(Cedar Rapids, IA 07/10/09)—After rain through midday threatened to scrub yet another night of racing at Hawkeye Downs Speedway, the sun appeared and that coupled with a southerly breeze dried up the facility and “NAPA Night at the Races with Dr. Danger” went off right on schedule.


Seven divisions were in action including Two-Man Cruisers. All divisions except the aforementioned Cruisers were competing for Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Cup points.


Brad Chandler collected his second win of the season in the Sunline Hornets, becoming the first driver with more than one feature win in this division. Chandler started in the number six slot in the  20-lap feature, was in fourth by the completion of the first lap. Chandler took the lead for keeps on lap six and the rest of the field jockeyed for position through the remaining laps.  Nathan Chandler finished second, Jim Hanson was third, pole-sitter Chuck Hanson was fourth, and current point leader Shane Hanson was fifth. Twenty cars started the feature, a season high.


The driving duo of Joe Lenz and Jake Shaw won the ten lap Two-Man Cruisers feature after battling Rob Miller and Mike McDonald in the latter stages of the event. The team of Quinton Embry/Matt Petrzelka was third followed by Mike Kim/Lee Rouse, and Jason Stout/James Tompkins. The race winners started outside row one.


Nathan Ballard and Duayne Herb battled up front for much of the 15-lap Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock Car feature with Ballard taking the lead from Herb for good with about three laps remaining. Ballard started in row four while Herb took the green from outside row one. Deb Mefford finished third from her second row starting slot and was chased to the checkers by point leader Scott Siems and Shaun Myers. The race was under caution twice.


The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature belonged to Dennis Hundley from start to finish as the pole-sitter outlasted Chad Siems and Kurt Bohnsack for the win. The last three laps saw the front three running nose-to-tail but neither of the challengers behind Hundley could make the high groove work to sustain a pass.  Cory Houdek was fourth followed to the stripe by Mark Bolton


Kevin Lee put his truck in Coca-Cola Victory Lane for the first time in quite some time, winning the Budweiser Mid-Am Sportsmen 12-lap feature.  Point leader Dave McCalla got off to a big lead early but the truck of Lee teamed up with Andy Duggan and ran down the leader with Lee taking the point with just one lap remaining. Duggan followed Lee taking second with McCalla finishing third. Brad Daugherty was fourth and Travis Thompson fifth.


Larry Clausen collected his third win of the season in Coors Light Modifieds and broke the tie for the points lead by finishing ahead of Tim Plummer. Clausen started outside the third row. Ryan Luedtke finished the 16-lap race in third, Arlo Becker finished fourth, and Tony Olson was fifth. Olson and Becker tangled early on in the race with Olson leading at the time.


Finally, Griffin McGrath led all forty trips around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile picking up the win in Miller Lite Late Models. The win was the second of the season for McGrath. The second place car of Johnny Spaw closed some ground in the last ten laps but finished 1.8 seconds behind McGrath.  Point leader Joey Gase finished third, Curt Van Der Wal was fourth in his first visit of the season, and Thor Anderson was fifth.


Racing continues Friday, July 17  as 100.7 “The Fox” presents Big Kids Helping Little Kids Night with racing in seven divisions.








HEAT 1- (previous winners) 1. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2.Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 5. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jasen freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 10. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA


HEAT 2- (non-feature winners) 1. Zach Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3.Steve Miedke; 4. Jeffrey Theobold, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jose DeJesus. Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. J.R. Dvorak; 8. Charles Evens, Cedar Rapids,IA; 9. Dakota Dains, Marion, IA; 10. Cory VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA


FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Brad Chandler 2. Nathan Chandler 3. Jim Hanson 4. Chuck Hanson 5. Shane Hanson 6. Dan Burhite 7. Brad Burhite 8. Brogan Fiala 9. Steve Miedke 10. Derek Parrott  11. Jeff Selfridge 12. Jose DeJesus 13. Jasen Freeman 14. Cory Van Der Wal 15. Jeffrey Theobold 16. Christian Grady 17. Dakota Dains 18. Charles Evens 19. Zach Burhite  20. J.R. Dvorak



FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Joe Lenz/Jake Shaw 2. Rob Miller/Mike McDonald 3. Quiten Embry/Matt Petrzelka 4. Mike Kim/Lee Rouse  5. Jason Stout/James Tompkins



HEAT 1- 1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 2. Roger LaCoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ron Dighton, Marion, IA; 5. Frank Auen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA


HEAT 2- Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 2. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA :3. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 4. Jeremy Robbins; 5. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE(15 laps)- 1. Ballard 2. Herb 3. Mefford 4. Siems 5. Myers 6. Floyd 7. Bohnsack 8. LaCoursiere 9. Robbins 10. Auen 11. Betzer DNS- Franks



HEAT 1- Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 3. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 4. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 5. JD Kennedy :6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 2- 1.Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 2. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Scooter Dulin, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 5. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE (20 laps) – 1. Hundley 2. Siems 3. Bohnsack 4. Houdek 5. Bolton 6. Hentrich 7. Ahrendsen 8. Ballstaedt 9. Beaty 10. Doolin DNS- Kennedy



HEAT- 1. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA : 2. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA 4. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 9. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE (16 laps) 1. Clausen 2. Plummer 3. Luedtke 4. Arlo Becker 5. Olson 6. Lindell 7. Carson 8. Aric Becker DNS- Bender



HEAT- 1. Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 3. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE ( 12 laps) 1. Lee 2. Duggan 3. McCalla 4. Daugherty 5. Thompson 6. Ahrendsen



HEAT 1- 1. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 2. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, IA; 4. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 5. Justin Jennings; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA


HEAT 2- 1. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 2. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brenton Thornton, Detroit, MI


FEATURE (40 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Spaw 3. Gase 4. VanDerWal 5. Anderson 6. Dvorak 7. Osborn 8. Jennings 9. Long 10. Siems 11. Ross DNS-Thornton