JUNE 28, 2013

(Cedar Rapids, IA 06/28/2013)—Griffin McGrath picked up a pair of Carpetland USA Late Model wins at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night as the Hawkeye Labor Council, in association with The United Way presented Union Night.

In the first late model feature, which was a make-up feature from June 21, McGrath held off a late charge from Tim Plummer after taking the lead from Jay Jaspers one lap shy of the halfway mark of the scheduled thirty lapper. Brad Osborn led the first ten circuits before surrendering the point to Jaspers on Lap eleven. The win was the fifth of the season for McGrath.  Plummer finished second and Jaspers maintained third to the checkered flag.

The second 30-lap late model feature saw McGrath score a much easier win after taking the lead from Jay Jaspers on lap three. McGrath quickly left the pack behind and the field spread out with Jaspers remaining in second and Tim Plummer chasing in third. The order remained the same through the balance of the race with McGrath ultimately picking up his sixth trip to victory lane.

In other Hy Vee/ I-Wireless Championship Series action, young Austin Kunert gave Bryce Bailey all he could handle in the 30-lap Dublin City Pub Legends feature. Matt Blake commanded the first eleven trips around the Hawkeye Downs quarter-mile before Bailey slid by to take the point. With ten laps to go Bailey had a fairly comfortable lead over Matt Blake but over the last five laps things changed rapidly and thirteen year old Austin Kunert slipped around Caleb Adrian and Matt Blake to move into second. Kunert quickly caught Bailey with the duo running nose-to-tail on the white flag lap. Kunert made one last attempt at the point exiting turn four on the final lap but Bailey had just enough to hold off the youngster. Tim Goettsch finished third.

The Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature had an exciting climax as Dave McCalla and Cory Houdek battled over the final lap with the pair coming out of turn four on the final lap side-by-side almost sideways as they crossed the stripe for the final time. McCalla won by the width of the front bumper in a near photo finish. Houdek had the lead early but once McCalla cleared a couple cars in front of him he began to cut into Houdeks margin. By the halfway mark, McCalla was mounting a challenge for the lead and with six laps remaining he secured the point with Ben Glascock trying to follow him by Houdek. With three laps to go Houdek secured the point again only to surrender it back to McCalla on the white flag lap. Houdek tried a last ditch effort on the final lap but as previously mentioned McCalla was able to edge out the exciting win. Glascock finished third.

Tim Plummer added to his win total in Miller Time Modifieds, racking up his fifth win of the season. Plummer took the lead from Craig Bender on lap five and left the field behind as Bender, Brian Gibson, Ryan Luedtke, and Mike Schulte gave chase. Gibson appeared to have the fastest car in that pack but by the time he worked into second Plummer was long gone. Gibson was able to cut into the lead a bit over the final laps but Plummer had too big of a cushion and easily secured the win. Mike Schulte finished third.

It was business as usual for Matt Petrzelka in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks as he emerged from a three car battle for the point on lap four and motored away from the rest of his competitors. Petrzelka has won every feature and nearly every heat raced he has raced in so far this season. Jason Sherman posted a strong second place run and Matt Lacoursiere was third.

The Sunline Hornets ran an action packed first few laps with Zach Hartman and Jose DeJesus leading laps early while the field sorted itself out. Brad Chandler, driving the car normally driven by Jeff Dvorak, slipped into the lead on lap five an tried to get away from the field but Kurt Bohnsack had other ideas. Bohnsack took control of the second spot on lap eleven and closed rapidly on Chandler. With two laps to go the margin was down to a couple car lengths and Bohnsack planted himself on Chandler’s rear bumper in the final two turns but couldn’t rally a challenge for the lead. Todd Ness passed DeJesus on the final lap to take third behind Bohnsack.

Racing resumes next Friday night, July 5 with all six divisions once again in action.




HEAT- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 4. (2x) Bob McCorkle, Marion; 5. (11) Brian Bries, Norway

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2. Sherman 3.Lacoursiere 4.McCorkle 5. Bries



HEAT- 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. (8R) Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (6) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 5. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 6.(59) Steve Woodrow, Marion; 7. (14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 8. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Chandler 2. Bohnsack 3.Ness 4.DeJesus 5.Dan Schmidt 6. Woodrow 7. Hartman 8.  Brad Schmidt




HEAT 1- 1. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 2. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport, IA; 3. (74R) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 4. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 6. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 7. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 8. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa

HEAT 2-1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 2. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 3. (02) Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 4. (86) Gary Dyer, Bettendorf; 5. (R8) Ross Davisson, Coralville; 6. (64) Jordan Walker, Cedar Rapids; 7. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Allen Diercks, Bettendorf

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Bailey 2. Kunert 3. Goettsch 4. Kyle Diercks 5. Blake 6. Adrian 7. Dennis Diercks 8. McGlothlen 9. Lehmkuhl 10. Ironside 11. Mitchell 12. Allen Diercks 13. Dyer 14. Davisson 15. O’Brien 16. Walker 17. Beauregard



HEAT- 1. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 2. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 3. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. (88) Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids; 5. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Houdek 3. Glascock 4. Ahrendsen 5. Franks 6. Ballstaedy 7. Hentrich



HEAT- 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 3. (99) Mike Schulte. Norway; 4. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 5.(2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 6. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 7. (5) Ed Obrien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Gibson 3. Schulte 4. Bender 5. Luedtke 6. O’Brien 7. Dixon



6/21 MAKE-UP FEATURE (30 laps) 1. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 4. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 7. (36) Andy Edwards, New Hartford; DNS- (4) Thor Anderson, Bonuraunt

6/28 FEATURE (30 laps ) 1. McGrath 2. Jaspers 3. Plummer 4. Edwards 5. Scott Siems 6. Osborn 7. Chad Siems