By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  7/13/07)—Griffin McGrath of Cedar Rapids picked up his first career Performance Concepts Late Models win at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night in dominating fashion.


                McGrath took the lead from Dudley Fleck six laps into the scheduled 30 lapper and continued to build his lead during the caution free race, eventually finishing 2.552 seconds ahead of the second place car of Brad Osborn. Fleck finished in third.


                This is McGrath’s first year in a late model after he previously competed in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car and Miller Time Modified divisions.


                Earlier in the evening, Brad Osborn set the fast mark in Late Model qualifying, turning a lap of 18.523 seconds for an average speed of 97.176mph.


                Andy Duggan of Marion notched his second Budweiser Sportsmen win of the season after taking the lead from Michael Weber on lap thirteen and then cruising across the Coors Light Start-Finish line at ASA-Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway.


Weber posted his strongest finish to date, finishing second in a race that also ran with no caution flags. Martin Ballard crossed the stripe in third with Brian Franks running fourth and point leader Dave McCalla fifth.


In the Miller Time Modifieds, Larry Clausen it two wins in a row. Clausen started outside row one, quickly took the lead  and was never challenged as he picked up his second win of the season.


The best battle on the track was for second place as point leader Tim Plummer, Chad Willett, and Shawn Stinger battled for the spot. Stinger eventually prevailed for second with Chad Willett finishing third. Plummer finished fourth and now has just a one point lead over Willett in the points race.


The IMCA Sportmods gained a few more cars on Friday night in quest of a higher purse but at the end of the 20 laps Ryan Luedtke of Norway had picked up his third win of the season  and tightened up an already close points chase even more while taking home $350 for the win.


Brian Kauffman finished in second with current point leader Tony Olson finishing in third in what could only be described as a wild finish as the leaders negotiated slower cars as they took the checkered flag.


Dennis Klinsky of Ely bagged his first Hawkeye Downs win on Friday night after taking the lead from Roland Bohnsack just past the halfway mark of the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature.


Gary Pfantz finished a strong second while Bohnsack held on to third. Scott Siems and Rodney Grother also posted top five finishes.


Randy Filling scored his first trip to victory lane this season taking advantage of a front row start and then  held off point leader Bob Ahrendsen for the win. Filling finished .367 seconds ahead of Ahrendsen according to Hawkeye Downs Transponder Timing and Scoring. Kurt Bohnsack finished in third with Doug Otto and Chad Siems filling out the top of the order.


Nathan Chandler survived a host of caution flags along with spinning cars to bring home his first win in the Sunline Hornets as he just edged out Brian Beaty and Shaun Myers in the wild race. Jonny Williams finished in fourth and Brian Bries was fifth.


Racing action return to Hawkeye Downs on Friday, July 20 for Hochstetler Towing Night featuring their annual bike giveaway. Miller Time Modifieds, Budweiser Sportsmen, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Sunline Hornets,  IMCA Sportmods, and Go Karts will all see action.










FEATURE (30 laps)—1. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 3. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 5. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, IA; 6. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 7. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 8. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (25 laps) –1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 3. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 6. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA



FEATURE (20 laps)—1. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 2. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 4. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 5. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (20 laps)—1. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Kurt Bohnsach, Iowa City, IA; 4. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 5. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 6. Norman Chesmore, Rowley, IA; 7. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 8. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 10. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE (20 laps)—1. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 2. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 3. Roland Bohnsach, Clutier, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5.Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 12. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE ( 20 laps)—1. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 3. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 5. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 6. Larry Wolfe, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Doug Laughridge, Garrison, IA; 8. Kathy Hart, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Shawn Ackerman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 13. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. John Schroer, Marion, IA



FEATURE (20 laps)—1. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 2. Brian Kauffman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tony Olson, IA; 4. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 5. Shane Ebaugh, Vinton, IA; 6. Chris Snyder, Evansdale, IA; 7. Ryan Higdon, Vinton, IA; 8. Justin Hempstead, Manchester, IA