(Cedar Rapids, IA 08/02/1013)—McGrath Auto Group hosted action in the Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series Friday night  at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night. Two rounds of showers delayed the start of racing but thanks to the persistence of crews, racers, and even some fans the track was able to be dried and a features only program was run.

Whether it was lack of patience, a green track, the phases of the moon, or “just one of those nights” the racing wasn’t always pretty as the caution flag waved innumerable times throughout the night.


Matt Petrzelka wasted little time in taking the lead from his second row starting position to claim yet another win in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks. Cautions on lap four and lap six slowed the action but each time Petrzelka was able to motor away from his closest pursuer. Matt Lacousiere rallied from a lap four causion to finish second and last weeks’ winner Kandi Floyd was third.


In Mountain Dew Sportsmen, Ben Glascock picked up his second victory of the season as he outran Dave McCalla and the rest of the field to claim the win.

Dave Ballstaedt scored the early lead but Glascock moved to challenge on lap three and took the point one lap later extending his margin as the laps ticked off.

Point leader Dave McCalla had some difficulties getting through traffic and didn’t gain the second spot until just one lap remained as he finally found a way around Jim Hanson. By that time Glascock had a substantial margin and there was no time for McCalla to even think about a challenge. Hanson finished third behind McCalla.


The Dublin City Pub Legends feature was marred by seven cautions and a lot of torn up equipment as spins and crashes slowed the action repeatedly. Caleb Adrian, Kyle Diercks and Tim Goettsch led at various times with Goettsch unlimately outlasting the field and the caution flags to claim his fifth win of the season.  Diercks held off Gary Dyer to finish second with Austin Kunert crossing the stripe in fourth and Mark Ironside posting another top five finish as well.


In the Miller Time Modifieds, after taking the lead on lap two, Brian Gibson held off Tim Plummer for several laps before a lap eight caution bunched the field. Plummer powered into the lead on the restart and led Gibson away from the rest of the field as the pair broke away from the rest of the cars.  The field reset with five laps to go after a spin but Plummer pulled away from Gibson once again to claim his tenth win of 2013. Gibson settled for second with Ryan Luedtke finishing third.,


JR Dvorak led the first four trips around the quarter-mile in the Sunline Hornets feature with Dan Schmidt assuming the point on lap five followed closely by Todd Ness. Ness chased Schmidt for several laps until Schmidt got trapped behind slower traffic and Ness kept it high to take the lead on lap eleven. Kurt Bohnsack charged through the pack to challenge Ness and on the final lap Ness spun as he  was trying to hold off Bohnsack putting Bohnsack into the lead and on to the checkered flag. Schmidt finished second and J.R. Dvorak was third. Nathan Chandler finished fourth and Jose DeJesus was fifth.


The Carpetland USA Late Models normally run caution free but even they weren’t immune from the yellow flag Friday night. Griffin McGrath suffered a mechanical breakdown on lap three putting some fluid on the track in turn three forcing a restart. Tim Plummer slipped around Scott Siems and Brian Allen  on lap four and began the countdown to the checkered flag as the laps ticked off the board. Allen chased Siems until taking the second spot on lap twelve leaving Siems and Jay Jaspers to fight for next in the order. The final caution came when Jaspers and Siems both spun in the waning moments of the race. Allen tried to stick with Plummer on the restart but settled for second. Scott Siems was third.


Racing resumes Friday, August 9 with all six divisions slated for action.





Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series


AUGUST 2, 2013




FEATURE (10 laps) 1. (22)Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. (2x) Rob McCorkle, Marion; 5. (00) Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 6. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 7. (1) Chris Siems, Ackley; 8. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 9. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 2. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 3. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. (9) Dave Ballsteadt, Marion; 5. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha



FEATURE (30 laps) – 1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 2. (43) Kyle Diercks, LeClaire; 3. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 4. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 5. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 6. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 7. (95) Allen Diercks, Davenport; 8. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 9. (37) Steve Van Voorst, Tipton; 10. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnet; 11. (64) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 12. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 13. (6) Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids; 14. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 15. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 3. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 4. (5) Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 5. (26) Jim Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 6. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (4) kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (8R) JR Dvorak, Lisbon; 4. (2) Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 5. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 6. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 7. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 8. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 9. (4T) Mike Tedesco, Jesup; 10. (6) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 11. (1A) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (30 laps) 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 3. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 6. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids