(Brief Summary)


(Cedar Rapids, IA 08/09/2005)óMike Smith of Jewell, IA scored a very convincing win in the 35 lap feature event for the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Models at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Tuesday night. Smith outran his closest competitor, Rob Toland of Hillsdale, IL by nearly 8 seconds.


††††††††††† While Smith ran away from the24 car field there was great action through the pack as the the drivers bumped and banged as they maneuvered for position.


††††††††††† IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series point leader Terry Neal of Ely finished third. Kevin Blum of Colona, IL was fourth and Greg Kastli, who has previous asphalt experience at Hawkeye Downs crossed the stripe in fifth.


††††††††††† The win was the first of the season for Smith and his third win on the asphalt at Hawkeye Downs.



††††††††††† Ron Dighton of Cedar Rapids took top honors and a $1000 paycheck home in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature leading nearly start to finish over the twenty car field, which included drivers from the Hawkeye Downs Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock division as well as some drivers which regularly race at dirt tracks. Finishing behind Dighton were Tim Dains of Cedar Rapids, And Deb Mefford, also of CR. Mefford posted one of her highest finishes of the year.


††††††††††† In the IMCA Stock Car division Bob Ahrendsen of Cedar Rapids posted a wire-to-wire win whileholding off Brad Dvorak of CR, who finished in second. Chad Siems of Marion was third. Ahrendsen also collected a $1000 top prize for wining the race.


††††††††††† As with the Hobby Stocks the 18 car field was made up from drivers of the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars which were joined by drivers visiting from other tracks.




Heat #1- Terry Neal, Ely

Heat #2- Mike Smith, Jewel

Heat #3- Lorin Johnson, Miller, SD

Feature (35 laps)

  1. Mike Smith, Jewell; 2. Rob Toland, Hillsdale, IL; 3. Terry Neal, Ely; 4. Kevin Blum, Colona, IL; 5. Greg Kastli, Waterloo; 6. Lorin Johnson, Miller, SD; 7. Dean Wagner, Waterloo; 8. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy, IL; 9. Darrell DeFrance, Marshalltown; 10. Nick Houseman, Earlham; 11. Dale Stolte, Springville; 12. Justin Reed, Quincy, IL; 13. Chris Richard, Mt. Pleasant; 14. Craig Roberts, Des Moines; 15. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 16. Todd Foster, Webster City; 17. Paul Watters, Parkersburg; 18. Randy Wheeler, Cedar Falls; 19. Ben Schafer, Raymond; 20. Tom Struve, Palo; 21. Jerry Dedrick, Vinton; 22. Eric Gustaf, Moline, IL; 23. Lavern Carey, Ionia; 24. Todd Cooney, Des Moines



Feature (15 laps)

  1. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 2. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids;3.Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 4. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 5. Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. Dustin Smith, Lake City, IA; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 9. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 10. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 11. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 12. Tim Hill, Cedar Rapids; 13. Shawn Blauer, Cedar Rapids; 14. Matt Burmeister, Waterfield; 15. Matt Lacousiere, Cedar Rapids; 16. Jeremy Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 17. Scott Durlin, State Center; 18. Bobby Kisel, Vinton; 19. Jason Hetzler, MuscatineDNS- Shane Ebaugh, Cedar Falls



Feature (25 laps)

1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 3. Chad Siems, Marion; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 6. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 7. Chris Wessner, Quasqueton; 8. Kevin Kirkpatrick, Waterloo; 9. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 10. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 11. Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids; 12. Brian Dvorak, Mt. Vernon; 13. Randy Filling, Toddville; 14. Rob Schneider, Cedar Rapids; 15. Mark Steinke, Gibson; 16. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 17. Doug Simon, MarionDNS- Scott Grady, Cedar RapidsDNS- Scooter Dulin, Cedar Rapids