(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/25/04)—The 32nd annual running of the Keith Fleck Miller 100 will be a memorable one in many ways. Charlie Menard of Eau Claire, WI led a barrage of drivers that shattered the previous Pavement Late Model record at Hawkeye Downs by a substantial margin. Menard turned the ‘Downs half-mile in 18.302 seconds, besting the previous record of 19.047 which was held by  former Miller 100 winner Steve Carlson of West Salem. WI.


            When qualifying for the MARS Late Models was complete 19 of the 21 drivers who timed had beat the previous record on a night when conditions were right for making good horsepower and keeping the cars stuck to the track.


            Menard drew a six, which meant that the top 14 cars would be inverted by time for the 100-lap Miller 100. That put Menard, who is the nephew of IRL team owner and home improvement supply mogul, John Menard, in the seventh row for the start of the 100 lapper.


            The Miller 100’s namesake, Keith Fleck, gave the command to start engines for the annual race for Charity. This year proceeds will benefit the American Cancer Society in honor of Doris Fleck.


            Menard moved steadily though the field and found himself in third place by lap 15 and up to second before 20 laps were in the books. He used a nifty high side move to secure the lead for good on lap 22, passing Dean Cornelius, a Bloomington, MN drive.


            Menard was never seriously challenged during the balance of the race although he did have to hold off Justin Diercks of Davenport, series point leader Jeff Van Oudenhoven of Kimberly, WI and Carlson as he maneuvered through lapped traffic.


            Before collecting the checkers and the $2,000 payday Menard succeeded in lapping all but 6 cars of the 22 car field.


            “It was just a great night, “ Menard stating during a victory lane interview. “We had a great car and I really believed we could do this. The car stuck real well”


            Diercks, Carlson, Van Oudenhoven, and Johnny Spaw of Cedar Rapids made up the rest of the top five. Spaw started the feature in fifth.


            Also on the card Friday night was the second appearance of the season for the Yellowbook Mid-American Super Trucks. Jamie Farrell of New Prague, MN., took top honors in qualifying with a lap of 20.050 seconds.


            Kevin Korsmo of Atkins, who runs his familiar orange #16 truck  with the Hawkeye Downs Late Model Sportsmen division, started dead last in the 11 truck field. Korsmo picked his way through the pack and with 11 laps in the books was nearly halfway through the field, riding in fifth. Korsmo found himself on the tailgate of leader John Vig, Jr. of Shakopee, MN after a spin on lap 17 eliminated the two trucks separating Vig and Korsmo.


            Korsmo spend the next ten laps on Vig’s bumper before executing an outside move to secure the lead. Korsmo motored away from the field in the closing laps of the 40-lap feature event  Donnie Woller of Merrill, WI finished in second with Farrell third, Bill Prietzel of Franklin, WI fourth, and Vig, Jr. winding up fifth.


            Korsmo said of Vig,” John is an awfully talented driver. I wanted to get by him on the bottom, but I thought, If I’m going to win this thing, I need to do it now.”


            Tim Plummer of Norway made some history of his own Friday night winning his first half-mile feature in the Miller Time Modified division. Plummer, started the 20-lap feature in third and  took command of the field on the fourth lap. He kept himself a safe distance from  the 2nd place car Larry Clausen for the balance of the event before collecting his first half-mile checkers. Arlo Becker, who has a habit of running strong in Miller 100 races finished in third, Max Corporon was fourth, and Rodney Rocarek finished fifth.


            The Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks were also in action Friday night with Cedar Rapids driver Bob Ahrendsen picking up his third win of the season. Ahrendsen has dominated the division in the first half of the season winning 3 of the 4 events run to date. Ahrendsen  started the 25-lap feature in the fourth slot and took the point on lap 8 after battling with Jim Hanson. Finishing second was Hanson, while Dave McCalla was third.



Fast Qualifier- Charlie Menard, Eau Claire, WI  18.302 (New track record)

Heat 1-Steve Rubeck, Cherry Valley, IL

Heat 2- Trent Snyder, Ironton, MN

Heat 3- Menard

FEATURE (100 laps) 1. Menard; 2. Justin Diercks, Davenport, IA; 3. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI; 4. Jeff Van Oudenhoven; 5. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 6. Ryan Manthei, Green Bay, WI; 7. Dean Cornelius, Blommington, MN; 8. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids; 9. Kirby Kurth, Wisconsin Rapids, WI; 10. Rubeck; 11. Brian Johnson, South Beloit, WI; 12. Landon Cassill, Fairfax, IA; 13. Snyder; 14.Kyle Hinrichs, swisher, IA; 15. Tony Bagstad, Cashton, WI; 16. Blake Bjorkland, Isanti, MN; 17. Ken Reiser Waukon, IA; 18.Dexter Bean, Westby, WI; 19. Todd Stapleman; 20. Gary Mueller, Chisago City, MN; 21.Chris Grimes, Green Bay, WI; 22. Steve Schultz, Elko, MN



Fast Qualifier- Jamie Farrell, New Prague, MN

Heat 1- Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

Heat 2- John Vig, Jr., Shakopee, MN

FEATURE (40 laps) 1. Korsmo; 2. Donnie Woller, Merrill, WI; 3. Farrell; 4. Bill Prietzel, Fanklin, WI; 5. John Vig, Jr.; 6. Tony Holm, Prior Lake, MN; 7. John Froelich, Chippewa Falls, WI; 8. Anthony Brewer, Shakopee, MN; 9. Gary Fredrickson, Northfield, MN; 10. Dominick Brewer, Shakopee, MN; 11. Art Christoffersen, Toddville, IA; DNS-Vince Wilksinson, Sandwich, IL; DNS-Kyle Bauknecht, Reedsville, WI



Heat 1- Max Corporon, Marion

Heat 2- Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 2. Clausen; 3. Arlo Becker, Atkins; 4. Corporon; 5. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 6. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 7. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 8. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 9. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids; 10. John Baker, Cedar Rapids; 11. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids DNS-Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Kevin lee, Homestead



Heat 1- Jim hanson, Cedar Rapids

Heat 2- Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Hanson; 3. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids; 5. Scott; 6. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 7. Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon; 8. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 9. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 10. Doug Simon, Marion; 11. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 12. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 13. Scott Beauregard, Center Point; 14. Cory Houdek, Anamosa; 15. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 16. Jason Block, Mt. Vernon; 17. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 18. Randy Filling, Toddville