1. Petrzelka (Season Points Champion) 2.Bohnsack 3.Chandler 4.Robbins



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir

Cory Houdek earned top honors in the Coca-Cola Sportsmen point chase after holding off Ben Glascock and Craig Stepanek in a twenty-lap feature for that division. Houdek took the lead from Dave Ballsteadt on lap three and then led the rest of the way to secure the win and the title. Glascock made a couple runs at the leader using the outside lane but couldn’t mount a serious challenge. Stepanek ended up third with Ballstaedt and Josh Williams also running in the top five.

HEAT 1- 1. Cory Houdek, Marion ; 2.Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids; 3.Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 4.Josh Williams, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2-1.Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 2.Ben Glascock, Indianola; 3.Aaron Jarvis, Center Point; 4.Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1.Houdek (Season Point Champion) 2.Glascock 3.Stepanek 4.Dallstaedt 5.Williams 6.Hentrich 7.Jarvis 8. Ahrendsen



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir


Tim Plummer picked up his seventh Budweiser Modified feature win of the season on Friday night but due to missing a few nights to run his Late Model  at ASA events he came up short in the points chase. The night didn’t go as expected for season point champion Ryan Luedtke as he was sent into the wall in turn one on the first lap after  the #88 of Arlo Becker grazed the wall on the front stretch breaking a steering component and collecting Luedtke.


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Photo: Ed Siems


Luedtke was able to return but wasn’t running full song and had to settle for fifth on the track. Finishing behind Plummer in the feature were Brian Gibson, Craig Bender, Jason Beauregard, and Luedtke.

HEAT 1-1. Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 2.Brian Gibson, Walford; 3.Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 4.james Dixon, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1.Tim Plummer, Cedar Rapids; 2.arlo Becker, Norway; 3.Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 4. Steve Lindell, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Gibson 3.Bender 4.Beauregard 5.Luedtke (Season Point Champion)  6.Dixon 7.Lindell 8.Becker



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir

Matt Blake had the McGrath Powersports Legends title wrapped up coming into Friday night and he battled hard to also try to take the feature win on season championship night as well but came up a bit short as a last lap effort to wrestle the point from Michael Weber resulted in a spin as the field approached  the stripe. Weber won the feature followed by Brogan Fiala, Rod McGlothlen, Al Diercks, and Chris Jansen.

HEAT 1-1. Michael Weber, Ryan; 2. Al Diercks, Davenport; 3.Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 4.Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 5.Brogan Fiala, Fairfax; 6.Troy Burkhart, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2-1.Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 2.Chris Jansen, Cedar Rapids; 3.Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 4.Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 5. Caleb Adrian, Davenport

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Weber 2.Fiala 3.McGlothlen 4.Al Diercks 5.Jansen 6.Blake (Season Point Champion) 7.Adrian 8.Beauregard 9.Dennis Diercks 10.Bailey DNS- Burkhart



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir


Brad Chandler worked through the field from the last row to take the feature win and secure the season championship in Sunline Hornets. Brad had a narrow lead over his brother Dallas heading into Friday night and was able to outrun Dallas as the pair worked through the field. Kurt Bohnsack was second in the feature followed by Merv Chandler,  Derek Parrott, and Dallas Chandler. The win was the ninth of the season for Brad Chandler.


HEAT 1. 1.Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 3.John Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4.Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 5.Prestin Witham, Cedar Rapids; 6. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

HEAT 2-1.Derek Parrott, Marion; 2.Jamie Witham, Cedar Rapids; 3.Kevin Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 4.Dan Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 5.Joe Bean, Cedar Rapids DNS- Dakota Dains, Maron

HEAT 3-1.Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.Casey Bilden, Cedar Rapids; 3. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 4.Parker Anderson, Marion 5.Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 6. Jim Sebousek, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Brad Chandler (Season Point Champion)  2.Bohnsack 3.Merv Chandler 4.Parrott 5.Dallas Chandler 6.Todd Ness 7.Jamie Witham 8.Bilden 9.DeJesus 10.Freeman 11.John Ness 12.Bailey 13.Prestin Witham; 14.Anderson 15.Hartman 16.Serbousek 17.Bean  DNS- Dains



Jim Wittke- Touch of Class/Speedway Souvenir


Griffin McGrath held off a determined Thor Anderson to win Friday nights’ 30-lap Performance Concepts Late Model feature. McGrath took the lead from Kyle Hinrichs on lap ten and then survived a lap nineteen restart  after Andy Edwards  found the turn one wall. Edwards was second on the point chart behind Brad Osborn coming into Friday night.

Thor Anderson finished second in the feature followed by Kyle Hinrichs, Jay Jaspers, and Tim Plummer. The 2011 sessaon point champion, Brad Osborn, finished sixth.

HEAT 1.- 1.Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 2.Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 3.Thor Anderson, Bondurant; 4.Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids; 5.Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6.Brian Allen, Hiawatha

HEAT 2-1.Brad Osborn, Janesville 2.Tim Plummer, Cedar Rapids; 3.Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 4.Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 5. Andy Edwards, New Hartford

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. McGrath 2.Anderson 3.Hinrichs 4.Jaspers 5.Plummer 6.Osborn (Season Point Champion)  7.Gase 8.Thompson 9.Scott Siems 10.Chad Siems 11.Edwards 12.Allen



The i-Wireless Lil’ Racer Car Club also had their final event for the 2011 season with an on track autograph and Trick or Treat session during Intermission.


While the 2011 season is in the books, preliminary 2012 schedule information will be available soon along with 2012 season pass pricing. No rule changes are planned for 2012 in keeping with Hawkeye Downs intent to help keep racing affordable.