(Cedar Rapids, IA  08/06/04)—The USAC Ford Focus Midgets made their second appearance of the season at  Hawkeye Downs on Friday night during ‘Zimmerman Ford Wall of Fame night.’ In addition to racing, ten honorees were inducted into the Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame.


            Drivers inducted were: Fred Horn, Cedar Rapids; Bill Zwanziger, Waterloo; Tom Hearst, Tipton; the late Tom Hughes, Monticello; Denny Kladis, New Lennox, IL; Buzz Rose, Glendale, AZ; and Willard Yates, Pierson, FL.


            Also entering the Wall of Fame as supporters or racing were Roger Bear, Clemmons, NC; Paul Draper, Marion; and Dick Benken, Marion.


            Brad Loyet of St Louis took advantage of a second row start and picked up his first career win in the USAC Ford Focus Midget feature on Friday night. The 16 year old took the lead with just two laps scored and then held off a determined Tate Martz the rest of the way. Martz was the winner of the race at Hawkeye Downs in June.


            Finishing behind Loyet and Martz were Rex Norris III, Joshua Clemons, and Travis Young.


            Brad Osborn of Janesville, racked up victory number seven for the season on Friday night in the Performance Concepts Late Models but this one didn’t come easy. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, built a big lead early on but once Osborn cleared his father Denny he slowly began to erode Hinrichs lead. Hinrichs bobbled a bit entering turn four on lap 19 and that was all the opening that Osborn needed to make the winning move.


            The 16 year old Hinrichs finished second and was followed to the line by Denny Osborn, Chris Sevey, and Josh Krug.


            The Marines.com IMCA Hobby Stocks put on another great showing with  point leader Matt Poduska of Cedar Rapids working through traffic and taking the lead of lap 13 of the 15 lap feature. Poduska started in ninth and was in fourth place when the caution flew with just four laps remaining. When the race went back to green Poduska bolted into second before making the winning pass on the white flag lap.


            Taking the checkers behind Poduska were Scott Strauss, who led much of the race, Scott Siems, Terry Shaffar, and Jeff Selfridge.


            The Miller Time Modifieds feature saw Tim Plummer grab the checkers in a green to checkers run that gave him the point lead in the division. Plummer started on the point and held off Brian Allen before collecting his third trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane. Allen made repeated attempts to set up a pass but couldn’t mount a serious challenge. Larry Clausen finished in third with the point leader coming into the night, Bob Gase, finishing fourth. Chad Willet racked up the fifth place spot on the board.


            Scott Wennermark made short work of the field in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen feature after his heat win put him on the pole for the feature. Once the green dropped the race was essentially over and Wennermark left the pack far behind amassing a 9 second margin of victory over the second place car of  Brian Franks. The win was the fifth of the season for Wennermark.


            Finishing in third was John Henecke while Martin Ballard and Bob Ahrendsen completed the top of the order.


            All six divisions in the ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship return to action next Friday night with race time set at 7:30pm.







Heat #1- Jordan Noblitt, Columbus, IN

Heat #2- Travis Young, Frankline, IN

FEATURE(30 laps)

1. Brad Loyet, St Louis, MO; 2. Tate Martz, Rushville, IN; 3. Rex Norris III, Knightsown, IN; 4. Joshua Clemons, Greenfield, IN; 5. Young 6. Ryan Litt, Lyons, Ontario, Canada; 7. Robbie Ray, Davenport, IA; 8. Brice Kenyon, Lebanon, IN; 9. Jimmy Light, West Springfield, PA; 10. Willie magrell, Atwater, OH; 11. Brandon Wagner, Lafayette, IN; 12. Jeff Leeke, Verona, KY; 13. Kevin Studley, Plainfield, IN; 14. Nick Wagner, Lafayette, IN; 15. Noblitt



Heat #1- Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids

Heat #2- Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Matt Poduska, Cedar Rapids; 2. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 3. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 5. Jeff Selfridge, Marion; 6. Ron Dighton, Marion; 7. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 8. Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 9. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 10. Dave Gleason, Atkins; 11. Deb Mefford, Marion; 12. Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids; 13. Brandon Herb, Marion; 14. Brandon Greene, Millersburg; 15. Mike Desotel, Cedar Rapids; 16. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 17. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 18. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; DNS-Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids



Heat #1- Tim Plummer, Norway

Heat #2- Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Plummer; 2. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 5. Chad Willet, Cedar Rapids; 6. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 8. Steve Lindell, Marion; 9. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 10. Jody Lana, Cedar Rapids   

Margin of Victory-.541 sec. 

Time of Race- 8:33



Heat #1- Denny Osborn, Janesville

Heat #2- Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Hinrichs; 3. Denny Osborn; 4. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 5. Josh Krug, Omaha, NE; 6. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 7. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 8. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 9. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids

Margin of Victory- .503 sec.

Time of Race- 6:29



Heat #1- Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

Heat #2- Andy Duggan, Marion

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Wennermark; 2. Brian Franks, Central City; 3. John Henecke, Hiawatha; 4. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 6. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 7. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 9. Rob Keeney, Cedar Rapids; 10. Jeff Brass, Ackley; 11. Duggan

Margin of Victory- 9.19 sec

Time of Race- 8:33