(Cedar Rapids, IA 07052013)—All six divisions of the Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series were back in action at Hawkeye Downs Speedway with the holiday weekend crowd enjoying some great racing.

            Matt Petrzelka racked up win number eight for the season in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature but not before he and two other cars found themselves at the back of the back as Kandi Floyd, Matt Lacoursiere, and Petrzelka got tangled up early in the race. Petrzelka came back through the pack quickly and wasted little time taking the lead and the win. Lacoursiere rallied for second and Floyd was third.

            Dave McCalla found himself having to work extra hard for the win for the second straight week in the 20-lap Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature which saw drivers running four wide and using every inch of track as the pack stampeded into turn two on lap four. McCalla, Brian Franks, Ben Glascock, and Cory Houdek were all in the thick of it until McCalla finally took command on lap eleven. Prior to that he found himself at the front, shuffled to the back, and then had to work his way back to the front in the space of eleven laps.

            Ben Glascock posted a strong second-place run with Brian Franks finishing third.

The car of Brian Franks was disqualified during post race. Official results and points have been updated accordingly

            Kyle Diercks picked up the Dublin City Pub Legends feature win, his first of the season. Diercks took the lead on lap four and was chased early by Jason Beaureard, Bryce Bailey, and Rod McGlothen with three wide racing prevelant through the pack. McGlothlen slipped around Diercks near the halfway mark but with ten laps to go Diercks took the point back with Austin Kunert following him by. Kunert exerted heavy pressure over the last five laps but Diercks was able to hold him off as the top of the order ran nearly nose-to-tail during the final three circuits

            Kunert finished in second behind Diercks with Tim Goettsch, McGlothlen, and Caleb Adrian filling out the top five.

            In Miller Time Modifieds, Ryan Luedtke led the first five trips around the half-mile before Tim Plummer pulled alongside and then powered into the lead on lap six to secure his sixth trip to victory lane this season. Luedtke was able to hold off a strong charge from Brian Gibson to finish second with Gibsopn settling for third. Ed O’Brien finished fourth and James Dixon was fifth.

            Todd Ness has been out in front in the Sunline Hornets point chase the past few weeks despite not winning a feature since May 17. Friday night he picked up his win of the 2013 campaign to help his cause. Dan Schmidt led early before surrendering the point to Ness on lap six . One lap later Kurt Bohnsack slipped around Ness to take the lead on lap seven with Ness slipping back a bit. By lap nine Ness was back on Bohnsack’s rear bumper and he re-took the point on the next lap.                      

            A couple laps past the halfway mark caution slowed the action and shuffled the pack a bit. On the restart Dan Schmidt outraced Bohnsack for second and while those two battled for the position Ness took advantage and started to pull away. With three laps to go Bohnsack cleared the second spot but Ness had built too big of a lead and Bohnsack was unable to run him down. Bohnsack finished second with Schmidt, Jose DeJesus, and Steve Woodrow all finishing in the top five.

            Finally, in Carpetland USA Late Models, Tim Plummer notched his first win of the season after recovering from a lap three seven spin that sent him to the rear. Andy Edwards led the first nine trips around the half-mile before Plummer stormed back through the pack and took command on lap ten.  The action slowed on lap sixteen when Jay Japers spun while trying to pass Andy Edwards. Jaspers recovered quickly and moved into second two laps after the restart but couldn’t catch Plummer over the remaining laps, settling fore second. Edwards was third with Scott and Chad Siems finishing fourth and fifth.

            Action resumes Friday, July 12 with all classes in action. Friday night is also the annual Lil Racer Car Club Great American Ice Cream Giveaway with all you can eat ice cream while it lasts.

Gates open at 6 with racing at 7:30pm.




Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series

JULY 5, 2013



HEAT- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2. (2)Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 5. (2x) Bob McCorkle, Marion; 6. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 7. (11) Brian Bries, Norway

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2.Lacoursiere 3.Sherman 4.Herb 5.Floyd 6. Bries 7. McCorkle



HEAT- 1. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 2. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 3. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. (88) Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids; 5. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2.Glascock 3.Franks 4. Houdek 5.Ahrendsen 6. Ballstaedt 7. Hentrich




HEAT 1- 1. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 2. (02) Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 3. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 4. (99m) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 5. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 6. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 7. (R8) Ross Davisson, Coralville DNS- Allen Diercks, Davenport

HEAT 2-1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 2. (74R) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 3. (10k) Johnny Kringas, Homer Glen, IL; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 6. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 7. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Kyle Diercks 2.Kunert 3. Goettsch 4. McGlothlen 5. Adrian 6. Kringas 7. Beauregard 8. Blake 9. Ironside 10. Allen Diercks 11. Mitchell 12. Dennis Diercks 13. Davisson 14. O’Brien 15. Bailey 16 Tim Payway



HEAT- 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway 3. (8)Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 4. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 6. (5) Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Luedtke 3. Gibson 4. O’Brien 5. Dixon 6. Bender



HEAT - 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City 2. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 3. (6) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (8R) Jeff Dvorak, Lisbon; 5. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 6. (59) Steve Woodrow, Marion 7. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 8. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 9. (14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ness 2. Bohnsack 3. Dan Schmidt 4. DeJesus 5. Woodrow 6. Hartman 7. Brad Schmidt 8. Scott 9. Dvorak



HEAT- 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (36) Andy Edwards, New Hartford; 3. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 4. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Jaspers 3. Edwards 4. Scott Siems 5. Chad Siems