(Cedar Rapids, IA 072106)—Logan Hale of Cedar Rapids picked up his first win of the 2006 season in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Feature at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night.  Hale started in row three and set himself up for the win by passing Greg Hentrich to take the lead on lap 8.  Hale finished nearly a half-second in front of Brad Dvorak. Randy Filling finished third.


                The points race remains tight as Dvorak and Bob Ahrendsen have swapped positions once again at the top of the chart. After Friday night’s race Dvorak has regained the lead by one point.


                The program, sponsored by Hochstetler Towing and KRNA, was delayed about 30 minutes after a late afternoon rain shower.


                Shawn Stinger of Palo scored his second victory of the season in the Miller Time Modifieds. Stinger used a front-row start to his advantage and was able to build a decent lead while position battles kept the rest of the pack safely in his rear view mirror.  Aric Becker held off great uncle Arlo Becker for the second spot. Point leader Tim Plummer finished behind Arlo with Larry Clausen bringing home fifth.


                In other Papa Johns Cup/ I Wireless Championship action, Brian Franks held off a late charge by Dave McCalla to bring home the checkers in the 35 lap Budweiser Sportsmen feature.  Franks started in row two and snagged the lead from his brother Kevin on the seventh circuit around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile. McCalla was able to close the gap on Franks during the latter stages of the race but Franks stabilized his lead at about 3/10 of a second which proved to be the margin of victory.


                The Budweiser Sportsmen ran extra laps Friday night after a low late model count prompted officials to not run the division Friday night. After consulting with the drivers earlier in the day officials took the division off the card for Friday night. Most of the regular competitors were attending an ASA Late Model Series race at Indianapolis Raceway Park, or the “O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis” as it’s now called.


                There was action in the Full Throttle Energy Drink Stars of Tomorrow Series also.


                Tim Dains and Rodney Grother have been in a close battle in the points and the win column all season long and Friday night was no exception. However, Dennis Klinsky had a say in the outcome Friday night as well as he finished second to Dains in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Grother finished in third. Grother and Dains are now tied in the win column but Grother holds a narrow lead in the points.


                Dains and Grother started side-by-side in the 15 lap feature but Dains was able to find a seam to work into the lead while Klinsky planted himself between Dains and Grother.


                The 701 Dodge Rampage was again the car, or truck, such as it is, to beat Friday night in the Sunline Hornets. Whether Shawn Myers or Brian Beatty is driving the Rampage has been a formidable foe this season. Myers was behind the wheel Friday night and took the car from last to first to claim the win. Derrick Beadle was second and Roy Parker finished third. Nathan Ballard, the point leader, finished in fourth.








FEATURE (35 laps)

1. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Andy Duggan, Marion; 4. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 6. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA DNS- JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids, IA  DNS- Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN




FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 2. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Arlo Becker, Norway; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon, IA; 7. Chad Willet, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, IA; 10. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 12. Craig bender, Cedar Rapids, IA




FEATURE (20 laps)

1. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids,IA; 2. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 6. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 8. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 9. Seth Thomas, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA




FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 2. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 3. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 6. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 7. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 10. Ron Fare, Marion; 11. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA




FEATURE (12 laps)

1. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha, IA; 3. Roy Parker, Marion, IA; 4. Natahan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 5. Connie Binder, Clutier, IA; 6. Brad Fisher, Oxford, IA; 7. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; DNS- Dan Vincent, Solon, IA