By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 08/01/03) Veteran dirt driver and Hawkeye Downs rookie Pavement driver Denny Osborn posted his first career pavement win Friday night during the “4th Annual KHAK Free Race.” Osborn prevailed despite 2 cautions that bunched the field and set up a serious challenge from Randy Coghlan on the last restart.


            Osborn started on the pole and clearly had the fastest car throughout the race, according to Alliant Energy Transponder Timing and Scoring. Coghlan finished in second after starting in fifth, while Johnny Spaw finished in third after taking the green in the  10th slot.


            In other action in the “Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship,” Curtis Van Der Wal picked up his 4th win of the season in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen feature. A capacity crowd saw Van Der Wal use the high side to execute a pass on Mel Schappert on lap 19 to take the lead. John Henecke challenged for the lead during a restart on lap 23 but Van Der Wal prevailed and Henecke settled for second. Kevin Korsmo posted a third place finish after starting back in 11th.


            Dave McCalla notched an impressive win in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks feature after starting 16th in the 19 car field and sailing through the pack. By the halfway mark of the 30 lap feature, McCalla was in command of the race and he won by a margin of 4.8 seconds over Sonny Parker. Aric Becker started and finished in third.


            The “youth movement” continues to make its presence felt in the Miller Time Modified division as 15-year old Kyle Hinrichs picked up his second win in four races. Hinrichs started in third and had command of the 17 car field by the third trip around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile after battling briefly with Arlo Becker. Becker finished in second, about a second and a half behind Hinrichs. Bob Gase, finished in third after gridding in sixth.


            The Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars were also back in action Friday night with Larry Silbaugh of Jefferson collecting the checkers. Silbaugh has been making the long trek from Jefferson since the IMCA division starting running at Hawkeye Downs and this was his second win. Ronnie Godwin of Earlham finished in second and Doug Simon of Marion crossed the stripe in third.



Hawkeye Downs Speedway-Cedar Rapids, IA

Results for August 1, 2003


FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Denny Osborn, Janesville

2. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

4. Scott delsing, Cedar Rapids

5. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

6. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

7. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

8. J. Herbst, West Salem, WI

9. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

10. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

11. Lorin Kurth, Waukon

12. Art Christoffersen, Toddville

13. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

14. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

15. Brad Osborn, Janesvile

16. Matt Lundberg, Des Moines

17. Brian Gibson, Walford

18. Dennis Gerst, Jesup



FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

2. Arlo Becker, Atkins

3. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

5. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

6. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

7. Jim Williams, Atkins

8. Max Corporon, Marion

9. John Baker, Cedar Rapids

10. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon

11. Shawn Stinger, Palo

12. Tim Plummer, Norway

13. Ron Hoffman, Cedar Rapids

14. Jerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

15. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

16. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

17. Steve Lindell, Marion



FEATURE (30 laps)

1. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

2. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

3. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

4. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

5. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

6. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

7. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

8. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

9. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

10. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

11. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

12. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

13. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

14. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

15. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

16. Wendy Canahan, Cedar Rapids

17. Dan Thompson, Cedar Rapids

18. Randy Filling, Toddville

19. Scott Grady, Walker



FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

2. John Henecke, Hiawatha

3. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

4. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

5. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

6. Martin Ballard, Marengo

7. Brian Franks, Central City

8. Tom Burke, Nevada

9. Criag Bender, Cedar Rapids

10. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids

11. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

12. Andy Duggan, Marion

13. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

14. Lyle Williams, Center Point

15. Bob Hosier, Cedar Rapids

16. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

17. Len Fevold, Oxford



FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson

2. Ronnie Godwin, Earlham

3. Doug Simon, Marion

4. Norman Chesmore, Garrison

5. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

6. TJ Criss, Oskaloosa

7. Richard Quail, Waterloo