( Cedar Rapids, IA  080709)—After torrential rainfall earlier in the day, the show went on at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night, August 7 as Landstar Transportation presented racing in six divisions along with the annual yearly “Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame” induction ceremony.

In Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Series action, Jim Hanson of Cedar Rapids picked up his first Sunline Hornets win of the season, topping a 25-car field. Hanson started outside row four, took the lead at the halfway mark and motored to the win in the 20-lap feature. Brad Chandler continued his strong season finishing second. Bryce Bailey, Nathan Chandler, and Brian Franks completed the top of the order.

Nathan Ballard also rang up his first win of 2009, taking top honors in the 20-lap Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Ballard took the lead on lap five and built a huge lead over the course of the race, including a restart on lap seven.

Ballard started outside row two and proved untouchable once he got the lead. Shaun Myers crossed the stripe in second and was followed by point leader Scott Siems. Deb Mefford finished fourth and Duayne Herb was fifth.

Bob Ahrendsen picked up his first win of 2009 as well Friday night in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. After Chad Siems led early, Ahrendsen secured the point on lap three, built a sizable lead at the mid-point of the 20 lap feature, and then held off Cory Houdek in the closing laps for the win. Houdek finished .315 seconds behind Ahrendsen and was followed across the line by Dennis Hundley, Dave Ballstaedt, and Brian Beaty. Point leader Kurt Bohnsack finished in seventh.

Aric Becker dominated the IMCA SportMod feature, running away from the pack after taking the lead near the mid-point of the 15-lap feature. Jonny Williams led the first half of the race before Becker took command and quickly pulled away from the field. The win was the second straight for Becker.

Williams maintained second as Blake Carson, Ken Kositzky,  and point leader Scott Kositzky also finished in the top five.

The Nostalgia Stocks were also on hand Friday night with Hawkeye Downs Flagman John Huff piloting his Darrel Dake replica car to the win. Brad Huff was second followed by Dan Beer, Jamie Huff, and Bill Meyers.

The Miller Lite Late Models ran a non-points event on the Hawkeye Downs quarter-mile that landed Brad Dvorak in Coca-Cola Victory Lane. Dvorak, who is a veteran of the quarter-mile in the IMCA Stock Car division, found the high groove to his liking and was never challenged after taking the lead on the first lap. Dvorak finished ahead of Curt VanDerWal, Griffin McGrath, Jim Ross, and Logan Hale.

Ten new names were added to the Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame on Friday night as well.  Gary Crawford, Jim Patton, Erik Spaw, Ray Spaw, Johnny Spaw, Dick Ritchie, Franks Winkley, Jeff Dahn, Cal Swanson, and Chub Liebe all became a permanent part of Hawkeye Downs history, joining the “Wall of Fame.”




HEAT 1(Previous Feature Winners)- 1. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 7. Shane Hansen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Steve Miedke, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 2( Non-feature winners)1. Zach Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. J.R. Dvorak, Robins; 5. Jeremy McKeehan, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. J.C. Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7.Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 3(non-feature winners)1. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Cory VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 4. Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 5. Corey Sheetz; 6. Charles Evens; 7. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Jim Hanson  2. Brad Chandler  3. Bryce Bailey  4. Nathan Chandler  5.Brian Franks  6.Derek Parrott  7. Dan Burhite  8. Dallas Chandler  9. Brad Burhite  10. Chuck Hanson  11. Jasen Freeman 12. Brogan Fiala 13. Merv Chandler  14. Cory Van Der Wal  15. Jose DeJesus  16. J.R. Dvorak  17. Zach Burhite  18. Dakota Dains  19. Jeremy McKeehan  20. Christian Grady  21. Charles Evens  22. J.C. Floyd  23. Corey Sheetz  24. Shane Hansen  25. Steve Miedke



HEAT- 1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 3. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 5. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jeff Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE (20 laps)1. Ballard  2. Myers  3. Siems  4. Mefford  5. Herb  6. Bohnsack  7. Robbins  8. K. Floyd  9. J. Floyd   10. Jones  DNS- Franks



HEAT-  1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA ; 3. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 4. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 5. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 7. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA 8. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA


FEATURE (20laps) 1. Ahrendsen  2. Houdek  3.Hundley  4. Ballstaedt  5. Beaty  6. Hentrich  7. Bohnsack  8. Siems



HEAT-1. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 2. Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA; 3. Scott Kositzky  4. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Blake Carson,Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 8. Breston Williams, Atkins

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Becker 2. J. Williams 3. Carson  4.K. Kositzky  5. S. Kositzky  6. Coghlan  7. Dains  8. C. Williams



FEATURE (12 laps) 1. John Huff  2. Brad Huff  3. Dan Beer  4. Jamie Huff  5. Bill Meyers



FEATURE (20 laps)  (non-points) 1. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 2. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 3. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jim Ross, Robins, IA; 5. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 8. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 9. Lane Brenden  10. Justin Jennings, LaGrange, MO  11. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA;  12. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 13. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA