(Cedar Rapids, IA  08/17/07)—Victory Lane was a busy place at ASA- Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night with eight divisions in action in the Papa Johns Cup/I Wireless Championship. Just one week remains in the season.


                Ron Fare took the win in a make-up feature for the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. Fare started on the point and led the entire race but not without some heavy pressure from Gary Pfantz who settled for second. Time Dains finished third.


                The second Hobby Stock Feature saw Gary Pfantz earn his first trip of the season to Coca-Cola Victory Lane. Pfantz found himself in the lead after Fare and another car tangled. The incident caused a red-flag while Fare was checked out as a precaution by the Southeast Iowa Ambulance Crew.


                When racing resumed Pfantz kept himself out of reach of Ron Dighton and Deb Mefford to collect the checkers. Mefford crossed the stripe in second with point leader Tim Dains finishing third.


                Brad Dvorak, who normally competes in the Late Model division,  brought his familiar #5 Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars out of mothballs, put in on the high side of the track and proceeded to win the 20 lap feature for that division. Dvorak snared the lead from Greg Hentrich on lap 12 and cruised to the win. Hentrich maintained second while Doug Otto scored third.


                Sunline Hornets drivers Brian Beaty and teammate Shaun Myers were deadlocked in the points coming into Friday night but that changed after Beaty scored the win in that division. It wasn’t quite as easy as it might sound though as the 17 car field generated multiple cautions. Beaty bolted into the lead after cautions on each of the first two laps and they thwarted the challenges of Nathan Chandler to secure the win. Chandler finished second while Myers was third putting him two points behind Beaty in the points.


                Tony Olson returned to Victory Lane virtually assuring himself of the season title for the IMCA Sportmods. Ryan Luedtke finished second with Arnie Reif a close third.


                Curt Van Der Wal of Oskaloosa piloted the #25 Gene Peterson machine to a win in the 25-lap Budweiser Sportsmen feature after ducking under point leader Dave McCalla on a late race restart caused by contact between the 8w of Michael Weber and the X(10) car of Kevin Lee. Logan Hale had an impressive lead in the early going but spun in turn two on lap seven. Martin Ballard posted a strong second place finish while Mel Schappert was third.


                Scott Strauss scored his second straight win in the Miller Time Modifieds Friday night. Strauss took the point on lap two and ultimately left the field behind as he posted a 1.4 second finish over Arlo Becker. Larry Clausen finished third.  Point leader Tim Plummer finished fourth and has virtually assured himself of his fourth points title in the division.


                Two divisions of Go-Karts were also in action on Friday night with Tanner Allen again the best runner in the Junior Division.  In fact, Allen was actually the overall “winner” as he even outran the highest finishing kart in the Senior Division which was piloted by Bill Reiken.


                The Nostalgia Stocks were also on hand with Hawkeye Downs Flagman John Huff piloting the #8 1970 Chevy Nova Darrell Dake Replica to the win. Brad Huff was second in a 1964 Chevelle with Bill Mier third in a 56 Chevy.


                The Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame also inducted ten new members in ceremonies held during the race program. The inductees or their representatives toured the track in a fleet of convertibles provided by the CR Corvette Club before being introduced to the crowd.  Newly inducted to the Wall of Fame were William Beckman, Engle DeKock, Dale Fishlein, Mike Frieden, Mel Kenyon, Glen Martin, Emil Merta, John Moss, Michael J. Neilly, and Dale Snyder.




August 17,2007

Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks( Make-up feature from 8/8) (20 laps)

1. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 3. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Roland Bohnsack, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Dennis Klinsky, Bill McVey, Kris Jones, Matt Burmeister, Dave Wheeler


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks (20 laps)

1. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 2. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 4. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 8. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA DNS- Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars ( 20 laps)

1. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 2. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 3. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 7. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 8. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 9. Mike Rubocki, Cedar Rapids, IA  DNS- Dave Ballsteadt


Sunline Hornets ( 15 laps)

1. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 2. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 5. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 7. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 9. Gary Peiffer, Troy Mills, IA; 10. Cory Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa; 11. Greg Wilhelmi, Atkins; 12. Connie Binder, Clutier; 13. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 14. Jose Dejesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 16. Johns Schroer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 17. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA


IMCA Sportmods (15 laps)

1. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 4. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids, IA


Go Karts ( Junior & Senior divisions)

1. Tanner Allen, (JR); 2. Bill Rieken (SR); 3. Corey Kemp(SR); 4. Dan Krall (SR); 5. Brett Root (SR); 6. Garrett Houdek(JR); 7. Josh Cassill(JR); 8. Colby Fischlein(JR); 9. Tanner Molen(JR); 10. Jeremy Cassill(JR)


Budweiser Sportsmen (25 laps)

  1. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, 2. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 3. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Mark Hauder, Dubuque, IA; 9. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 10. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA


Miller Time Modifieds (25 laps)

1. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Arlo Becker, Atkins, IA; 3. Larry Clausen, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 8. Chad Willet, Alburnett, IA; 9. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 10. Steve Stinger, Palo, IA; 11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA