(Cedar Rapids, IA  08/25/06)—Hawkeye Downs Speedway held the final point races of the season on Friday night with the “Coca-Cola Season Championships” determining who earned the points titles in each division.


            All year long drivers have battled for points in the “Papa Johns Cup/ I Wireless Championship” and the “Full Throttle Energy Drink Stars of Tomorrow” with Friday night serving as the culmination of those points races.


            Nathan Ballard of Marengo came into Friday night with a huge lead in the Sunline Hornet Division and he won the feature as well as the point title on Friday night. Ballard finished ahead of Brian Beaty, Brian Bries, Corey Depaw, and Rick Gallo. Ballard won seven features over the course of the season.


            In the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Rodney Grother made sure his point lead was safe Friday night, winning the 25 laps feature in that division. Grother came into the night with a relatively safe 16 point lead over Tim Dains and won the feature and the title.  Dains finished second, Gary Pfantz was third, Scott Siems fourth, and Deb Mefford crossed the stripe in fifth in the caution-free race.


            The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car divison featured the closest point race of the night with just three points separating leader Brad Dvorak and the second place car of Bob Ahrendsen. Dvorak won the feature with Ahrendsen second which kept the point margin the same on the final chart. Logan Hale recorded another strong performance finishing third with Chad Siems and Randy Filling rounding out the top five.


            The Performance Concepts Late Model feature was the only race of the night where the division point leader didn’t win the feature. Scott Wennermark and Brad Osborn tangled shortly after a caution for debris and Wennermark was unable to continue although he still won the division title.  On the track, Jeff King scored the victory with Danny Ouderkirk of Lawson, MO finishing second. Dudley Fleck, who’s had a handful of appearances this season finished in third.  Alison Quick of Redding, IA finished fourth while Osborn crossed the line in fifth.


            Dave McCalla picked up his first season Championship since coming to the half-mile in the Budweiser Sportsmen division. The Sportsmen ran 35 laps without a caution with McCalla beating the second place car of Andy Duggan to the flagstand by nearly two seconds. Martin Ballard was third, Ross Zumbach fourth, and Joey King was fifth.


            Tim Plummer took no chances in the Miller Time Modified feature, beating Rodney Rocarek to the line and winning his third championship in that division. Shawn Stinger finished third with Larry Clausen scored fourth. Chad Willet was fifth. Arlo Becker, who was chasing Plummer in the points suffered mechanical problems at the end of the race and finished back in the order.











Coca-Cola Season Championships

August 15, 2006



1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA (Season Point Champion); 2. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 3. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 4. Corey Depaw, Marion, IA; 5. Rick Gallo; 6. Roy Parker, Marion, IA; 7. Connie Binder, Clutier, IA; 8. Todd Tharp, Newhall, IA; 9. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA  DQ-Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha



1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA (Season Point Champion); 2. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 3. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 6. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 7. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 11. Kris Jones, Marion, IA; 12. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA



1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA (Season Point Champion) ; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 5. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 6. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 7. Seth Thomas, Center Point, IA; 8. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids, IA



1. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Danny Ouderkirk, Lawson, MO; 3. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Alison Quick, Redding, IA; 5. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 6. Scott Wennermark, Ely, IA (Season Point Champion)



1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA (Season Point Champion); 2. Andy Duggan, Marion; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 4. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 5. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 6. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 7. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 10. Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 11. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 12. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA; 13. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 14. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA



1. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA (Season Point Champion); 2. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon, IA; 3. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Chad Willet, Alburnett, IA; 6. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 11. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 12. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 13. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 14. Tim Bartholomew, Waterloo, IA; 15. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA