( Cedar Rapids, IA- 08/01/08)-  Mike McGrath Auto Center presented racing in seven divisions on the quarter and half-mile tracks at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night. It was the 10th night of racing for most of the divisions as the final month of the 2008 season begins.


                Curt Van Der Wal of Oskaloosa picked up his second win of the season in Miller Lite Late Models besting the second place car of Steve Carlson by nearly 5.5 seconds. Van Der Wal shot into the lead at the drop of the green flag after starting outside the first row and was never seriously challenged in the 50-lap green to checkers run.. Carlson, who was the fast qualifier earlier in the evening, and currently leads the points chase, finished second while Thor Anderson crossed the stripe in third.


                Randy Coghlan of Toddville held off Andy Duggan to claim victory in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature. Coghlan zoomed ahead of the field after a first lap restart and beat Duggan, who steadily closed in on the leader, by less than half a second. Kevin Lee, the winner of the two previous features, finished in third. The current point leader, Dave McCalla, finished fourth.


                Defending champion  and current point leader Tim Plummer took advantage of a miscue by his uncle, Mike Schulte, to take command of the Coors light Modified feature. Schulte, battling a somewhat loose car, slipped a bit in turn four near the midpoint of the race and that’s all Plummer needed to snare the lead. Schulte finished second while Arlo Becker completed the “Norway sweep” crossing the line in third.


                Moving to the quarter-mile, Bob Ahrendsen of  Cedar Rapids picked up his second straight win in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature. Mark Bolton led much of the race but Ahrendsen was close behind and after several looks he completed what would be the winning pass with three circuits remaining. Brian Franks rallied for second with point leader Kurt Bohnsack bringing home third.


                Gary Pfantz of State Center continued his domination of the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks in winning his seventh feature of 2008. Pfantz took the point from Ed O’Brien near halfway and survived a caution with three laps to go in earning the win. Dennis Klinsky stayed in the hunt, finishing second, while Roland Bohnsack took third.


                Derek Parrott picked up his second win of the 2008 campaign in the Sunline Hornets after taking the lead from Brad Burhite on lap 13 of the scheduled 20-lapper. Brad Chandler moved to second in the last five laps and edged up Burhite for that spot. Burhite maintained third ahead of  Jeff Selfridge and Jonny Williams.


                In the IMCA SportMod feature,  Scott Grady and point leader Ryan Luedtke battled it out over the final laps with Grady prevailing as they crossed the flagstand for the final time. Grady didn’t actually secure the lead until the final lap with Luedtke holding on to second. Jamie Huff, Arnie Reif, and Aric Becker all posted top five finishes.


                Two nights of racing are scheduled this coming week as the annual “IMCA Dirt at the Downs” takes to the track Wednesday night, August 6 and Hochstsetler Towing Bike Giveaway Night is Friday, August 8.




Heat- 1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, IA; 3. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, IA; 4. Joey King, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI.;6.  Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 7. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 11. Nick Grief, Monticell, IA; 12. Jon Leonard, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (50 laps)- 1. Van Der Wal  2. Carlson  3. Anderson  4. McGrath  5. Spaw  6. Fleck  7. King  8. Gase  9. Dvorak  10. Leonard  11. Greif  12. Osborn



Heat 1- 1. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 2. Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 3. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 4. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 5. Scotty welsh, Marion, IA; 6. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat 2..- Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, 3. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 6. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 7. Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA

FEATURE (25 laps)  1. Coghlan  2. Duggan  3. Lee  4. McCalla   5. Weber  6. Schappert  7. Ahrendsen  8. Simon  9. Daugherty  10. Thompson  11. Ballard  12. Franks  13. Welsh



Heat 1. – 1. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Mike Schulte, Norway, IA; 4. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 5. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 6. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 8. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 9. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer  2. Schulte  3.Arlo Becker  4. Aric Becker  5. Clausen  6. Houdek  7. Lindell  8. Long  9. Strauss  10. Olson



Heat 1- 1. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 7. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA; 9. Scooter Dulin, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Ahrendsen  2. Franks  3. Bohnsack  4. Bolton  5. Hentrich  6. Dulin  7. Beatty  8. Ballstaedt  9. Grother  10. Siems  11.  Filling (DNS)



Heat 1- 1. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 2. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 3. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 4. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat 2- 1. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 3. Roland Bohsnack, Clutier, IA; 4. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps)  1. Pfantz  2. Klinsky  3. Bohnsack  4. O’Brien  5. Kandi Floyd  6. Herb  7. Myers  8. Jeremy Floyd  9. Betzer  10. Mefford; 11. Lacoursiere  12. Siems



Heat 1- 1. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 2. Shane Hanson, IA; 3. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Greg Wilhelmi, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Larry Wolfe, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat 2- 1. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA; 2. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brogan Fiala, Fairfax, IA; 5. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 8. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Parrott  2. Brad Chandler  3. Brad Burhite  4. Selfridge  5. Williams  6. Shane Hanson  7. Jim Hanson  8. Fiala  9. Nathan Chandler  10. Freeman  11. Dighton  12. Wilhelmi  13. DeJesus  14. Carson  15. Wolfe  16. Dan Burhite (DNS)



Heat- 1. Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 3. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 4. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha; 5. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA  6. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA  7. Troy Burkhart, Center Point, IA; 8. Michael Mitchell, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Grady  2. Luedtke  3. Huff  4. Reif  5. Becker  6. Kositzky  7. Mitchell  8. Burkhart