By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 07/06/07)— Sportsmen driver Dave McCalla of Cedar Rapids has arguably been the hottest driver on the track so far this season at Hawkeye Downs Speedway and Friday night’s “Budweiser Sportsmen 50” was business as usual for McCalla.


                McCalla set fast time during qualifying turning the Hawkeye Downs half-mile in 20.449 seconds (88.024 mph). Officials elected to invert the entire field based on qualifying, putting McCalla at the rear of a somewhat slim field of cars.


                Once the green dropped, McCalla needed only nine laps to go from last to first and barring anything unforeseen it was just a matter of how much or a margin of victory McCalla would rack up. That margin ended up being 4.579 seconds according to Timing and Scoring as McCalla racked up his sixth win of the season.


                The closest car to the winner was Brian Franks who started and finished in the second spot. Andy Duggan, who gained ground steadily on Franks as the laps ticked off, finished in third.


                In other half-mile action at ASA-Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway, Larry Clausen of Cedar Rapids out-paced defending champ Tim Plummer for the victory in the Miller Tim Modified Feature. Clausen started fourth and scooted into the lead on lap three and then survived a flurry of caution flags before collecting the checkers. Chad Willett crossed the stripe in third.


                Moving to the quarter-mile, Rodney Grother of Cedar Rapids took top honors in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature, collecting the win after starting in the seventh spot. Roland Bohnsach finished second and Ron Dighton was third.


                The Sunline Hornets held their Mid-Season Championship on Friday night and for most of the 20 lap feature it looked at though John Shroer of Marion would hit the Coors Light Start-Finish Line first. That is, until some slower traffic came into play and allowed Shaun Myers to slip into the lead on the final turn of the final lap. Schroer maintained second while Myers’ teammate and point leader coming into Friday night, Brian Beaty, finished in third.


                Arnie Reif and point leader Tony Olson each had leads at one point or another in the IMCA Sportmod feature with Reif taking the lead back from Olson with just two laps to go as Olson got a bit high exiting a turn. Ryan Luedtke finished third.


                The Hawkeye Downs Go-Karts were also on hand for another appearance with Tanner Allen, a nine year old from Springville winning the junior division. William Reiken of Marion celebrated his fifth wedding anniversary with a win in the senior division.


                Next Friday night, July 13, the Performance Concepts Late Models return joining the Miller Time Modifieds, Budweiser Sportsmen, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Sunline Hornets, and IMCA SportMods.








BUDWEISER SPORTSMEN (50 laps)- 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 3. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 4. Jeff Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 7. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA

FAST TIME- Dave McCalla  20.449  (88.024 mph)


MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS (25 laps)- 1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 3. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 4. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 5. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 6. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 8. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon


BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY IMCA HOBBY STOCKS (20 laps)- 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 3. Ron Dighton, Marion, IA; 4. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 7. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 8. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 9. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 10. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Steve Wilhelm, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA


SUNLINE HORNETS- 1. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. John Schroer, Marion, IA; 3. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 4. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Shawn Walker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 7. OT Guppy, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Robert Ford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA


IMCA SPORTMODS- 1. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 2. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 4. Brian Kauffman, Cedar Rapids, IA