(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/26/09)— After a two-week layoff due to weather,  racing resumed at a hot and steamy Hawkeye Downs Speedway with “ Yellowbook Mid-Season Championships” on Friday night, June 26. The non-IMCA Sanctioned classes raced for double points with the Miller Lite Late Models running two features-The first for regular points and the second for double-points in the Papa Johns Pizza/I-Wireless Championship Cup chase..


            Joey Gase of Cedar Rapids nabbed his first career Miller Lite Late Model Feature win as he took the checkers in the first feature. That event was shortened due to a number of cautions, including a red-flag when Ron Boelts crashed hard into the turn-one foam barrier and wall requiring an extensive clan-up.


            Gase started inside row four and took the lead on .lap 10 enroute to his first win. Jim Ross, Johnny Spaw, Isaak Owen, and Griffin McGrath filled out the top of the order.


            Johnny Spaw took top honors in the second 25-lap feature earning double-points for the win. Tim Plummer came on strong in the final laps finishing just .029 seconds behind Spaw. The multi-time track champion Spaw grabbed the lead at the drop of the green from outside row one, survived a couple cautions and never faced a serious challenge until Plummer moved into second with four laps remaining. Brad Osborn, Thor Anderson, and Jim Ross also posted top-five finishes.


            The Budweiser Sportsmen and Coors Light Modifieds ran a combined feature after running separate heat races. The feature results were scored separately for each division with double points again awarded in each feature.


            Arlo Becker picked up his first feature win of the season in the Coors Light Modifieds as he posted a .338 second winning margin over defending champion Tim Plummer. Point leader Larry Clausen finished third with Ryan Luedtke and Tony Olson also in the top five. Becker started from inside row three.


            In Budweiser Sportsmen, Andy Duggan crossed the finish line first, finishing ahead of point leader Dave McCalla after starting on the pole. Kevin Lee finished third in his start of 2009 followed by Brad Daugherty who was also making his first appearance of the season. Bob Ahrendsen was fifth.


            Scott Kositzky rang up his third victory of 2009 in the IMCA Northern SportMod feature. Kositzky led all 15 laps of the feature which saw Tim Dains finishing second, Blake Carson, third; Ken Kositzky, fourth; and Dave Coghlan, fifth.


            Iowa City driver Kurt Bohnsack scored the win in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature after starting on the point. He was challenged briefly after a lap three caution but was able to hold off Bob Ahrendsen to secure the win and maintain his points lead.The win was the first of the season for Bohnsack. As mentioned, Ahrendsen finished second and was followed to the stripe by Cory Houdek, Dave Ballstaedt, and Greg Hentrich.


            Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock point leader Scott Siems scored his second  feature win of the season, taking advantage of a front row start alongside Nathan Ballard. The excessive heat made the tight quarter-mile a bit slick but Ballard prevailed for second. Jeff Franks scored third after starting outside row four. Roland Bohnsack was fourth while Dave McCalla came in fifth in a car normally driven by Shaun Myers.


            Finally, the Sunline Hornets feature was all Jasen Freeman as he collected the checkers ahead of Brad Burhite despite a couple restarts. The last caution came with nine laps remaining but Freeman quickly pulled away again and maintained a somewhat comfortable margin as the last laps ticked off. Brad Burhite did finish second with Nathan Chandler, Jim Hanson, and Shane Hanson all in the top five.




FEATURE #1 – 1. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Isaak Owen, Lacrosse, WI; 5. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Shawn Fladager, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 8. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Justin Jennings; 10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 12. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 13. Lane Brendan, Mitchell, SD; 14. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA; 15. Logan hale, Cedar Rapids, IA


FEATURE #2- 1. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 3. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 4. thor Anderson, Bondaraunt, IA; 5. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Issak Owen, LaCrosse, WI; 7. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Shawn Fladager, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA  DNS- Griffin McGrath, Ron Boelts, Justin Jennings, Lane Brendan



HEAT- 1. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapida, IA; 3. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 4. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 5. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA

FEATURE- 1. Duggan 2. McCalla 3. Lee 4. Daugherty 5. Ahrendsen 6. Thompson 7. Weber



Heat- 1. Aric becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 6. Larry Calusen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 8. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA

FEATURE- 1. Arlo Becker 2. Plummer 3. Clausen  4. Luedtke  5. Olson 6. Aric Becker 7. Bender 8. Lindell



FEATURE- 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 4. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 6. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 8. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 10. Mike Galli; 11. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. scotter Duline, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE- 1. scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 3. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 4. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 5. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jeremy Robbins; 9. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA 10. Roger LaCoursiere, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Frank Auen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Gerald Hall; 15. Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA



FEATURE- 1. Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 3. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ken kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Dave Coghlan, Marion, IA; 6. Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids,IA; 8. Mike Dains, Mechanicsville, IA; DNS- Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA



HEAT 1- 1. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA; 5. Derek Parrott, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Chuck Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brogan Fiala, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA 5. Zach Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jose deJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Fred Mains, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Charles Evens; 9. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE- 1. Freeman 2. Brad Burhite 3. Nathan Chandler 4. Jim Hanson 5. Shane Hanson 6. Chuck Hanson 7. Selfridge 8. Parrott 9. Fiala 10. Dallas Chandler  11. Bailey  12. Zach Burhite 13. Merv Chandler 14. Mains 15. Evens  16. DeJesus  17. Grady