By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  070601)—Brian Allen of Hiawatha outlasted and outdueled some of the best by winning the 3rd annual Miller Time Modified 50 at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night. The race is the longest of the season for the division.


            Allen started outside row two and seized the lead from Don Long on the sixth lap and had smooth sailing out front until defending champion and current point leader Mike Schulte caught him on lap 36.  A couple laps later Schulte tried to dive underneath Allen and ended up spinning and then was hit by the car of Mike Duffus.


            Allen, who also drives in the Aggregates Late Model Division, maintained a fairly comfortable lead on the restart before another accident took Trent Ross, Bob Gase, and John Troxel out of contention for the point. Arlo Becker found himself chasing Allen as the final laps ticked off but he was unable to make a serious bid for the lead as his tires went away over the last few laps. Keith Gogel finished in second with Becker in third. James Lamphier finished in fourth while Troxel was fifth.


            Brian Franks started on the pole in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature and that was all the incentive the rookie driver needed to win the race. Franks led wire-to-wire and despite a couple cautions that kept the field tightly bunched he was able to hold off Ron Fisher and JJ Meyer for the win. Martin Ballard finished fourth and John Henecke crossed the stripe in fifth.


            Franks’ other win came in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stock feature, where he used a bold outside move to wrestle the lead from Clint Houdek as the field charged toward the checkered flag. Derrick Griesehop finished third with something akin to a photo finish determining the next four positions in a four-wide finish. Doug Simon was fourth and Brad Dvorak fifth.


            The Aggregates Late Models ran a pair of  ‘Powerade 25’ features, which saw Greg Kastli and Doug Hite collecting wins. Kastli passed Art Christoffersen for the lead on the fifth trip around the “Downs half-mile after starting in the second row. Mike Ehde and Wade Prasil made a charge in the closing laps but couldn’t draw close enough to be a serious threat. Christoffersen finished in fourth and TJ Schaefer fifth in the first of the two Late Model features.


            Doug Hite led the second Late Model feature from start to finish but he had a mirror full of Jim Ross over the last ten laps. The race was halted for a multi-car crash on the front stretch with 11 laps to go before Hite was able to resume his charge to the checkers. Ross finished a very strong second with point leader Curt Martin in third, TJ Schaefer fourth, and Wade Prasil fifth.



3rd Annual Miller Time Modified 50

July 6, 2001


Feature (50 laps)

  1. Brian Allen, Hiawatha
  2. Keith Gogel, Solon
  3. Arlo Becker, Atkins
  4. James Lamphier, Urbana
  5. John Troxel, Cedar Rapids
  6. Don Long, Anamosa
  7. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids
  8. Trent Ross, Cedar Rapids
  9. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids
  10. Mike Schulte, Norway
  11. Mike Duffus, Newton
  12. Merv Chandler, Cedar rapids
  13. Jim Williams, Cedar Rapids
  14. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids
  15. Eric Lamphier, Marion
  16. David Novotny, Solon



Feature (25 laps)

  1. Brian Franks, Central City
  2. Ron Fisher, Shellsburg
  3. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids
  4. Martin Ballard. Marengo
  5. John Henecke, Hiawatha
  6. Dave Johnson, Ankeny
  7. Ross Kurth, Waukon
  8. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids
  9. Tom Burke, Nevada
  10. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids
  11. Andy Duggan, Marion
  12. Lyle Williams, Center Point
  13. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  14. Dan Zamastil, Fairfax
  15. Steve Kibort, Milan, IL
  16. Scot Johnson, Ankeny
  17. Bruce Scheff, Swisher
  18. Jason Vincent, Nevada
  19. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa
  20. Kevin Lee, Homestead
  21. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids



Feature (25 laps)

  1. Brian Franks, Central City
  2. Clint Houdek, Anamosa
  3. Derrick Griesehop, Mt. Vernon
  4. Doug Simon, Cedar Rapids
  5. Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon
  6. Jeff Franks, Rowley
  7. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids
  8. Roger Merta, Cedar Rapids
  9. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  10. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn
  11. Kurt Bohnsack, Coralville
  12. Scott Grady, Walker
  13. Jerry Meyerhoff, Cedar Rapids
  14. Randy Filling, Toddville
  15. Jeremy Crimmins, Ft. Dodge
  16. John Ness, Cedar Rapids
  17. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha
  18. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids
  19. Tink Willey, Cedar Rapids
  20. Tim Dains, Marion
  21. Brad Helle, Cedar Rapids
  22. Mike Brecht, Cedar Rapids
  23. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids
  24. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids


B Feature (8 laps)

  1. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier
  2. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids
  3. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids
  4. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids
  5. John Baker, Cedar Rapids



Feature #1 (25 laps)

  1. Greg Kastli, Waterloo
  2. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI
  3. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids
  4. Art Christoffersen, Robins
  5. TJ Schaefer, Solon
  6. Brian Gibson, Walford
  7. Curt Martin, Independence
  8. Randy Coghlan, Toddville
  9. Les Cady, Deer Grove, IL
  10. Larry Kelley, Cedar Rapids
  11. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids
  12. Doug Hite, Urbana
  13. Dave Naylor, Scotch Grove
  14. Scot Johnson, Ankeny
  15. Scott Delsing, Iowa City
  16. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf
  17. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins
  18. Lorin Kurth, Waukon
  19. Brian Allen, Hiawatha
  20. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids
  21. Dennis Gerst, Jesup
  22. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids


Feature #2 (25 laps)

  1. Doug Hite, Urbana
  2. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids
  3. Curt Martin, Independence
  4. TJ Schaefer, Solon
  5. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids
  6. Greg Kastli, Waterloo
  7. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI
  8. Larry Kelley, Cedar Rapids
  9. Les Cady, Deer Grove, IL
  10. Brian Gibson, Walford
  11. Dave Naylor, Scotch Grove
  12. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins
  13. Randy Coghlan, Toddville
  14. Lorin Kurth, Waukon
  15. Scott Delsing, Iowa City
  16. Dennis Gerst, Jesup
  17. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf
  18. Art Christoffersen, Robins
  19. Scot Johnson, Ankeny
  20. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids
  21. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids
  22. Brian Allen, Hiawatha