(Cedar Rapids, IA  07/28/06)--  Storm Steel/Abrasive Jet and 98.1 KHAK presented  a special night of racing Friday with the annual visit by the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series (HOSS) along with a first time visit by the USST Truck Series. There was also racing in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, and the Sunline Hornets.


                In HOSS qualifying, David Gough of Machesney Park, IL unseated Kevin Feeney as the all-time track record holder by turning a lap of  15.496 seconds for a lap average of just over  116 mph. Feeney set the previous record in 2003.


                Ritchie Jacobs of Ft. Wayne, IN  was first to cross the Coors Light Finish Line in the HOSS Winged Sprints 30 lap feature. Jacobs blasted into the lead from the third row and was in lapped traffic by the fourth trip around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile. He used the lapped traffic to try and put some distance between himself and last year’s winner, Tim Cox of Park City, IL. Cox, made a couple hard runs at the leader but settled for second, driving a new car.  The fast qualifier, Gough crossed the stripe in third.


The race was slowed by just one caution with eight laps remaining.


The USST truck feature which included trucks from the USST, as well as Midwest/Mid-AM,  saw Tom McClintock of Onalaska, WI  take command of the race on lap 22 as he executed a high-side pass of Tom Pautsch. Jeff Steenbergen was McClintocks’ closest challenger until the series mandated Competition Yellow on lap 50.


After fueling and making adjustments McClintock resumed command of the race with John Wood mounting a brief challenge for the point with about 15 laps to go. Wood faded a bit in the closing laps with McClintock recording a 2.7 second margin of victory. Kyle Taylor was third, Steenbergen fourth, and Rick Perry was fifth.


There’s been a close point battle in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars all season and Friday night did nothing to change that. Chad Siems pulled out the win after starting fifth on the grid. Siems nabbed the point from Doug Otto on a restart after a lap four caution flag bunched up the field. Logan Hale posted another strong run finishing second, with point leader Brad Dvorak finishing in third. The win was the third of the season for Siems.


In the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Dennis Klinsky surrendered the lead to Rodney Grother at the halfway mark. Grother, who leads the points, motored on to the win after starting in 10th.  Tim Dains crossed the line in second as well as remaining second in points. Klinsky finished in third while Gary Pfantz finished fourth and Deb Mefford was fifth.


The duo of Brian Beaty and Shawn Myers have been a winning combination in the Sunline Hornets since the first couple weeks of the season. The two share driving duties in the 701 Dodge Rampage which also splits the points between the two drivers. Friday Night it was Beaty’s turn behind the wheel and he found Coca-Cola Victory Lane once again for his third win of the season.  Connie Binder finished in second after starting on the pole and leading early. Corey Depaw returned to the controls of the Bighouse Motorsports VW Golf, finishing third.  Derrick Beadle was fourth while Dan Vincent was fifth.  Current point leader Nathan Ballard finished sixth.










FEATURE ( 15 laps)

1. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 2. Connie Binder, Clutier, IA; 3. Corey Depaw, Cedar Rapids; 4. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha, IA; 5. Dan Vincent, Solon, IA; 6. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 7. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 8. Brad Fisher, Oxford, IA



FEATURE (20 laps)

1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 3. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Roland Bohnsach, Clutier; 10. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Kris Jones, Marion, IA DNS-Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 2. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 6. Greg Hetrich, Hiawatha, IA; 7. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 8. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 9. Seth Thomas, Center Point; 10. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (75 laps)

1. Tom McClintock, Onalaska, WI; 2. John Wood, Sun Prairie, WI; 3. Kyle Taylor, Stoughton, WI; 4. Jeff Steenbergen, Waupon, WI; 5. Rick Perry, Oklahoma City, OK; 6. Fred Oswald, Lake Mills, WI; 7. Jeff Babb, Elgin, IL; 8. Jeff Weller, Sapulpa, OK; 9. Mark Hauder, Dubuque,IA; 10. Scotty Diemel, Oklahoma, City, OK; 11. Chris Sevey, Waterloo, IA; 12. Bryan Pautsch, Sun Prairie, WI; 13. Matt Vaade, Cottage Grove, WI



Fast Time- 15.496  David Gaugh, Machesney Park, IL  (New Track Record)

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Richie Jacobs, Ft. Wayne, IN; 2. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 3. David Gaugh, Machesney Park, IL; 4. Ron Koehler, South Bend, IN; 5. Greg Wheeler, Columbia City, IN; 6. Jerry Caryer, Ney, OH; 7. Jim Payne, Bryan, OH; 8. John Witter, Mishawaka, IN; 9. Tom Paterson,  Argos, IN; 10. Frank Mosier, Antioch, IL; 11. AJ Lane, Carleton, MI; 12. Ted McKibben, Indianapolis, IN; 13. Scott Williamson, Anderson, IN; 14. Sam Davis, Bourbon, IN