(Cedar Rapids, IA  07/25/08)  Hawkeye Downs IMCA SportMod driver Scott Kositzky won Friday night’s “Prelude to the Dirt” for Dirt Modifieds on Coca-Cola night. Several area Modified drivers joined in with some of the IMCA SportMod drivers on the quarter-mile. The race was a “tune-up” for the annual “Dirt at the Downs” race on Wednesday, August 6. That race will feature IMCA Dirt late Models as well as Modifieds, Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks, SportMods and Hornets.


            Kositzky took the lead from Max Corporon with less than six laps to go and motored on for the win. Corporon maintained while Tony Olson crossed the stripe in third.


            Ryan Luedtke took command of the 20-lap IMCA SportMod feature early and held off his closest pursuer, Scott Kositzky to score his 4th win of the 2008 campaign. Kositzky, who’s in his first year of oval track racing after previously competing in drag racing, finished second while Arnie Reif finished third.


            Bob Ahrendsen notched his first Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car win of the season after taking the lead on lap five of the scheduled 25 lap feature. Ahrendsen was chased to the stripe by Kurt Bohnsack who has five wins and a 12 point lead over Ahrendsen in the standings. Rookie of the Year contender Dave Ballstaedt ran a strong third.


            Gary Pfantz has been almost unstoppable in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks and Friday night was no exception as he bagged his sixth win in eight starts. Pfantz secured the point on lap six and then survived a green-white- checkers finish set up by a yellow on the white flag lap.  Dennis Klinsky ran second while Deb Mefford made one of her better runs of the season backing up a second place heat finish with a third place feature run.


            The Hornets provided another entertaining race that was also costly for point leader Jim Hanson. Mechanical problems parked Hanson on lap eight and he was unable to finish the race. Derrek Parrott and Brad Chandler battled right up the checkered flag with Chandler claiming the hardware in a near photo finish.  The win was the fifth of the season for Chandler. Jeff Selfridge finished third.


            The last three Budweiser Sportsmen features have seen side-by-side finishes with Friday’s feature finish the closest yet. Kevin Lee squeaked out a win over Michael Weber by a scant six one-thousanths of a second according to the Transponder Timing and Scoring System. To the naked eye the race appeared to be a dead heat but the scoring system revealed the true winner. Weber had led the race since lap seven with Lee steadily reeling him in and then challenging for the win on the final lap. Point leader Dave McCalla finished third.


            The Go Karts were also in action Friday night with Garrett Houdek taking the Junior division win and Bill Reiken taking the top spot in the Senior division.


            Racing returns Friday night, August 1 for McGrath Auto night. All divisions will be action including the Miller Lite Late Models.






FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Max Corporon, Marion, IA; 3. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Pat Flanagan  5. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 7. Tom Hanson, Vinton, IA; 8. Bill Flanagan 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 11.  Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 12. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Damien Fairbanks, Vinton, IA; 14. Ryan Coleman, Urbana, IA



FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 3. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Kevin Franks,  Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 9. Shawn Fladager, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 11. Brad Daugherty, Palo, IA; 12. Scoty Welsh, Marion, IA



FEATURE (25 laps)  1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 3. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 6. Scooter Dulin; 7. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 9. Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 11. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 2. Dennis klinsky, Ely, IA; 3. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 4. Ed Obrien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7, Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Malena, Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 2. Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha; 4. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 6. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE ( 20 laps) 1. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 2. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 3. Jeff Selfridge,  Marion, IA; 4. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 9. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Greg Wilhelmi, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 16. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 17. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Larry Wolfe, Cedar Rapids, IA