By Brad Grupe



(CEDAR RAPIDS,IA  081801)—HandiMart, KCRG and Hawkeye Downs teamed up to host a night of racing on August 18 which featured the Sportsman and National Divisions of UMARA Midgets, Barron Motor Supply Thunder Stocks, Coca-Cola Women On Wheels, FIRA Formula Indys, NAMRA Formula Indys and Nostalgia Stocks.


            Several thousand dollars were raised for the East Central Iowa Association for Retarded Citizens using ticket proceeds along with donations from other sponsors such as Barron Motor Supply and the Cedar Rapids Corvette Club, as well as donations from the racers participating in the event.


Despite several rain showers and some great work by the track crews the program started nearly on time with time trials the only victim of the rain.


            Bob Shreffler of  Joliet, IL won the 25-lap UMARA Sportsman Division Midget race after taking the lead at the halfway point. He was chased to the stripe by Doug Orseske, Loran Chritchett, Joe Knipple and Reed Ceponis. The Sportsman division runs a unique format that awards points based on their finish but the drivers all run for the same amount of money. The Sportsman division raced on the quarter-mile


            The 25-lap feature for the National division of the UMARA Midgets, which was a half-mile event, went to Steve Thinnes of Wheaton, IL. David Gough had the race well in hand when something broke with 7 laps remaining and Thinnes took over the point. John Meyers of Oakbrook, IL took second. Brandon Hartsell, David Ward, and David Thompson were the rest of the top five.


            Jeff Selfridge took home top honors in the Barron Motor Supply Thunderstock feature finishing well ahead of Mike Walsh in a feature originally slated for 50 laps. Officials shortened the race due to an excessive number of cautions with the checkers waving at the conclusion of lap 28.  Chip Kohl finished in third while Ron Dighton and Mike DeSotel finished out the top of the order.


            Sandra Sheldon posted a nice win in the Coca-Cola Women On Wheels Feature finishing ahead of Gwen Christensen. Sheldon led the event from start to finish and saw a challenge from Dana Scott evaporate when Scott lost control and exited the track.  Deb Mefford, Jodi Cranston and Jenn Harrington rounded out the top five.


            The FIRA/NAMRA Formula Indy Cars ran a combined event as they did a couple of weeks ago with three different winners in that feature. Scott Miller of Kendallville, IN won the NAMRA portion of the feature after thoroughly dominating the field.  The FIRA Pro division was won by Tom Cormack of Chicago, IL and the FIRA Pro-Am win went to  Chris Julian of St Charles, IL.


            Also on the card were a touring group of “Nostalgia Stocks” which are stock cars of the 1940’s and 50’s. Ironically that event was won by a newer generation Hawkeye Downs driver, Craig Stepanek.



Results for August 18, 2001

UMARA Midgets (Sportsman Division)

Heat #1- Loran Chritchett

Heat #2- Sue Spencer


1.       Bob Shreffler, Joliet, IL

2.       Doug Orseskem Frankfort, IL

3.       Loran Chritchett,  Alsip, IL

4.       Joe Knipple, Mokena, IL

5.       Reed Caponis

6.       Sue Spencer, Joliet, IL

7.       Dave Thompson, Minooka, IL

8.       Sean Murphy, Joliet, IL

9.       David Polson, Joliet, IL

10.    Mike Smith, Joliet, IL

11.    Basil Hicks, Joliet, IL

12.    Adam Phillips, Lockport, IL


UMARA Midgets( National Division)

Heat #1- David Thompson

Heat #2- David Gough


1.       Steve Thinnes, Wheaton, IL

2.       John Meyers, Oakbrook, IL

3.       Brandon Hartsell, Joliet, IL

4.       David Ward

5.       David Thompson, Minooka, IL

6.       Rich Corson, Markham, IL

7.       Mike Heiss,

8.       David Byrne,

9.       Nick Fox, Plainfield, IL

10.    David Gough, Machesney Park, IL

11.    Patrick Wilda, Minooka, IL

12.    Klaus Wever, Minooka, IL

13.    Chris Hettinger



Qualifying Race - Marty Sea

B Feature- Larry Weston


1.       Jeff Selfridge, Marion

2.        Mike Walsh, Cedar Rapids

3.       Chip Kohl, Marion

4.       Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids

5.       Mike Desotel, Cedar Rapids

6.       Marty Sea, Cedar Rapids

7.       Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids

8.       Bobby Grandstaff, Carlisle

9.       Chad Vozenilek, Marion

10.    Cory Houdek, Anamosa

11.    Dave Gleason, Cedar Rapids

12.    Dean Michel, Cedar Rapids

13.    John McDaniel, Cedar Rapids

14.    Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

15.    James Sheldon, Cedar Rapids

16.    Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids

17.    Travis Doudney, Cedar Rapids

18.    Frank Auen, Garrison

19.    Jeremy Meyer, Cedar Rapids

20.    Shawn Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

21.    Lisa Dumond, Cedar Rapids

22.    Greg Long

23.    Ron Jarrett, Atkins




1.       Sandra Sheldon, Cedar Rapids

2.       Gwen Christensen, Stanwood

3.       Deb Mefford, Marion

4.       Jodi Cranston, Cedar Rapids

5.       Jenn Harrington, Cedar Rapids

6.       Linn Hite, Urbana

7.       Candace Jarrett, Atkins

8.       Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

9.       Amber Wisted, Cedar Rapids

10.    Dana Scott, Cedar Rapids

11.    Amanda Oakley, Cedar Rapids

12.    Danielle Auen, Garrison