(Cedar Rapids, IA  062306)—Hawkeye Downs Speedway marked the halfway point of the season Friday night with a features only program to determine midseason champions in all divisions.


                The format for Zimmerman Ford/Mediacom Mid Season Championships saw the top 6 or 7 drivers on the points chart draw playing cards to determine their starting slot. The rest of the field was gridded straight up behind them according to points.


                In Performance Concepts Late Models, Landon Cassill returned to Coca-Cola Victory Lane in his first appearance at Hawkeye Downs in several weeks. Casill elected to start near the rear of the field and steadily worked through the pack. At the same time, Brad Osborn was building a sizable lead.


Once Cassill cleared the field he started cutting into Osborn’s lead and by lap 20 was in a position to challenge for the win.  Osborn bobbled a bit on the very next lap and Cassill bolted into the lead and motored on to the win.  Osborn finished second and Kyle Hinrichs, who was riding a three-win streak, finished third.  That finish was enough for Hinrichs to maintain his points lead and be the official mid-season points champion.


Arlo Becker posted a winning run in the Miller Time Modifieds, holding off Chad Willet  and Tim Plummer for the win. Becker started outside the first row and led the entire race.  Willet and Plummer ran a spirited race for second with Willet holding the spot at the stripe. Plummer, who was the points leader coming into the program, finished third which was enough to earn him the mid-season points title.


Dave McCalla dominated the Budweiser Sportsmen feature posting  over a five second margin of victory over Curt VanDerWal . McCalla, who was tied with Andy Duggan for the points lead,  took the lead from Duggan on lap six of the 30-lap feature and then proceeded to drive away from the field, earning the win and the mid-season title.


VanDerWal, driving a car owned by Gene Peterson, finished second after starting deep in the field. Duggan finished third.


On the quarter-mile, Chad Siems earned his second win of the season in the Barron  Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car division. Siems started on the point and ran the last half of the race with Bob Ahrendsen seemingly glued to his rear bumper but was able to hold off Ahrendsen was the win. Logan Hale recovered from an earlier caution to finish a strong third.


Bob Ahrendsen won the mid-season points championship in the IMCA Stock Car division.


Tim Dains and Rodney Grother continued their season long battle in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks division with  Dains winning this round and Grother finishing second. Those two drivers have won all but one of the features run so far this season. Gary Pfantz finished third.

Rodney Grother held a nine point cushion coming into Friday night so he earned honors as mid-season points champion.


Nathan Ballard earned two pieces of hardware in the Sunline Hornets Friday night as he won both the feature and the mid-season points title. Ballard drew the pole for the 15 lap feature and then held off Shawn Myers at the stripe for the win. Myers started eighth but had to settle for second as he couldn’t quite make the winning pass on the last lap. Derrick Beadle finished third.


Racing resumes Friday night, June 30 with an 81 lap feature for the Performance Concepts Late Models and Fireworks highlighting the program.







FEATURE (30laps)

  1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 4. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 5. Billy Bennett, Hiawatha; 6. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 7. Craig Roberts, Des Moines; 8. Chris Sevey, Waterloo



FEATURE (30 laps)

  1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa; 3. Andy Duggan, Marion; 4. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 5. Brian Franks, Central City; 6. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 7. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids; 8. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 9. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 10. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 11. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 12. Mark Hauder,Dubuque; 13. Ben Glascock, Indianola; 14. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (30 laps)

  1. Arlo Becker, Norway; 2. Chad Willet, Alburnett; 3. Tim Plummer, Norway; 4. Rodney Rocarek; 5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 6. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 8. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 9. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 10. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 12. Steve Lindell, Marion; 13. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 14. Griffin McGrath 



FEATURE ( 25 laps)

  1. Chad Siems, Marion; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 4. Randy Filling, Toddville; 5. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 6. Dennis Hundley, Center Point; 7. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 8. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 9. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls; 10. Terry Clayton, Brooklyn; 11. Seth Thomas, Center Point; 12. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE ( 20 laps)

  1. Tim Dains, Marion; 2. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 3. Gary Pfantz, State Center; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. Duayne Herb, Marion; 6. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. Deb Mefford,  Marion; 8. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 9. Jereny Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 10. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids; 11. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 12. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids; 13. Joe Sprague, Independence; 14. Barb Davis, Cedar Rapids; 15. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids  DNS- Dennis Klinsky, Ely



FEATURE (15 laps)

  1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Shawn Myers,Cedar Rapids; 3. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 4. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 5. Dan Vincent, Solon; 6. Gary Moorman, Beaman; 7. Corey Depew, Key west, FL; 8. Brad Fisher, Oxford; 9. Connie Binder, Clutier; 10. Brian Bries, Norway