(Cedar Rapids, IA 0803050—Among the winners at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night were two drivers who posted memorable wins as they dedicated their wins to the memory of Keith Fleck who passed away recently.


 Dudley Fleck, son of Keith, scored a win in one of the two Performance Concepts Late Model features and Arlo Becker took top honors in the Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modified feature. Becker was a longtime friend of Mr. Fleck.


                Keith Fleck was a longtime supporter of Hawkeye Downs racing and founded the Miller 100.


                The 50-lap Miller Time Modified feature was plagued by 9 cautions including an incident with two laps remaining that sent race leader Chad Willet and his closest challenger, Tim Plummer, to the rear of the field after the two tangled while battling for the lead. That crash put Arlo Becker in command and he collected the checkers ahead of Bob Gase.


                Multi-time modified champion Mike Schulte, who hasn’t raced at Hawkeye Downs for a couple of years came out of “retirement” to run this race, also as a tribute to long-time sponsor Keith Fleck. Schulte finished third and was followed to the Lint Millwright start-finish line by Rodney Rocarek and Pat Flannagan.


                As mentioned earlier, Dudley Fleck pulled out the win in the first late model feature after starting in the third row. Fleck bolted into the lead after a lap 8 caution and finished .664 seconds ahead of second-place Chris Sevey. Scott Wennermark finished third with Brad Osborn and Denny Osborn rounding out the top five.


                In Coca-Cola Victory Lane Fleck dedicated the win to his father as well as his mother Doris who passed on prior to his father.


                The second late model feature saw an incident similar to the modified feature in which the first place car of Jeff King was tagged by the second place mount of Chris Sevey and both drivers ended up out of the race. That put Brad Osborn on the point and he out-raced Scott Wennermark to collect the checkered flag. Denny Osborn crossed the stripe in third with Dudley Fleck fourth and Lyle Williams fifth.


                A pair of 20-lap Budweiser Sportsmen features were also on the card with Andy Duggan and Brian Franks each collecting wins.


                Duggan posted a wire-to-wire win in the first feature finishing ahead of Brian Franks. Martin Ballard, Mel Schappert, point leader Kevin Korsmo completed the top of the order in the feature event.


                The second feature saw Brian Franks post his first win since earlier in the season as he edged out Kevin Korsmo at the stripe.  Andy Duggan finished a strong third followed by Dave McCalla and Craig Bender.



                Logan Hale scored his third win in a row in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature after a second-row start. Hale has been the dominant driver recently in the division as he finished ahead of Bob Ahrendsen and Brad Dvorak. Randy Filling was fourth and Chad Siems fifth.


                The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock Feature went to Terry Shaffar again. Shaffar has now scored 10 feature wins in the division. This win extended his current streak to six wins as he powered around Ron Dighton with just a couple of laps remaining. Dighton maintained second finishing ahead of Brandon Herb and Jeremy Meyer.


                Nathan Ballard covered the field in the Hornets feature finishing ahead of Samantha Blumer in the 12 lap feature. The feature ran caution free after the heat race took out several cars. Connie Binder was scored third with Johnny Williams fourth and Chuck Schmitz fifth.



Feature (50 laps)

  1. Arlo Becker, Norway; 2. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 3. Mike Schulte, Norway; 4. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 5. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 6. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 7. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 8. Chad Willet, Alburnett; 9. Tim Plummer, Norway; 10. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 11. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 12. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids; 13. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 14. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 15. Darrell Long,  Cedar Rapids; 16. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Jody Lana, Cedar Rapids



Feature (20 laps)

  1. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 4. Randy Filling, Toddville; 5, Chad Siems, Marion; 6. Doug Simon, Marion; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion; 8. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids; 9. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 10. Brian Dvorak, Mt. Vernon; 11. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 12. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City



Feature (15 laps)

  1. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 2. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brandon Herb, Marion; 4. Jeremy Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 5. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 6. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 7. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 9. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 10. Shawn Blauer, Cedar Rapids; 11. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 12. Tim Hall, Cedar Rapids



Feature (12 laps)

  1. Nathan Ballard. Marengo; 2. Samantha Blumer, Manchester; 3. Connie Binder, Clutier; 4. Johnny Williams, Atkins; 5. Chuck Schmitz, Dubuque; 6. Derrick Beadle, Cedar Rapids; 7. Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Shawn Myers, Ely; Chris Ainsworth, Cedar Rapids; Scott Ballard, Marengo; Rick Gallo, Cedar Rapids



Feature #1 (20 laps)

  1. Andy Duggan, Marion; 2. Brian Franks, Central City; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 4. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 5. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 6. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 7. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 8. Michael Annett, Des Moines; 9. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

Feature #2 (20 laps)

  1. Brian Franks 2. Korsmo 3. Duggan 4. McCalla 5. Bender 6. Schappert 7. Annett 8. Jeff Brass, Ackley; 9. Kevin Franks 10. Ballard



Feature (20 laps)

  1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids; 2. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 3. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 4. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 5. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 6. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 7. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 8. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 9. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 10. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher


Feature #2 (20 laps)

1. Brad Osborn 2. Wennermark 3. Denny Osborn 4. Fleck 5.Williams 6. Allen 7. King  8. Sevey  9. Hinrichs  10. Meyer