By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/29/07)— Dudley Fleck, Dave McCalla, Chad Willet and Logan Hale were among the winners Friday night as Mike McGrath Auto Center presented the Mid-Season Championships at ASA Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway. If you add Tim Dains and Tony Olson to the mix all six divisions saw repeat winners at the halfway mark of the season.


Brad Osborn of Janesville came very close to besting Steve Carlson’s’ track record in Performance Concepts Late Model qualifying. Osborn turned a lap on the half-mile at 18.434 seconds which translates to a lap speed of 97.646mph. The current late model record, held by Steve Carlson of West Salem, WI., is 18.321 seconds.


In the 30 lap late model feature, Dudley Fleck used a row three start to take the lead on lap nine and then held off a late charge from Griffin McGrath to secure the win by .321 seconds. Griffin was racing in front of a host of employees, family and friends of Mike McGrath, his father.  Brad Osborn was third, Ken Reiser fourth, and Dan Lensing fifth.


Dave McCalla scored his fifth trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane and appears to be well on the way to a second straight championship in the Budweiser Sportsmen division. McCalla started outside the second row and took the lead on the third lap before pulling away from the pack as the laps ticked off. McCalla crossed the Coors Light Start-Finish Line 5.682 seconds ahead of his closest pursuer, Andy Duggan.  Mel Schappert posted a strong finish in third.


Chad Willet scored his fourth win of the 2007 campaign in the Miller Time Modifieds,  leading the entire race. Shawn Stinger ran a strong race finishing second with Arlo Becker in third. The race also featured a familiar looking battle as  Becker and defending champ Tim Plummer ran a side by side battle for several laps while the leaders were getting away from the pack.


Logan Hale notched his second win of the season in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Hale started up front and kept himself ahead of the pack which dwindled steadily throughout the race as mechanical problems forced some cars to the pits. Bob Ahrendsen finished second with Chad Siems scored in third.


In the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Tim Dains collected the checkered flag after snaring the lead from Rodney Grother on lap eight. The division continues to showcase close-quarters racing which was prevalent throughout the seventeen car field.  Grother finished second while Dennis Klinsky was third.


The IMCA Sportmods were also in action Friday night and a familiar face landed in Victory Lane once again. Tony Olson of Cedar Rapids scored the win after wrestling the lead away from Brian Kauffman with just five laps to go. Ryan Luedtke made a last lap charge for the lead but ended up spinning and finished fifth.  Kauffman maintained second while Arnie Reif was third.







IMCA Sportmod

1. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brian Kauffman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 4. Rod McDonald ; 5. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock

1. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 2. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 4. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 11. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. Scott Benesh, Newhall, IA; 16.Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 17. Steve Wilhelm, Cedar Rapids, IA


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car

1. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 4. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 5. Norman Chesmore, Rowley, IA; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 7. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 8. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 9. Brad Daugherty, Palo, IA; 10. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA


Miller Time Modifieds

1. Chad Willet, Alburnett, IA; 2. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 3. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon, IA; 7. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Steve Stinger, Palo, IA; 9. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA


Budweiser Sportsmen

1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 3. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 5. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Tom Burke, Ames, IA; 8. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 9. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA; 10. Mark Hauder, Dubuque, IA; 11. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA


Performance Concepts Late Models

1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 4. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 5. Dan Lensing, Roscoe, IL; 6. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, IA; 7. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 8. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, IA; 9. Trevor Millikan, Pacific Junction, IA; 10. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA


Fast Time- 18.434 (97.646mph)  Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA