By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  08/03/07))—Dudley Fleck, Tim Plummer, and Michael Weber earned victories on the ASA-Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs half-mile Friday night while Kurt Bohnsack, Rodney Grother, Shaun Myers, Tanner Allen, and Ben Braksiek collected quarter-mile victories.


In Performance Concepts Late Models, Brad Osborn came within an eyelash of breaking the track record during qualifying after turning a lap at 18.364 seconds for a speed of 98.018 mph. Steve Carlson holds the current record with a time of 18.321 seconds.


In the feature for that division, Brad Osborn appeared to have things well in hand until mechanical problems forced him out of the race near the halfway mark of the 30-lap race.  Dudley Fleck took over the point on the restart and held off a couple late challenges from Thor Anderson before collecting the win. Fleck crossed  Coors Light Finish Line about a half-second ahead of  Anderson. Ken Reiser was third, Jim Ross fourth, and Brad Dvorak was fifth.


Tim Plummer continued his march toward another championship in the Miller Time Modifieds as he blasted through the pack after starting eighth on the grid. Plummer took the point just three laps into the 25-lap event and went on to rack up his fourth trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane this season. Chad Willet finished second followed by Arlo Becker, Shawn Stinger, and Larry Clausen.


A hard week of work by the crew repairing a damaged race car paid off for Budweiser Sportsmen driver Michael Weber as he held off point leader Dave McCalla to claim the win in that division. Weber started on the pole and outran the field, finishing .129 seconds ahead of McCalla. Curt VanDerWal finished third with Bob Ahrendsen fourth and Mel Schappert fifth.


In other Papa John Cup/I-Wireless Championship action, Kurt Bohnsack made a last lap pass on Doug Otto to claim a .068 second win in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Point leader Bob Ahrendsen was next in line with randy Filling and Chad Siems filling out the top of the order.

Rodney Grother collected his fifth win of the season in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks after starting in the fourth row. Grother held off Dennis Klinsky to collect the checkered flag. Point leader Tim Dains finished third with Gary Pfantz and Ron Dighton also posting top five finishes.


The Sunline Hornets division continues to grow as eighteen drivers signed in on Friday night. Shaun Myers broke the tie in the points standings by winning Friday night’s feature as he crossed the stripe ahead of Brad Chandler, Brian Beaty, Shane Hanson, and Jonny Williams. Prior to Friday night Myers and his teammate Brian Beaty had been tied on the points chart.


The Go-Karts were also in action Friday night with Tanner Allen of Springville cruising to yet another win in the Junior division. Garrett Houdek was second, Russell Benhart, third; Josh Cassill fourth, and Paul Flaegan was fifth.


In the Senior class of Go-Karts, Ben Braksiek took top honors with Andrew Sibenaler, Fred Hefti and William Rieken finishing behind him.








AUGUST 3, 2007



1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Thor Anderson Bondurant, IA; 3. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 4. Jim Ross, Robins, IA; 5. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 6. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 7. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 9. Nick Greif, Monticello, IA



1. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 7. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 8. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 10. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA




1. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 2. Chad Willet, Alburnett, IA; 3. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 4. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 5. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Jim Buhlman, Cedar Falls, IA



1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 2. Doug Otto, Cedar  Falls, IA; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 5. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 6. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 8. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 9. Brian Klein, Marion, IA; 10. Brad Daugherty, Palo, IA



1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 3. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 8. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Gabe Phelps



1. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 3. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 4. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 6. Angie Kraft, Manchester, IA; 7. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 9. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Dave Coghlan, Jr., 11. Neil Nabholz, Waterloo, IA; 12. Jeremy Heim, Marion, IA; 13. Brian Sekafetz ; 14. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 15. Dallas Chandler; DNS- Derrick Beadle  DNS- Nathan Chandler


GO KARTS –Junior Division (12 laps)

1. Tanner Allen, Springville, IA; 2. Garrett Houdek, Anamosa, IA; 3. Josh Cassill, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Paul Flanegan, West Branch, IA; 5. Jeremy Cassill, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Russell Benhart


GO KARTS- Senior Division (12 laps)

1. Ben Braksiek; 2. Andrew Siebenaler; 3. William Reiken; 4. Fred Hefti