Dvorak, Clausen, Meyer Visit Victory Lane Also


(Cedar Rapids, IA 063006)—Fairfax, Iowa teenager Landon Cassill hasn’t been around Hawkeye Downs much this season but when he has he’s made it count. Friday night was no exception as Cassill took the win in the Performance Concepts ’81 and the $3500 top prize that goes with it.


Cassill started in sixth, moved steadily through traffic and made what would be the winning pass on lap 34 as he scooted under Kyle Hinrichs of Swisher, IA. Cassill pulled away from the field with ease amassing a 5.7 second margin of victory over Brad Osborn of Janesville, IA.


Osborn elected to pit during a lap 50 caution and was considerably faster on the restart but by the time he had worked through traffic there weren’t enough laps left to put a dent in Cassill’s lead. Hinrichs finished in third with Jeff King of Cedar Rapids fourth, and Dan Lensing of Roscoe, IL was fifth.


JJ Meyer earned a trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane in just his second outing this season in the Budweiser Sportsmen division. Meyer started on the pole and wasn’t seriously challenged until the late stages of the race when last week’s winner Dave McCalla made a charge. Meyer edged McCalla, who started in second, by .107 seconds at the stripe. Brian Franks finished in third.


In the Miller Time Modifieds, Larry Clausen also won the victory hardware in just his second outing this season.  Clausen started up front and stayed there for the duration with his closest pursuer, Griffin McGrath, finishing nearly three-tenths of a second behind. Point leader Time Plummer finished third.


On the quarter-mile, defending Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Champion Brad Dvorak notched win number two on the season. Dvorak hadn’t visited victory lane since the first week of the season although he has posted strong finishes throughout. Kurt Bohnsack chased Dvorak for most of the race, finishing second.  Randy Filling finished in third after starting seventh/


The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature had a familiar look as Rodney Grother and Tim Dains ran away from the field. Those two have the balance of the feature wins in the division so far this season with Dains bringing home the checkers this round. Both drivers now have 4 wins each. Chad Vozenilek finished in third with Duayne Herb fourth and Gary Pfantz fifth.


The Sunline Hornets feature win went to Brian Beaty in the 701 Dodge Rampage. Beaty and Shawn Meyers have shared driving duties this season in that Hornet. Point leader Nathan Ballard finished second this time around with Derrick Beadle coming in third.




FEATURE (81 laps)

  1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax, IA; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 3. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, IA; 4. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 5. Dan Lensing, Roscoe, IL; 6. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids; 7. Andy Kluck, Little Chute, WI; 8. Danny Ouderkirk, Lawson, MO; 9. Chris Sevey, Waterloo, IA  DNS- Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (25 laps)

  1. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 4. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA

5. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 7. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 10. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 11. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE ( 25 laps)

  1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 4. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 5. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 6. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Rodney Rocarek, Mount Vernon, IA; 8. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Shawn Stinger, Palo,IA; 12. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, IA; 13. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 15. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 16. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE ( 20 laps)

  1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 3. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 6. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls; 8. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 9. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 10. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids, IA  DNS- Seth Thomas, Center Point



FEATURE (15 laps)

  1. Tim Dains, Marion; 2. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 3. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Duayne Herb, Marion; 5. Gary Pfantz, State Center; 6. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. Deb Mefford, Marion; 9. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 10. Joe Sprague, Independence; 11. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 12. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids; 13. Brandon Greene, Millersburg; 14. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (12 laps)

  1. Brian Beaty, Palo; 2. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 4. Jason Fawcett, Robins; 5. Brian Bries, Norway; 6. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 7. Connie Binder, Clutier; 8. Brad Fisher, Oxford; 9. Dan Vincent, Solon