(Cedar Rapids, IA 8.19.05)—Most of the divisions at Hawkeye Downs Speedway beat the weather on Friday night but during a lap 5 caution in the Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modified feature strong winds followed by heavy rain scratched the rest of the nights racing. The mods and the Budweiser Sportsmen will run double features next Friday during Rainbow Paint and Sandblasting Season Championships.



The sportsman division had their largest turnout of the season with 16 entries signed in for the night. The division is part of the Papa Johns Cup/I-Wireless Championship at Hawkeye Downs.



On the opposite side of the coin were the Performance Concepts Late Models. Due to some drivers running the ASA Late Model Series event at Sandusky (OH) Speedway, business commitments and broken/damaged cars there were only six cars on hand for Friday night. Officials met with the drivers and they decided to run a 40-lap “Monza-style” event. The cars would run four-ten lap segments with points awarded for each segment. One point for first, two points for second, etc. The driver with the fewest points at the end of the four segments would be the winner and take home $1000.  Cars were inverted after each segment.



Point leader Brad Osborn won each of the first three segments with his father, Denny Osborn, taking the fourth. That gave Brad the fewest points and the overall win. Scott Wennermark finished second and took home $600 with Denny Osborn, Kyle Hinrichs, Brian Allen, and Jeff King finishing the event in that order.



One of the hottest drivers at Hawkeye Downs right now is Logan Hale of Cedar Rapids. He has won four of the last six races in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car division. Hale started the 20-lap feature outside the second row, bolted into the lead and held off Doug Simon for the victory. Hale was at the front of a three-car breakaway at the halfway mark of the race as Simon and Bob Ahrendsen gave chase.



Hale, a junior at Jefferson High School, celebrated the start of the school year with the win, finishing ahead of Simon, Ahrendsen, Chad Siems, and  point leader Brad Dvorak.



The tightest point race of the season going into the final two races is the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. Brandon Herb led the points heading into Friday night and he was locked in a tight battle with Tim Dains and Ron Dighton for the title.



Dighton battled hard to navigate through lapped traffic to claim the win Friday night just edging out Brandon Herb, who was also having problems with slower cars.  Dighton started back in the fourth row of the 15-lap feature and took the top spot at the halfway mark of the race. Finishing behind Dighton were Herb, Dains, Rodney Grother, and Terry Shaffar.



Unofficially, Herb holds a very slim 3 point lead over Dighton with Dains still in the hunt also.



The Hornets, one of the divisions of the “Full Throttle Energy Drink Stars of Tomorrow,” were also in action Friday night. Nathan Ballard of Marengo led the pack to the Lint Millwright Finish Line in the 12-lap feature for that division. Ballard started the event tailing the field and worked quickly through the pack to take command of the race with seven laps remaining. A driver making his first appearance, Travis McCombs of Center Point, finished in second while point leader Connie Binder finished in third. Samantha Blumer and Dan Vincent completed the top five in the running order.




Performance Concepts Late Models

Feature ( 40 laps run in 4 -10 lap segments)

  1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 3. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 4. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 5. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids; 6. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars

Feature (20 laps)

  1. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 2. Doug Simon, Marion; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Siems, Marion; 5. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. Brian Dvorak, Mt. Vernon; 8. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 9. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 10. Chris Wessmer, Quasqueton; 11. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 12. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature (15 laps)

  1. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 2. Brandon Herb, Marion; 3. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 5. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 8. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 9. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 10. Tim Hill, Cedar Rapids; 11. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 12. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids


Marines. Com Hornets

Feature (12 laps)

  1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Travis McCombs, Center Point; 3. Connie Binder, Clutier; 4. Samantha Blumer, Manchester; 5. Dan Vincent, Solon; 6. Clint Shepard, Hiawatha; 7. Johnny Williams, Atkins; 8. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 9. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 10. Chris Ainsworth, Cedar Rapids; 11. Brian Bries, Norway; 12. Brian Beaty, Palo


Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modifieds

Feature (30 laps)

Halted due to rain after 5 laps

Double Features on August 26


Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen

Feature (30 laps)

Rained out

Double Features on August 26