(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/27/08)— Racing returned to Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night,  June 27 after a two week layoff because of flooding in the Cedar Rapids area. All seven divisions were in action for Zimmerman Ford Mid-Season Championships.


                Current point leader Jim Hanson bagged his second consecutive win of the season in the Sunline Hornets after starting shotgun on the 18 car field. Derek Parrott finished second after starting mid-pack.  He was chased to the stripe by Shane Hanson,  Jonny Williams, and Blake Carson.


                Scott Kozitsky grabbed the checkers in the IMCA Sportmod feature after also winning his heat earlier. Kozitsky started on the point and  never trailed before collecting his first win. Arnie Reif finished second while current point leader Ryan Luedtke finished third. Kozitsky is the fifth different winner this season in the division.


                Roland Bohnsack earned his second trip of the season to Victory Lane in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. The only other driver to win a feature in the division, Gary Pfantz,  finished second and continues to hold the point lead in the division. Ed O’Brien finished third followed by Dennis Klinsky and Duayne Herb.


                Brian Franks scored his first win of the season in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Franks started inside the second row, quickly took the lead and never trailed. Point leader Kurt Bohnsack finished second while Rookie of the Year contender Dave Ballstaedt was third.  Bob Ahrendsen and Greg Hentrich filled out the top of the order.


                Moving to the half-mile, after finishing second in his first appearance of the season, Mike Schulte brought home the checkers in the Coors Light Modifieds feature. Schulte’s nephew and current point leader Tim Plummer finished a distant second while Tony Olson continued his impressive season by finishing third. Larry Clausen finished fourth and Andy Huston was fifth.


                The rains came just as the Budweiser Sportsmen were ready to take the green flag as Hawkeye Downs was on the edge of a passing thunderstorm. After consulting the radar and checking with local weather forecasters, officials opted to wait out the passing storm and racing was back underway after an approximately two-hour delay.


                For the fans that stuck it out, they were treated to a fantastic Budweiser Sportsmen feature event. There were at least nine lead changes over the course of the race with Michael Weber and Kevin Lee swapping the lead early and then later it was Weber and point leader Dave McCalla running side-by-side for several laps before Weber took the checkers by just 44 one-thousanths of a second according to Hawkeye Downs transponder Timing and Scoring.


Kevin Lee rallied for third after he and Weber made contact earlier in the race while battling for the lead. Lee recovered from the spin without drawing a caution and moved back through the field for the third place finish Mel Schappert was fourth and rookie Andy Edwards finished fifth.


After setting fast time earlier in the evening,  Steve Carlson picked up his third win of the season in Miller Lit Late Models. Carlson turned a lap of  18.789 in qualifying and started  in the third row of the forty lap feature.


The win wasn’t quite as easy as it sounds though as Curt Van Der Wal held Carlson at bay for much of the race before his handling seemed to go away a bit after a caution with fourteen laps to go. Carlson was able to duck under VanDerWal with a dozen laps remaining and he motored into the lead and on to   a 1.1 second victory over VanDerWal. Dudley Fleck finished third, Johnny Spaw was fourth and Brad Dvorak crossed the stripe in fifth.


The racers have July 4th off and return to action on July 11.







Heat 1- 1. Derek Parrott, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 3. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Greg Wilhelmi 5. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Steve Dighton; 8. Cory VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 9. James Jensen

Heat 2- 1. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids,IA; 3. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jason Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brogan Fiala, Fairfax, IA; 7. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Jim Hanson; 2. Parrott; 3. Shane Hanson; 4. Williams; 5. Carson; 6. Merv Chandler; 7. Wilhelmi; 8. Jensen; 9. Nathan Chandler; 10. VanDerWal; 11. Fiala; 12. Dighton; 13. Freeman; 14. DeJesus; 15. Brad Chandler; 16. Burhite; 17. Selfridge



Heat- 1. Scott Kozitsky; 2. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 4. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 5. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Kozitsky; 2. Reif; 3. Luedtke; 4. Huff; 5. Grady; 6. Becker



Heat- 1. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 2. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 7. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Scott Benesh, Newhall, IA; 9. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA

FEATURE  1. Bohnsack; 2. Pfantz; 3. O’Brien; 4. Klinsky; 5. Herb; 6. Floyd; 7. Siems; 8. Benesh; 9. Benesh (DNS) 10. Mefford (DNS)



Heat – 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 5. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 7. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA; 8. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 9. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 11. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE 1. Franks; 2. Bohnsack; 3. Ballstaedt; 4. Ahrendsen; 5. Hentrich; 6. Beatty; 7. Filling; 8. Bolton; 9. Siems; 10. Grother; 11. Hundley



FEATURE- 1. Mike Schulte, Norway, IA; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 3. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Andy Huston; 6. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 8. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 9. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE- 1. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 2. Dave Mccalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Andy Edwards, New Hartford, IA; 6. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 7. Brad Daugherty 8. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 9. Scotty Welsh, Marion, IA; 10. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA (DNS)



FEATURE- 1. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI; 2. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, IA; 3. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 6. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 7. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA; 8. Joey gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Nick Greif, Monticello, IA; 10. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 11. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA