By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 8/8/03)—The Budweiser Sportsmen points battle has been close all season and with Cedar Rapids’ Scott Wennermark posting the win on Friday night it looks to be even closer. Unofficially, after Friday’s racing, only ten points separate the first five positions on the points chart.


            The field for Friday nights event, which was part of “KRNA/Budweiser Night”, was set by two-lap times via Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring. Scott Wennermark set fast time and then drew an eight, which put him in the eighth starting slot. The race was run in two 25-lap segments with a five minute “pit stop” in between the segments.


            Brian Franks led the first  10 laps after starting on the point before Wennermark used the outside groove to take command of the race. The top five after the first segment were Wennermark, Johnny Mudd, Franks, Kevin Korsmo, and Andy Duggan.


            Wennermark built a substantial margin in the second half of the race as defending champion Curt Van Der Wal moved through the field into the third slot, behind Mudd. Duggan finished fourth with Martin Ballard crossing the stripe in fifth.


            Arlo Becker, who missed the last couple weeks due to other obligations, made his return worthwhile by scoring the win in the Miller Time Modified 30 lap feature. Becker, started outside the front row and quickly bolted into the lead. Becker outdistanced Rodney Rocarek who continued his string of high finishes. Bob Gase finished third while point leader Larry Clausen was fourth and rookie Landon Cassill was fifth.


Becker’s margin of victory was .758 seconds with an average speed of 88.529mph.


            The Performance Concepts Late Model  30 lap  feature was an action packed affair with plenty of close quarters racing. Brian Gibson and Wade Prasil battled hard over the first portion of the race before Jeff King  got the lead after those two spun on lap 12, bringing out the caution and sending them to the rear.


            Randy Coghlan challenged King for the lead several times before the rest of the pack caught up and two and three wide racing ensued over the last several laps. After the smoke and flying paint chips cleared King had secured the win with Brad Osborn, Billy Bennett, Johnny Spaw, and Mike Ehde rounding out the top of the order.


            In other “ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship” action, Kevin Franks scored a flag-to-flag win in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks 30 lap feature to score his first trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane this season.  Randy Filling finished .291 seconds behind Franks with Dave McCalla finishing third. McCalla has been on a tear since returning to the ¼ mile and has been able to make his car stick in the high groove. Jayson Scott and Bob Ahrendsen finished fourth and fifth.


            Doug Simon of Marion bagged yet another win in the Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars feature. Simon started inside the second row and wasted little time getting to the front. Larry Silbaugh of Jefferson crossed the stripe in second after starting in the third row. Ronnie Godwin, from Earlham, also ran a strong race finishing third. Chad Siems of Mt Auburn, and Bob Ahrendsen  of Cedar Rapids completed the top of the order.






Cedar Rapids, IA

 July 8, 2003




1. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

2. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

3. Curtis Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

4. Andy Duggan, Marion

5. Martin Ballard, Marengo

6. Brian Franks, Central City

7. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

9. John Henecke, Hiawatha

10. Kevin Lee, Homestead

11. Tom Burke, Nevada

12. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

13. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids

14. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

15. Leonard Fevold, Oxford

16. Lyle Williams, Center Point

17. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

18. Dan Zamastil, Fairfax




1. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

2. Brad Osborn, Janesville

3. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

5. Michael Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

6. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf

7. Matt Lundberg, Des Moines

8. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

9. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

10. Brian Gibson, Walford

11. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

12. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

13. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids

14. Denny Osborn, Janseville

15. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

16. Lorin Kurth




1. Arlo Becker, Atkins

2. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon

3. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

5. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

6. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

7. Jim Williams, Atkins

8. Tim Plummer, Norway

9. Max Corporon, Marion

10. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

11. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

12. Shawn Stinger, Palo

13. John Baker, Toddville

14. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

15. Jerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

16. Steve Lindell, Marion

17. Ron Hoffman, Atkins




1. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

2. Randy Filling, Toddville

3. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

4. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

6. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

7. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

8. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

9. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

10. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

12. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

13. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

14. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

15. Scott Grady, Walker

16. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

17. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

18. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

19. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

20. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

21. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

DNS- Jeff Franks, Cedar Rapids




1. Doug Simon, Marion

2. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson

3. Ronnie Godwin, Earlham

4. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

6. Cliff Gray, Waterloo

7. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City