( Cedar Rapids, IA 7/29/05)--  Dave McCalla of Cedar Rapids has been on a hot streak the past few weeks and Friday night was no exception as he racked up his third straight win in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division. KRNA and Budweiser presented the night of racing that featured a 50 lap feature for the sportsmen as well as racing in the other five divisions.


                Kevin Franks and Brian Franks both led laps early in the Sportsmen feature before Kevin Korsmo snagged the point with 5 laps scored. Korsmo maintained the lead until lap 20 when Dave McCalla dived inside Korsmo in turn three and took the lead. Officials issued a competition yellow with 20 laps remaining. Martin Ballard took a brief lead on the restart but McCalla quickly regained the position and motored to the checkered flag, winning by a comfortable 1.3 seconds over Kevin Korsmo according to Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring. Ballard finished third with Brian Franks and Bob Ahrendsen filling out the top of the running order.


                Rodney Rocarek of Mount Vernon got his first career win in the Miller Time Modifieds on Friday night, taking control after Bob Gase and Tim Plummer crashed while battling for the lead. Gase and Plummer “split” the lapped car of Jody Lana and as the two headed into turn one they tangled bringing out the caution and advancing Rocarek to the lead. Pat Flannagan took third while Jim Hanson was fourth. Chad Willet was scored fifth.


                The Performance Concepts Late Model field was a slim one on Friday night as some drivers were at Indianapolis Raceway Park for an ASA Late Model Series race and others were honoring other commitments. The seven cars that were on hand ran a pair of 20 lap features with Chris Sevey and Denny Osborn each taking a trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane.  Sevey held off a hard charging Denny Osborn to win the first feature. Jeff King finished third.


                In the second feature Denny Osborn held off his son Brad to take the checkers. The “senior” Osborn started in row two and took the lead when the cars of Jeff King and Johnny Spaw collided while battling for the lead on a lap seven restart. King rallied to finish third with Brian Allen fourth and Lyle Williams fifth.


                Samantha Blumer of Manchester was a repeat winner in the Hornets feature after she took the lead on the final circuit.  She was chased to the Lint Millwright Finish Line by Brian Beaty and Nathan Ballard.


                The Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature saw plenty of action as usual with a familiar car in victory lane as the checkers waved. Terry Shaffar of State Center racked up yet another win with Ron Dighton finishing second. Tim Dains was third.


                The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars were also inaction and at the conclusion of the 20 lap feature the youngster, Logan Hale, found himself in victory lane for the second time this season. Hale used both groves to motor to the lead from the second row. Hale finished about a quarter-second ahead of Doug Simon. Bob Ahrendsen finished in third.




FEATURE (50 laps)

  1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 4. Brian Franks, Central City; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 6. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 7. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 8. Michael Annett, Des Moines; 9. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 10. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 11. Andy Duggan, Marion



FEATURE #1 (20 laps)

  1. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 2. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 3. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 4. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 5. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 6. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapidsl 7. Lyle Williams, Center Point


FEATURE #2 (20 laps)

  1. Denny Osborn; 2.Brad Osborn; 3. King; 4. Allen; 5. Williams; 6. Spaw; 7. Sevey



FEATURE ( 30 laps)

  1. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 2. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 3. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids; 5. Chad Willett, Alburnett; 6. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 8. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 9. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 10. Tim Plummer, Norway; 11. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 12. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 13. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 14. Jody Lana, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE ( 20 laps)

  1. Logan Hale,Cedar Rapids; 2. Doug Simon, Marion; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 5. Chad Siems, Marion; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville,; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion; 8. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 9. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 10. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 11. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, 12. Brian Dvorak, Mt. Vernon



FEATURE ( 15 laps)

  1. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 2. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids 3. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 5. Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 9. Shawn Blauer, Cedar Rapids; 10. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 11. Tim Hill,; 12. Jason Hetzler, Muscatine; 13. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 14. Matt Lacoursierre, Cedar Rapids; 15. Roger Lacoursierre, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE ( 12 laps)

1. Samantha Blumer, Manchester; 2. Brian Beaty, Palo; 3. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 4. John Flury, Epworth; 5. Derrick Beadle, Cedar Rapids; 6. Creston Williams, Cedar Rapids; 7. Chris Ainsworth,  Cedar Rapids; 8. Connie Binder, Clutier; 9. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 10. Dan Vincent, Solon; 11. Rick Gallo, Cedar Rapids; 12. Brian Bries, Norway