(Cedar Rapids, IA 080809)—On August 8 , Hawkeye Downs Speedway hosted a rare Saturday afternoon race featuring the rescheduled appearance of the Mid-American Stock Car Series from earlier this year. Also on hand were the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks running races in the Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Series. The Sunline Hornets also ran a 50 lap non-points event with the Two-Person Cruisers filling out the card.

The Iowa Enduro Series also held an event Saturday afternoon following the Mid-American Stock Car Series program at Hawkeye Downs.

Bob Ahrendsen picked up his second win in two days in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. The quarter-mile veteran started inside row two, took the lead on lap three, and went on to finish 1.2 seconds ahead of point leader Kurt Bohnsack. Brian Beaty finished third followed by Cory Houdek and Dave Ballstaedt.

Roland Bohnsack took top honors in the IMCA Hobby Stocks crossing stripe ahead of point leader Scott Siems. Deb Mefford finished third with Duayne Herb and Jeremy Robbins close behind.

Nathan Ballard led most of the race and appeared to have things well in hand before tangling with a slower car with just a couple laps remaining. Ballard did rally to finish sixth.

The duo of Doug Steggall/Mitch Comried crossed the stripe first in Two-Person Cruisers with Mike Kimm/Lee Rouse next in line. Mike McDonald/Rob Miller finished third and Quinton Embry/Matt Petrzelka were fourth.



With heat indices topping the 100 degree mark at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the look on Bill Preitzel’s face in victory lane said it all. A fatigued Prietzel, who won for the first time in his stock car at Hawkeye Downs, slowly climbed from his victorious mount and solemnly posed for pictures after winning the Mid-American Stock Car Series’ “Return to Rapids.”

“For me it was tough,” said the three-time MASCS champion. Prietzel then recalled his trip to Cedar Rapids in 2003 when he ran three features between his MASCS car and his Midwest Super Truck. “It was 90 degrees that day, but I still didn’t feel like this.”

The winning move was performed by Prietzel on lap 26. After a lap 22 restart, in which Prietzel utilized the outside line to swipe the second spot from Jeremy Spoonmore, Justin Neisius’ race-long lead was soon in danger.

The leading rookie contender of Mid-American gave a valiant effort to hold off the current point leader, but Prietzel worked the inside line to perfection and did not look back after wrestling the lead away from Neisius exiting turn two.

All the while, Prietzel and the other Mid-American Stock Car Series competitors literally had to sweat out 40 laps of caution-plagued competition.

The first caution took its toll on the afternoon’s fastest qualifier. Louie Goss entered a spin cycle entering turn one to slow the field. As the cars began to speed up for the lap five restart, Brian Back fell off the pace. When he revealed the right side of his car to the crowd, the rear tire was flat. Back pulled into the infield and saved a caution, but ended his day with a 23rd place finish.

Goss later lost control of his ride and slid heavily into the soft wall suffering damage to the right side of his machine. He was awarded the Wehrs Machine Hard Luck Award.

The final of five cautions set up a 13-lap showdown after Hawkeye local Mike Weber tangled with Jake Finney entering turn one. With no space to evade the scrum, three others were involved. Fellow Hawkeye locals Kevin Franks and Travis Thompson along with Nick Crawford sustained enough damage to end their afternoons.

In all, it was a tough day for the Hawkeye regulars. Current point leader Dave McCalla struggled to a 19th place finish while trying to wheel an ill-handling race car. Weber recorded the best finish amongst them by placing 14th.

With the amount of heat and excess time in the race car due to caution laps, MASCS officials paused during the lap 27 cleanup to bring water to the competitors on the track. Although the event was taxing, and the attrition rate high, 12 MASCS competitors finished on the lead lap.

However, due to heat exhaustion, several drivers were forced to an early retirement in the feature event. No serious symptoms were reported, and all drivers were able to leave Hawkeye Downs on their own terms.

As for Prietzel, he heard all he needed to keep inspired in the waning laps. “The lady in my ear told me to keep going,” said Prietzel in reference to his wife Jan who also serves as his spotter and crew chief.

After the green flag was dropped on the final restart, Prietzel dashed out ahead of the field and won by a margin of 0.864 seconds over Jeremy Spoonmore. Justin Neisius held on to a podium finish, Kyle Shear recorded his best finish of the season in fourth and Troy Shear, Jr. recovered from an earlier altercation to round out the top five.



HEAT- 1. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 3. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 8. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ahrendsen 2.Bohnsack 3.Beaty 4.Houdek 5.Ballstaedt 6. Hentrich 7.Hundley 8.Siems



HEAT- 1.Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 2. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 3. Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 6. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Kandi Floyd, Ceadr Rapids, IA; 8. Matt Petrzelka; 9. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Siems 3. Mefford  4.Herb 5. Robbins 6.Ballard 7.Petrzelka 8.K. Floyd 9.J. Floyd 10.Betzer



FEATURE 1. Doug Steggall/Mitch Comried 2.Mike Kimm/Lee Rouse 3.Mike McDonald/Rob Miller 4. Quinton Embry/Matt Petrzelka



HEAT- 1. Derek Parrott, Marion,IA; 2. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 8. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA;11. J.C. Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Zach Burhite

FEATURE- 1. Nathan Chandler 2. Brad Burhite 3. Bailey 4. Brad Chandler 5. Jim Hanson 6. Dan Burhite 7. Parrott 8. J.C. Floyd 9. Dains 10. DeJesus 11. Merv Chandler DNS-Zach Burhite



HEAT 1- 1. Brent Widdis, Manistique, MI; 2. Travis Thomsen, Marion, IA; 3. Nick Crawford, New Prague, MN; 4. Scott Null, Lake Mills, WI; 5. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Adam Bendzick, Apple Valley, MN

HEAT 2- 1.Justin Neisius, Eagan, MN; 2. Mike Beyer, Machesney Park, IL; 3.Mark Pluer, Brookfiled, WI; 4. Kyle Shear, Roscoe, IL; 5. Troy Shear, Jr., Roscoe, IL; 6. Lyle Nowack, Wausau, WI; 7. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 8. Matt Pyburn, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

HEAT 3- 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL; 3. Paul Neisius, Hastings, MN; 4. Louie Goss, Green Bay, WI; 5. Bill Prietzel, Franklin, WI; 6. Jake Finney, Sycamore, IL; 7. Brian Back, Rudolph, WI; 8. Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI

FEATURE (40 laps) 1. Prietzel 2.Spoonmore  3.Justin Neisius 4.Kyle Shear 5. Troy Shear, Jr, 6.Paul Neisius 7. Pluer 8.Beyer 9. Null 10. Bendzick 11. Gutknecht 12. Pyburn  13. Finney  14. Weber 15. Nowak  16. Franks 17. Crawford  18.Thompson  19.McCalla 20. Widdis  21.Wilson  22.Goss  23 Back