(Cedar Rapids, IA 07/23/04)—After a week off,  racing action resumed Friday night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in the ASA/ Papa Johns Cup/ I Wireless Season Championship chase.


            The highlight of the night was a 40-lap Miller Time Modified feature which was run in two segments. The race was red-flagged on lap 15 with crews given 5 minutes to work on cars before the final 25 laps were run.


            The field was set by a draw after time trials. Tim Plummer set fast time turning a lap of 19.489 seconds and then dew a ‘10’, inverting the top ten in time.


            Bob Gase and Arlo Becker landed in the front row via the draw and those two battled throughout the first segment with Gase at the head of the pack at the break.


            The second segment turned into a classic battle between Gase and the much younger Landon Cassill as the duo raced side-by side lap after lap. Gase was able to turn away Cassill’s charges multiple time as the Fairfax teen drove high and dived low multiple times. Gase won by the narrowest of margins with Alliant Energy Transponder Timing and Scoring reporting a .106 second margin of victory.


            Tim Plummer rallied from an earlier accident to finish in third while Brian Allen and Larry Clausen completed the top of the order.


            Brad Osborn racked up win number five in the Performance Concepts Late Models feature. Jeff Watters built an early lead in the 25-lap race but Osborn grabbed the point after a restart and sailed away from the pack to win in dominating fashion. The race saw multiple cautions which kept the racing tight thought the pack.


            Chris Sevey crossed the stripe in second with Watters third, JJ Meyer fourth, and Kyle Hinrichs, fifth.


            Two-time track champion Brad Dvorak returned to Coca-Cola Victory Lane on Friday night posting an impressive win in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks. Dvorak started inside row two and quickly bolted into the lead and cruised to the win. This was Dvorak’s first checkered flag since returning from a year off. Bob Ahrendsen finished in second after starting in row four with Dave McCalla picking up third.


            The Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen feature went to Bob Ahrendsen who started on the pole in a feature which only saw 11 cars on the grid due to an accident in the heat race which took out four cars. Andy Duggan and Scott Wennermark were able to repair their cars in time for the feature.


            Ahrendsen picked up his second Sportsmen win of the season  after battling Craig Bender for several laps and then holding off a hard-charging John Henecke down the stretch. Johnny Mudd earned third place honors and was followed to the checkers by Martin Ballard and Bender.


            In other action on the Hawkeye Downs quarter-mile, Jeremy Meyer powered to the win in the 15 lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature after taking the win on lap seven. Meyer survived a brief challenge on a restart with 5 laps to go but held off Matt Poduska to grab his first career win on the Hawkeye Downs asphalt.  Chad Vozenilek finished in third followed by Brandon Herb and Scott Strauss.


            The finale of the night was a 10-lap feature for the Women on Wheels. Jessica Hoffman led in the early going but surrendered the point to Kandi Floyd at the halfway mark. Floyd cruised to the easy win with Hoffman second. Carrie Carnahan finished in third while Connie Binder and Pam Kemmerer finished fourth and fifth, respectively.


            Racing continues next Friday night with twin features for the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen.




FEATURE (40 laps)

1. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 2. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 3. Tim Plummer, Norway; 4. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 5. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 6. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 8. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 9. Steve Lindell, Marion; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 11. Max Corporon, Marion; 12. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids; 13. Arlo Becker, Atkins



FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 3. Jeff Watters, Mineral Point, WI.; 4. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 6. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 7. Dan Lensing, Roscoe, IL; 8. Josh Krug, Omaha, NE; 9. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 10. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 11. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (20 laps)

1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Johns Henecke, Hiawatha; 3. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 4. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 5. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 6. Art Christoffersen, Toddville; 7. Andy Duggan, Marion; 8. Rob Keeney, Cedar Rapids; 9. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids; 10. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids; 11. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. Doug Simon, Marion; 6. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 7. Randy Filling, Toddville; 8. Terry Clayton, Brooklyn; 9. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 10. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids; 11. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 12. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 13. Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids; 14. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 15. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 16. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 17. Jason Block, Cedar Rapids; 18. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Jeremy Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 2. Matt Poduska, Cedar Rapids; 3. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids; 4. Brandon Herb, Marion; 5. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, 6. Steve Snyder, Marion; 7. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 8. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 9. Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 10. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 11. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 12. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 13. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 14. Tim Kemmerer, Fairfax; 15. Dave Gleason, Atkins; 16. Deb Mefford, Marion; 17. Bill Koepke, Cedfar Rapids; 18. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 19. Matt Lacousiere, Cedar Rapids; 20. Kevin Karr, Marion; 21. Mike Desotel, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (10 laps)

1. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 2. Jessica Hoffman, Atkins; 3. Carrie Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 4. Connie Binder, Clutier; 5. Pam Kemmerer, Fairfax