(Cedar Rapids, IA 08/21/09)—Tim Plummer visited Coca-Cola Victory Lane twice on Friday night, August 21 as he posted wins in both Coors Light Modifieds and Miller Lite Late Models during Coca-Cola Night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Duayne Herb was a first-time winner in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks as well. Other winners Friday night included Kurt Bohnsack in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Jim Hanson in Sunline Hornets, and Scott Kositzky in IMCA SportMods.

Scott Kositzky started in row three and took the lead from Dave Coghlan on lap thirteen of the 20-lap IMCA SportMod feature, ringing up his fifth win of the season and solidifying his point lead in the standings. Blake Carson crossed the stripe in second, last week’s winner Jonny Williams was third, Ken Kositzky was fourth and Dave Coghlan was fifth.

In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Kurt Bohnsack used the outside groove to take the lead with five circuits remaining and went on to win his fourth feature of 2009. Greg Hentrich led much of the race with Brian Beaty challenging for the lead on lap seven of the scheduled twenty. While those two were battling, Bohnsack made his move, darting to the outside and taking the lead. Bohnsack led a nose-to-tail parade of five cars to the finish line.

Finishing behind Bohnsack were Beaty, Bob Ahrendsen, Cory Houdek, and Hentrich.

Jim Hanson pulled off a last-to-first run in the 25-lap Sunline Hornets feature to score his second win of 2009. Hanson moved steadily thorough the pack as the laps ticked off and then took command after a restart with six laps to go. Derek Parrott led the first half of the feature before Brad Chandler took over the point but that lead was short-lived as the hard-charging Hanson motored around the leaders. Brian Franks also charged to the front from deep in the field and finished second. Brad Chandler was third followed by Nathan Chandler and Dallas Chandler.

In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Duayne Herb inherited the lead after a lap three caution that included race leader Kandi Floyd. Floyd was inadvertently collected in a incident involving two other cars. Herb was able to hold off Roland Bohnsack as the two ran side-by-side for several laps. Bohnsack appeared to lose the handle a bit with a couple laps remaining giving Herb the clear lead and his first win.

Bohnsack maintained second while Nathan Ballard posted another strong finish in third. Deb Mefford finished fourth and Shaun Myers was fifth.

Tim Plummer picked up his third win of the season in Coors Light Modifieds. Plummer took the lead from point leader Larry Clausen on lap six and pulled away from the pack in the 25-lap feature. Ryan Luedtke finished third while last week’s winner Tony Olson was fourth. Veteran Arlo Becker was fifth. Plummer’s win cut Clausen’s point lead down to a scant two points.

Logan Hale used an outside first row start to take an early lead in the 40-lap Miller Lite Late Model feature but saw a big lead erased when the caution flag flew on lap twenty-four. Hale found himself with a mirror full of Johnny Spaw on the restart with Spaw trying both high and low moves to wrestle the lead away. While that was happening Tim Plummer  apparently decided it was “go time”, slipped into second with four laps remaining, and into the lead with three laps to go.

Spaw finished second with Hale, Thor Anderson, and point leader Joey Gase rounding out the top five.

The win was the second of the night for Plummer and his first win of the season in Late Models.

Racing action continues next Saturday, August 28 and then into September with the “Hawkeye Downs September Showdown” featuring racing on September 4 and September 18th with Barron Motor Supply Season Championships slated for September 25th.



HEAT 1- 1. Jim Ross, Robins, IA; 2. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 6. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 2- 1. Justin Jennings, LaGrange, MO; 2.Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 3.Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 4.Curt Tillman, Rockford, IA; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA


FEATURE (40 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Spaw 3.Hale 4.Anderson 5.Gase 6.Ross 7.Jennings 8.Dvorak 9.Coghlan 10.Tillman 11.Siems 12.Boelts 13. Osborn



HEAT-1. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 3.Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 4.Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 5.Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Larry Calusen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA


FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Clausen 3.Luedtke 4.Olson 5.Becker 6. Bender 7. Lindell



HEAT- 1. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 2. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 5. Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 7. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA


FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2.Beaty 3.Ahrendsen 4.Houdek 5.Hentrich 6.Ballstaedt 7. Siems



HEAT 1- 1.  Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 2. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 3.Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 5. Matt Petrzelka 6. Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 2- 1. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 2. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 5. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Shane Koopman, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Herb 2. Bohnsack 3.Ballard 4.Mefford 5.Myers 6.Siems 7.Robbins 8.K. Floyd 9.Franks 10.Petrzelka 11.Koopman 12. J. Floyd



HEAT- 1. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA; 3.Scott kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 5.Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 7. Nick Dains, Marion, IA; DNS-Creston Williams, Atkins


FEATURE (20 laps) 1. S. Kositzky 2.Carson 3.J. Williams 4.K. Kositzky 5.Coghlan 6.T. Dains 7. N. Dains DNS-C. Williams



A HEAT 1- 1. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 3. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA


A HEAT 2- 1. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 3. Nathan Chandler,Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA


B HEAT- 1. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 3.Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4.Zach Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. JC Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Charles Evens,  8.Jeff Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE(25 laps) 1.Jim Hanson 2.Brian Franks 3.Brad Chandler 4.Nathan Chandler 5.Dallas Chandler 6.Derek Parrott 7.Dan Burhite 8. Chuck Hanson 9. Shane Hanson 10. Zach Burhite 11. Bryce Bailey 12. Brogan Fiala 13.Merv Chandler 14.Jose DeJesus 15.Jasen Freeman 16.JC Floyd 17.Christian Grady 18.Jeff Dvorak 19.Charles Evens 20.Brad Burhite 21. Dakota Dains