By Brad Grupe

(Cedar Rapids, IA 8/24/03)—Kurt Bohnsack of Iowa City visited Coca-Cola Victory Lane twice to collect winners hardware on Friday night after winning features in both the Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars and Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks. Bohnsack drives the same car in both classes, which requires some fast modifications between features.


            In the Super Stock feature Bohnsack took the win after starting in the second row. He held off Bob Ahrendsen and Paul Walder in the thirty-lap event which did include a couple cautions.


            Bohnsack took advantage of a favorable starting position in the IMCA Stock cars as well and was able to hold off Ronnie Godwin and Larry Silbaugh for the win.


In other ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship action Johnny Spaw won in Performance Concepts Late Models, Landon Cassill scored the win in Duffy’s Collectible cars Legends, Kyle Hinrichs took top honors in Miller Time Modifieds, and Curt Van Der Wal earned the feature win the in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen.


With just a couple weeks to go in the season the points races are still very close in all divisions.


Larry Clausen came into Friday nights’ action as the point leader but mechanical problems during warm up laps for the feature forced him to park the modified for the night. That coupled with a sixth place finish by Bob Gase has given Gase the lead.


In that feature, Kyle Hinrichs and Arlo Becker traded the lead back and forth before Hinrichs took the lead for good and Becker slipped backwards a few positions. Brian Allen finished in second with Landon Cassill in third. The win was the third of the season for 15 year old Hinrichs.


Defending Performance Concepts Late Model Champion Johnny Spaw picked up his fourth win of the season Friday night after starting ninth on the grid. He was followed to the stripe by Dudley Fleck. Fleck started 13th and finished just .171 seconds behind Spaw according to Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring. Denny Osborn posted another strong finish coming in third.


Landon Cassill picked up yet another win in the Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends, his sixth straight win. Cassill edged out Tom Frady, taking the lead coming out of turn four on the final lap of the feature.Keith Meyer finished third.


Curt Van Der Wal edged closer to another title in the Budweiser Sportsmen division, picking up his fifth win of the season. Kevin Korsmo slashed through the pack to finish a strong second while Johnny Mudd, who trails Van Der Wal by just 8 points, finished in third.


(NOTE: On Monday, August 25 Hawkeye Downs Speedway announced that Curt Van Der Wal’s car failed post-race inspection. The car didn’t meet the mandated ride-height requirements. The official point standings have been adjusted to reflect this decision.)





Results for August 22, 2003

1600 AM The Zone/Royal Flush Plumbing Night


Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

3. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

4. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

5. JimHanson, Cedar Rapids

6. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

7. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

8. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

9. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

10. Aric becker, Cedar Rapids

11. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

12. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

13. Randy Filling, Toddville

14. Scott Grady, Walker

15. Paul Nagle, Nevada

16. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

17. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

18. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

19. Jeff Franks, Rowley

20. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

21. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

DNS  Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids


Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Curt Van Der Wal. Oskaloosa

2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

3. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

4. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

5. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

6. Andy Duggan, Marion

7. Martin Ballard, Marengo

8. John Henecke, Hiawatha

9. Tom Burke, Nevada

10. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

11. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids

12. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

13. Randy Lockwood, Cedar Rapids

14. Brian Franks, Central City

15. Lyle Williams, Center Point


Miller Time Modifieds

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Lyle Hinrichs, Swisher

2. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

3. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

4. Arlo Becker, Atkins

5. Max Corporon, Marion

6. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

7. Jim Williams, Atkins

8. Tim Plummer, Norway

9. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon

10. Chad Walen, Prior Lake, MN

11. John Baker, Cedar Rapids

12. Shawn Stinger, Palo

13. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

14. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

15. Jerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

16. Steve Lindell, Marion

DNS Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids


Performance Concepts Late Models

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

3. Denny Osborn, Janesville

4. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

5. Mike Ehde, Prairie Du Chien, WI

6. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

7. Matt Lundberg, Des Moines

8. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids

9. Lorin Kurth, Waukon

10. Dennis Gerst, Jesup

11. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

12. Brad Osborn, Janesville

13. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

14. Brian Gibson, Walford

15. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf

16. Chris Sevey, Waterloo


Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars

FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

2. Ronnie Godwin, Earlham

3. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson

4. Norman Chesmore, Rowley

5. Pete Alepra, Cedar Rapids

6. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

7. Richard Quail, Waterloo

8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids


Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends

FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

2. Tom Frady, Cedar Rapids

3. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN

4. Brett Thomas, Cedar Rapids

5. Keith Meyer, Cedar Rapids

6. Mark Hauder, Dubuque

7. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids