(Cedar Rapids, IA  08/09/06)—Terry Neal of Ely took top honors in Wednesday night’s “Dirt at the Downs” which featured the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series, although the last few laps of the race did yield some controversy.


                Twenty-Four IMCA Late Models started the 35-lap feature event with co-point leader Rob Toland alongside Kelly Tapper in the front row. Toland built a quick early lead but it evaporated as the laps ticked off and Lonnie Bailey, Ray Guss Jr., Johnny Spaw, and Terry Neal closed in.


                Spaw planted himself on Toland’s rear bumper and was setting up for a pass on lap 22 when caution halted the action. When racing resumed Spaw continued to work on Toland with Lonnie Bailey, Terry Neal, and Ray Guss, Jr. watching the leaders.


                With four laps to go things got interesting as Spaw got under Toland and sent him spinning to the infield. Both drivers were sent to the rear with Toland electing to not finish the race after pleading his case to regain his spot with IMCA officials.


                The last four laps were uneventful as Terry Neal motored to the win followed by Lonnie Bailey, Boone McLaughlin, Ray Guss, Jr. and Greg Kastli.


                The B-Mods/Sportmod class raced at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Wednesday and by all accounts was a success according to both drivers and Hawkeye Downs officials. Scott Walker of Wilton won the 20-lap feature which was slowed by four caution flags. Walker started outside row two and used all of the race track to work to the front. Tony Olson of Cedar Rapids finished a close second. Jim Buhlman, Kyle Olson, and Nick Nevins completed the top of the order.


                Three of the Hawkeye Downs regular divisions raced Wednesday night as well.


                In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Brad Dvorak came from the back of the field to win his fourth race of the season. The win added a couple more points to his lead over Bob Ahrendsen in the championship.  Randy Filling finished second, Ahrendsen third, Chad Siems fourth, and Logan Hale was fifth.  Dvorak now holds a three point edge over Ahrendsen.


                Gary Pfantz of State Center got his first win of the season in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks but it wasn’t easy. Pfantz started outside row two and took the lead in short order but as the laps ticked off point leader Rodney Grother moved into the picture and Pfantz had to work hard hold off Grother in the last seven laps or so of the feature. Deb Mefford posted her best finish of the season in third. Dennis Klinsky finished fourth and Roland Bohnsach was fifth.


                Derrick Beadle and point leader Nathan Ballard waged a sensational battle for the lead for most of the Sunline Hornets feature with Beadle finally wrestling control of the race with just a couple circuits around the quarter-mile remaining. Jeff Selfridge, the driver “du jour” of the Bighouse Motorsports entry finished in third.  Ballard wound up fourth and Gary Moorman was fifth.





1. Terry Neal, Ely, IA;  2. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy, IL;  3. Boone McGlaughlin, Mediapolis, IA;  4. Ray Guss, Jr., Milan, IL;  5. Greg Kastli, Waterloo. IA;  6. Kelly Tapper, Boone, IA;  7. Dean Wagner II, Waterloo, IA;  8. Matt Ryan, Davenport, IA;  9. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, IA;  10. Mike Smith, Jewell, IA; 11. Mike Murphy, Jr., Colona, IL;  12. Darrell DeFrance, Marshalltown, IA;  13. Bobby Hanson, Center Point, IA;  14. Sam Halstead, New London, IA;  15. Jerry Dedrick, Vinton, IA;  16. Robby Warner, Quincy, IL;  17. Craig Roberts, Des Moines, IA;  18. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, IA;  19. Ron Gustaf, Moline, IL;  20. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA;  21. Eric Gustaf, Moline, IL;  22. Joe Zrostlik, Eldridge, IA;  23. Ben Nading, Ankeny, IA;  24. Rob Toland, Bettendorf, IA


B-Mods/SportMods ( 20 laps)

1. Scott Walker  2. Tony Olson  3. Jim Bulman 4. Kyle Olson 5. Nick Nevins 6. Mike Krall 7. Jamie Huff;  8. Dan Higdon  9. Patrick Flannagan  10. Brian Kauffman  11. Keith Williamson  12. Bobby Karl  13. Noah Capper  14. Craig Cordes  DNS- Tim Swope


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car (25 laps)

1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA;  2. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA;  3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA;  4. Chad Siems, Marion, IA;  5. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA;  6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA;  7. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA;  8. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids, IA;  9. Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids, IA;  10. Kevin Godwin, Earlham, IA;  11. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA;  12. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA;  13. Mike Mauer, Cedar Falls, IA


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks (20 laps)

1. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA;  2. Rodney Grother,  Cedar Rapids, IA;  3. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA;  4. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA;  5. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA;  6. Tim Dains, Marion, IA;  7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA;  8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA;  9. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA;  10. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA;  11. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA;  DQ-Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA


Sunline Hornets ( 15 laps)

1. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha, IA;  2. Brian Beaty, Waterloo, IA;  3. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA;  4. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA;  5. Gary Moorman, Conrad, IA;  6. Dan Vincent, Solon, IA;  7. Connie Binder, Clutier, IA;  8. Brian Bries, Norway, IA;  9. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA;