(Cedar Rapids, IA  8/15/03)—Matt Lundberg of Des Moines earned his first feature win in the Performance Concepts Late Models on Friday night, finishing nearly 6 tenths of a second ahead of Brad Osborn of Janesville.


            Lundberg started on the point and fought off a challenge from Osborn before securing the win on “100.7 The Fox/ Heartland Express/Orleans Hotel Hawaiian Shirt Night” Mike Ehde of Prairie Du Chien, WI finished in third.


            John Henecke out battled  point leader and defending champion Curt Van Der Wal to take the top spot in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen feature. Henecke started in fifth and then maneuvered into the lead after an early caution. Van Der Wal, who started a couple spots behind Henecke raced him clean the whole way settling for second.  Johnny Mudd finished third after starting near the rear of the field.


The Sportsmen point race remains close with a mere 18 points separating the top 5 drivers.


            In other “ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship” racing, Larry Clausen earned his third victory of the season in the Miller Time Modifieds. Clausen has been atop the points chart all season by virtue of a string of great finishes including three trips to Coca-Cola Victory Lane.


            A caution bunched the field with less than five laps to go but Clausen was able to pull away again on the restart, finishing 1.3 seconds ahead of  rookie Landon Cassill according to Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring. Brian Allen was third after surrendering an early lead to Clausen.


Dave McCalla continued his mastery of the high groove on the Hawkeye Downs quarter-mile as he won the Barron Motor Supply Super Stock feature. McCalla finished well ahead of Jayson Scott and Don Johnson to secure his second win in the last three weeks.


The Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends returned Friday night with Landon Cassill picking up yet another win. The win was the fifth of the season for Cassill. Finishing second was Tom Frady while Brett Thomas finished in third.



        RESULTS FOR AUGUST 15,2003

       100.7 The Fox/Heartland Express/Orleans Hotel Hawaiian Shirt Night


Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

2. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

3. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

5. Randy Filling, Toddville

6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

7. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

9. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

10. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

11. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

12. Scott Grady, Walker

13. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

14. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

15. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

16. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

17. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

18. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

19. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

20. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

DNS- Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids


Miller Time Modifieds

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

2. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

3. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

4. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

5. Jim Williams, Atkins

6. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

7. Tim Plummer, Norway

8. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon

9. Chad Simpson

10. Shawn Stinger, Palo

11. Max Corporon, Marion

12. John Baker, Cedar Rapids

13. Kerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

14. Lyle Hinrichs, Swisher

15. Steve Lindell, Marion

16. Ron Hoffman, Atkins


Performance Concepts Late Models

FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Matt Lundberg, Des Moines

2. Brad Osborn, Janesville

3. Mike Ehde, Prairie Du Chien, WI

4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

5. Scott delsing, Cedar Rapids

6. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

7. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

8. Denny Osborn, Janesville

9. Brian Gibson, Walford

10. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf

11. Lorin Kurth, Waukon

12. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

13. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids


Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. John Henecke, Hiawatha

2. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

3. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

4. Andy Duggan, Marion

5. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

6. Martin Ballard, Marengo

7. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

8. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

9. Brian Franks, Central City

10. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

11. Lyle Williams, Center Point

12. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

13. Tom Burke, Nevada

14. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids


Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends

FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

2. Tom Frady, Cedar Rapids

3. Brett Thomas, Cedar Rapids

4. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids

5. Keith Meyer, Cedar Rapids

6. Mark Hauder, Dubuque