(Cedar Rapids, IA  071108)—Kevin Lee came out on top of the caution- free  Budweiser Sportsmen 50” at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night over a fourteen car field. Lee, who was the polesitter, battled side by side with Andy Duggan over the first ten laps before Duggan developed handling problems and started dropping positions. Dave McCalla and Michael Weber soon joined the fray.


McCalla made a couple bids for the lead near the halfway mark but couldn’t hold on for the pass and as he was doing that Weber pulled to his rear bumper and mounted a challenge for the second spot.


As Lee pulled away, McCalla and Weber ran a side-by- side battle over the final six laps or so with McCalla maintaining second as the field took the checkers.  Weber finished third with Shawn Fladager posting a fourth place finish in his first run of the season at Hawkeye Downs. Fifth place went to randy Coughlan who also was on the track for the first time this season.


Steve Carlson racked up another win in the Miller Lite Late Models, his fourth in five starts this season. Carlson slipped around Johnny Spaw as the field was completing lap five and wasn’t challenged for the balance of the forty lap feature. The field bunched after a caution with fifteen laps remaining but Carlson motored away from the pack once again. Spaw maintained second while Curt Van Der Wal finished third after he recovered from an earlier incident with Joey Gase that sent both to the rear of the field.  Griffin McGrath crossed the stripe in fourth and Brad Osborn was fifth.


Tim Plummer scored his fourth feature win of the season in the Coors Light Modifieds. Plummer battled with leader Larry Clausen before using the outside groove to make a lap seven pass for the lead. Plummer built a substantial lead until a late caution set up a green-white-checkers finish. Clausen maintained second while Tony Olson finished third. Cory Houdek and Darrell Long also finished in the top five.


Kurt Bohnsack put win number five on the board Friday night in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Bohnsack started in eighth, avoided an early race crash,  and took command of the race with just five laps run. Bohnsack had no serious challengers during the remaining laps, even after another caution tightened the field with three circuits remaining.  Bob Ahrendsen brought home the runner-up spot with Brian Franks in third. Rodney Grother  and Scooter Dulin finished fourth and fifth.


The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature saw Gary Pfantz edge out Roland Bohnsack for the feature win. The win was the fifth of the season for the State Center driver who started the race in fifth. Dennis Klinsky finished behind Bohnsack in third with Scott Siems and Duayne Herb also scoring in the top five.


Ryan Luedtke broke the tie with Arnie Reif on the points chart in the Hawkeye Downs IMCA SportMods after edging Reif for the feature win.  The win was the third of the season for Luedtke.  Jamie Huff finished third while polesitter Aric Becker was fourth and Scott Grady, fifth.


The Sunline Hornets saw the largest field of the season to date with twenty of the four-cylinder entry class cars on board. Brad Chandler emerged victorious  finishing just ahead of his brother Nathan.  Derek Parrott  crossed the line in third while Shane Hanson was fourth.  The other Hanson family member, Jim finished in fifth.


The win was the third of the season for Brad Chandler.


Action resumes next Friday night, July 18th  with the 36th Annual Keith Fleck Miller 100 featuring as many as forty Late Models from the ASA Midwest Tour including most of the Hawkeye Downs drivers. The Coors Light Modifieds are also scheduled to compete along with the Sunline Hornets.







HEAT 1- 1.Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 4. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 5. Brogan Fiala, Fairfax, IA; 6. Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 7. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Neil Nabholz, Waterloo, IA; 10. Larry Wolfe, Cedar Rapids, IA;

HEAT 2- 1. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Roy Parker, Cedar rapids, IA; 4. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 5. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Anthony Pickart, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Connie Binder, Clutier, IA; 10. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps)  1. Brad Chandler 2. Nathan Chandler 3. Parrott  4. Shane Hanson  5. Jim Hanson  6. Jonny Williams  7. Brad Burhite  8. Parker  9. Creston Williams  10. Merv Chandler  11. DeJesus 12. Freemen 13. Dighton 14. Pickart 15. Fiala 16. Dan Burhite 17. Wolfe 18. Nabholz 19. Carson 20. Binder (DNS)




HEAT- 1. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids,IA; 2. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 3. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 4. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Scott Kositsky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA 7. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Luedtke 2. Reif  3. Huff  4. Becker  5. Grady  6. Doyle  7. Kositsky




HEAT 1- 1. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 7. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 10. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Pfantz 2. Bohnsack 3. Klinsky 4. Siems 5. Herb 6. Mefford 7. Myers 8. Betzer 9. O’Brien 10. Floyd 11. Lacousiere




HEAT 1- 1. Dave Ballsteadt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Craig Stepanek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 3. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA  4. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 5. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scooter Dulin

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Ahrendsen 3. Franks  4. Grother 5. Dulin 6. Beatty 7. Siems 8. Hentrich 9. Bolton 10. Ballstaedt 11. Stepanek 12. Filling




FAST DASH- 1. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 4. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 6. Shawn Fladager, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (50 laps) 1. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave mCCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 4. Shawn Fladager, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 6. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 8. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 11. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 12. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 13. Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA; 14. Scotty Welsh, Marion, IA




HEAT – 1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tim Plummer; Norway; 4. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 5. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 7. Jim Williams, Atkins, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer; 2. Clausen 3. Olson 4. Houdek  5. Long  6. Lindell  7. Williams




HEAT – 1. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI; 3. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 4. Bill Bennett, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon, IA; 6. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA; 8. Nick Greif, Monticello, IA; 9. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA; 11. Jill George, Cedar Falls, IA

FEATURE (40 laps) 1. Carlson 2. Spaw  3. Van Der Wal 4. McGrath 5. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA 6. Bennett  7. Dvorak 8. Gase 9. Leonard 10. George 11. Greif  12. Boelts