By Brad Grupe


(CEDAR RAPIDS, IA  081701)—Brian Franks won the 50-lap ‘Wholly Smokes 50” for Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night. Other winners were Larry Clausen in the Miller Time Modifieds, Scot Johnson in Budweiser Sportsmen and Greg Kastli and Marty Diercks each picked up “Powerade 25” wins in the Aggregates Late Models. The Coca-Cola 2-Driver Cruisers were also on the card Friday night with the tandem of Steve Luedtke and Mike Carver surviving for the win.


            Franks, who also won the “Wholly Smokes 50” last season, worked his way through the pack to the front and then held off separate challenges from the likes of Aric Becker, Doug Simon, Brian Helle and points leader Brad Dvorak before securing the win. Becker finished second, Simon third, Helle fourth and Dvorak fifth.


            Larry Clausen posted a superb performance in the Miller Time Modifieds using a pass on the backstretch to move from fourth to first to take the lead early in the race. Clausen then held off point leader Mike Schulte to secure the win. Finishing behind Schulte were Scott Wennermark, Brian Allen and Trent Ross.


            Scot Johnson took a flag-to-flag trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature but not without some late pressure from rookie Ross Kurth. Kurth posted his strongest performance of the season in finishing second. Paul Walder finished a fine run in third followed by Tom Burke and Dave Johnson. Current point leader Curtis Van Der Wal finished in sixth.


            Greg Kastli took the win in the first of two “Powerade 25” races in the Late Models after taking the lead on the restart following an early caution that saw two cars battling for the lead take each other out. Kastli maintained a safe lead throughout the balance of the race and was followed to the checkered flag by Les Cady, Jeff King, Jim Ross and TJ Schaefer. The second place finish by Cady is his strongest finish at Hawkeye Downs since joining the Late Models.


            Marty Diercks won his second feature in as many weeks collecting top honors in the second Late Model feature. Diercks slipped underneath Doug Hite with ten laps to go to pick up his third trip to the podium this season. Hite finished in second with point leader Curt Martin, still driving with a broken hand, finishing in third. Jim Ross equaled his finish from the earlier feature winding up fourth and Kastli was fifth.


            Steve Luedtke and Mike Carver collected the checkers in the 2-Driver Cruiser feature, which turned into more of a battle for survival as cars were spinning and crashing throughout the twenty-lap feature. Shellie and Jerry O’Brien finished in the second slot with Eric and Ed Gintert holding on for third.



Results for August 17, 2001



Qualifier #1- Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids

Qualifier #2- Ron Fisher, Shellsburg

B Feature- Clint Houdek, Anamosa

FEATURE (50 laps)

  1. Brian Franks, Central City
  2. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids
  3. Doug Simon, Cedar Rapids
  4. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids
  5. Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon
  6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  7. Kurt Bohnsack, Coralville
  8. Tink Willey, Cedar Rapids
  9. Jeff Franks, Rowley
  10. Randy Filling, Toddville
  11. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids
  12. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn
  13. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids
  14. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids
  15. Jerry Meyerhoff, Cedar Rapids
  16. Ron Fisher, Shellsburg
  17. John Baker, Cedar Rapids
  18. Roger Merta, Cedar Rapids
  19. Arnie Reif, Cedar Rapids
  20. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids
  21. John Ness, Cedar Rapids
  22. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier
  23. Scott Grady, Walker
  24. Tim Dains, Marion



Heat #1- Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

Heat #2- Brian Allen, Hiawatha


  1. Larry Clausen, Atkins
  2. Mike Schulte, Norway
  3. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids
  4. Brian Allen, Hiawatha
  5. Trent Ross, Cedar Rapids
  6. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids
  7. Beau Duffield, Cedar Rapids
  8. James Lamphier, Urbana
  9. Arlo Becker, Atkins
  10. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids
  11. John Troxel, Cedar Rapids
  12. David Novotny, Solon
  13. Keith Gogel, Solon
  14. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids



Heat #1- Scot Johnson, Ankeny

Heat #2- Dave Johnson, Ankeny

Heat #3- Martin Ballard, Marengo


  1. Scot Johnson, Ankeny
  2. Ross Kurth, Waukon
  3. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids
  4. Tom Burke, Nevada
  5. Dave Johnson, Ankeny
  6. Curtis Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa
  7. John Henecke, Hiawatha
  8. Steve Kibort, Milan, IL
  9. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids
  10. Brian Franks, Central City
  11. Martin Ballard, Marengo
  12. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids
  13. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  14. Lyle Williams, Center Point
  15. Dan Zamastil, Fairfax
  16. Bryan Jones, Swisher
  17. Ron Fisher, Shellsburg
  18. Andy Duggan, Marion
  19. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids
  20. Bruce Scheff, Swisher
  21. Jason Vincent, Nevada



FEATURE #1 (25 laps)

  1. Greg Kastli, Waterloo
  2. Les Cady, Deer Grove, IL
  3. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids
  4. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids
  5. TJ Schaefer, Solon
  6. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf
  7. Dave Naylor, Scotch Grove
  8. Curt Martin, Independence
  9. Randy Coghlan, Toddville
  10. Larry Kelley, Cedar Rapids
  11. Lorin Kurth, Waukon
  12. Doug Hite, Urbana
  13. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids
  14. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins
  15. Steve Bowman, Cedar Rapids
  16. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI
  17. Terry Rachels, Knoxville
  18. John Robinson, Des Moines
  19. Scot Johnson, Ankeny


FEATURE #2 (25 laps)

  1. Marty Diercks
  2. Doug Hite
  3. Curt Martin
  4. Jim Ross
  5. Greg Kastli
  6. Mike Ehde
  7. Randy Coghlan
  8. Dave Naylor
  9. Les Cady
  10. Kevin Korsmo
  11. Scot Johnson
  12. John Robinson
  13. Terry Rachels
  14. Larry Kelley
  15. TJ Schaefer
  16. Jeff King
  17. Wade Prasil
  18. Lorin Kurth




  1. Steve Luedtke/Mike Carver
  2. Shellie/Jerry O’Brien
  3. Eric/Ed Gintert
  4. Ken Perry/Darrin O’Brien
  5. Kevin Lamar/Bob Jones
  6. Brian Dvorak/Matt Poduska
  7. Tim Kemmerer/Galen Swelha
  8. Jeff Hempstead/Blaine McGlaughlin
  9. Darryl/Scott Jones
  10. Matt Jones/john Morgan