By Brad Grupe


Cedar Rapids, IA 7/18/03—“The Barron Motor Supply Super Stock 50” was the main event on the racing card at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night and Kurt Bohsnack of Iowa City landed the win .


            Bohnsack, one of the few drivers that was able to make the outside groove work on Friday night, took the lead from Chad Siems of Mt. Auburn on lap 40 of the scheduled 50-lap race. Bohnsack started in eighth and was up to second early on but slipped back a bit when he couldn’t make the outside work. The win was the third of the season for Bohnsack.


            Randy Filling of Toddville was also a strong contender in the event finishing second while Jeff Franks  of Rowley posted third place.


There were 4 cautions in the last 13 laps of the race as drivers battled for position.


It was something of a battle of the generations early on in the Miller Time Modified feature as “60-something” Arlo Becker of Atkins raced on the same track with 14-year old Landon Cassill. Cassill, from Fairfax, was making just his second start in the division and he was able to take advantage of starting on the pole and hold off the likes of Larry Clausen and Bob Gase for the win. Clausen, a veteran driver from Cedar Rapids finished in second while Bob Gase, also of CR, finished third.


Cassill, celebrated the win by climbing the fence on the front stretch, much to the delight of the crowd, which included some of the recent inductees in to the Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame.



In other action in the ASA Papa John Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championships, Andy Duggan picked up an impressive win in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen in an exciting race that saw plenty of side by side action.


Duggan, from Marion, started inside the third row before taking the lead with 10 laps to and then held off Kevin Korsmo of Atkins for the win.  His margin of victory was .448 seconds, according to Alliant Energy Transponder Timing and Scoring. Current point leader John Henecke of Hiawatha finished in third.


Dudley Fleck of Cedar Rapids took the top spot in the Performance Concepts Late Model feature after starting eighth. Fleck grabbed the lead from Brad Osborn on lap 15 and then  built over a one second margin over second-place finisher Osborn of Janesville. Osborn saw an early lead erased by a caution on lap 13. Matt Lundberg of Des Moines crossed the stripe in third.


Also in action Friday night were the Nostalgia Stocks. Bill Meier of Troy Mills took the checkers in the sportsman division, driving a 58 Chevy. Craig Stepanek of Cedar Rapids drove his 68 Chevy to victory in the late model division.


Ten new members were inducted into the Hawkeye Downs “Wall of Fame” Friday night including former drivers Ernie Derr of Keokuk, Jerry Blundy of Dahinda, Ill., Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Lee Kunzman of Indianapolis, Curt Hansen of Dike, Roger Dolan of Lisbon and Verlin Eaker of Mechanicsville.

Keith Fleck of Cedar Rapids was honored for all that  he and his company, Fleck Sales, have done for Hawkeye Downs, and deceased promoters Keith Knaack and Al Frieden were also recognized for their contributions to racing.




RESULTS FOR 07/18/03



FEATURE (50 laps)

1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

2. Randy Filling, Toddville

3. Jeff Franks, Rowley

4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

5. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

6. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

7. Scott Grady, Walker

8. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

9. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

10. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

11. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

12. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

13. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

14. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

15. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

16. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

17. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

18. Paul Nagle, Nevada

19. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

20. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

21. Ron Fisher, Shellsburg

DNS Roger Merta, Cedar Rapids




1. Andy Duggan, Marion

2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

3. Johns Henecke, Hiawatha

4. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

5. Martin Ballard, Marengo

6. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

7. Curt Van Der Wal. Oskaloosa

8. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

9. Lyle Williams, Center Point

10. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids

11. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

12. Case Walker, Moberly, MO

13. Brian Franks, Central City

14. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

15. Bob Hosier, Cedar Rapids

DNS Lenonard Fevold, Oxford

DNS Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids




1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

2. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

3. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

4. Shawn Stinger,Palo

5. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

6. Jim Williams, Atkins

7. Max Corporon, Marion

8. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

9. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon

10. Jerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

11. Lyle Hinrichs, Swisher

12. Arlo Becker, Atkins




1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

2. Brad Osborn, Janesville
3. Matt Lundberg, Des Moines

4. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids

5. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

6. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

7. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien

8. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

9. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

10. Brian Gibson, Walford

11. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

12. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

13. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

14. Dean Slater, Schaumburg, IL

15. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

16. Dennis Gerst, Jesup

17. Denny Osborn, Janesville



1. Bill Meier, Troy Mills

2. Brian Halstead, Garrison

3. Laverne Halstead, Vinton



1. Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids

2. Charlie Rueter