By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 06/20/03)—Brian Allen won the 50-lap “Elite Lawn/All Clear Modified 50” at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night. In the interest of competition, the race was broken into two 25-lap segments with a five minute break in between segments.


            Allen found himself in the lead on lap 33 after leader Arlo Becker and challenger Max Corporon collided in turn two sending Allen into the lead. The three had waged a tight battle for the lead during the second segment of the race. Rookie Shawn Stinger finished second, 1.071 seconds behind Allen. Bob Gase, Larry Clausen and Kyle Hinrichs all finished in the top five.


            The starting grid was based on two-lap time trials utilizing the Alliant Energy transponder Timing and Scoring System.


The Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars were back for the third time this season and Doug Simon was once again unstoppable in the 15-lap feature. Simon started at the back of the field and took the lead with just 3 laps remaining. Ronnie Godwin finished second, Larry Silbaugh third, Norman Chesmore fourth and Chad Siems fifth.



            Johnny Spaw picked up his first trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane on Friday night easily outdistancing the Performance Concepts Late Models field. Spaw started inside row three and then moved to the outside groove before collecting the lead  on lap seven. Spaw’s margin of victory was 9.436 seconds as Denny Osborn, Mike Ehde, Jim Ross and Jeff King completed the top of the order.


            In other ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car action, Curt Van Der Wal chalked up victory number three for 2003 in winning the 30-lap Budweiser Late Models Sportsmen feature.  Despite what Van Der Wal referred to as a “bad handling race car” he finished 1.128 second ahead of Scott Wennermark. Wennermark did put a sizable dent in Van Der Wal’s lead in the closing laps but couldn’t draw close enough tp pose a threat. John Henecke finished third with Craig Bender fourth and Johnny Mudd, fifth.


            Brian Helle collected the checkers in another caution free Barron Motor Supply Super Stock feature. The race saw cars running four wide in the corners at times. Bob Ahrendsen mounted a serous challenge for the lead with six laps to go but apparently cut a tire while battling for the point. Arnie Reif nabbed second with Jayson Scott, Scott Grady and Kurt Bohnsack all finishing in the top five. Helle’s margin of victory was .393 seconds.


            The regular divisions have the night off Friday night, June 27 as the O’Reilly Auto Parts presents Winged Outlaw Sprint Cars along with the Mid-American Super Trucks, NAMRA Formula Indy’s, Stock Car Classics and IMCA Stock Cars.


Results for June 20, 2003


Performance Concepts Late Models
30 Lap Feature

1.  Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

2. Denny Osborn, Janesville

3. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

4. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

5. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

6. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

7. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

8. Brian Gibson, Walford

9. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

10. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

11. Lorin Kurth, Waukon

12. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids

13. Dennis Gerst, Jesup

14. Brad Osborn, Janesville

15. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

16. Matt Lundberg, West Des Moines


Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks
30 Lap Feature

1. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

2. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

3. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

4. Scott Grady, Walker

5. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

6. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

7. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

8. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

9. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

10. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

11. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

12. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

13. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

14. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

15. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

16. Tink Willey, Marion

17. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

18. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

19. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

20. Jeff Franks, Rowley

21. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

22. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids


Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen
30 Lap Feature

1. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

2. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

3. John Henecke, Hiawatha

4. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

5. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

6. Martin Ballard, Marengo

7. Brian Franks, Central City

8. Andy Duggan, Marion

9. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

10. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

11. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

12. Leonard Fevold, Oxford

13. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

14. Lyle Williams, Center Point

15. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids

DNS  Jason Beauregard

DNS  Bob Hosier


50 Lap Feature

1. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

2. Shawn Stinger, Palo

3. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

5. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

6. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids

7. Jim Williams, Atkins

8. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

9. Arlo Becker, Atkins

10. John Baker, Cedar Rapids

11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

12. Max Corporon, Marion




15 Lap Feature

1. Doug Simon, Marion

2. Ronnie Godwin, Earlham

3. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson

4. Norman Chesmore

5. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

6. Cliff Gray, Waterloo