(Cedar Rapids, IA 06/18/04)—Marengo, Iowa driver Martin Ballard picked up his first career win in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division at Hawkeye Downs on Friday night. The former Super Stock driver has been in the Sportsmen division for several years and finally earned a trip to Coca-Cola Victory lane on Landstar safety night.


            Ballard crossed the stripe nearly a half-second ahead of Andy Duggan of Marion. Kevin Korsmo piloted his sportsmen -division -legal truck to a third place finish in the 20 lap feature.


            Denny Osborn of Janesville posted a wire to wire win in the 20 lap Performance Concepts Late Model feature edging out son Brad Osborn for the win. The two battled hard and at one point nearly spun as son traded paint with Dad trying for the lead. The elder Osborn was able to gather the car back up and motor to the win. Point leader Chris Sevey finished in third.


            Bob Gase, defending Miller Time Modified champ, went through the entire 2003 season without winning a feature but claimed the title thanks to consistent high finishes. Gase, of Cedar Rapids, staked a claim for the 2004 title by collected the feature win on Friday night. Tim Plummer gave Gase all he could handle but hand to settle for second in the 20-lap feature for the open wheel cars. Arlo Becker crossed the stripe in third.


            Bob Ahrendsen picked up his second checkers of the season in the 25-lap Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks feature. Ahrendsen shot into the lead following a lap 14 caution and then held off Paul Walder for the win. Jim Hanson crossed the line in third.


            The IMCA Hobby Stocks, boasting another full field of cars, put on another great race on the quarter-mile. Matt Poduska of Center Point motored through lapped traffic in the closing laps to snatch the win away from  Aaron Meyer, who wasn’t so lucky with the lapped traffic. Meyer, who crossed the stripe in second, lost his finishing spot later when he refused an engine claim. The Hobby Stocks rules run a universal set of rules governed by IMCA.


            Jeff Selfridge worked his way through the pack to finish in second with rookie Griffin McGrath posting a third place finish. Brandon Herb and Scott Strauss completed the top of the order.


            Jessica Hoffman of Atkins bolted into the lead as the green flag waved and picked up her first feature win of the season in the Women on Wheels finale. Kandi Floyd of Cedar Rapids finished in second with Clutier driver Connie Binder scoring third.



Heat – Denny Osborn, Janesville

Feature (20 laps) 1. Osborn; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 4. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 5. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 6. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 7. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 8. Matt Lundberg,  West Des Moines; 9. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids; 10. Lyle Williams, Center Point



Heat 1- Andy Duggan, Marion; Heat 2-Martin Ballard, Marengo

Feature ( 20 laps) 1. Ballard; 2. Duggan; 3. Kevin Korsmo, Cedar Rapids; 4. John Henecke, Hiawatha; 5. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids; 6. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 7.Brian Franks, Central City; 8. Art Christoffersen, Toddville; 9. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 10. Craig bender, Cedar Rapids; 11. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 12. Gene Peterson, Des Moines; 13. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids



Heat 1- Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids; Heat 2- Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids

Feature (20 laps) 1. Matt Poduska, Cedar Rapids; 2. Jeff Selfridge, Marion; 3. McGrath; 4. Brandon Herb, Marion; 5. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 6. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 7. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 8. Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 9. Kevin Karr, Marion; 10. Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids; 11. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 12. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 13. Mike Desotel,Cedar Rapids; 14. Dave Gleason, Atkins; 15. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 16. Bill Koepke, Cedar Rapids; 17. Matt Lacousierre, Cedar Rapids; 18. Scott Siems, Mt. Auburn; 19. Deb Mefford, Marion; 20. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 21. Shawn Carnahan, Cedar Rapids




Heat 1-Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; Heat 2-Landon Cassill, Fairfax

Feature (20 laps) 1. Gase; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. Arlo Becker, Atkins; 4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 5. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. Chad Willet, Cedar Rapids; 7. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 8. Cassill; 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 10. Kevin Lee, Homestead; 11. Jody Lana, Cedar Rapids; 12. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids



Heat 1- Jessica Hoffman, Atkins

Feature 1. Hoffman; 2. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3. Connie Binder, Clutier



Heat 1- Norman Chesmore, Rowley;  Heat 2-Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

Feature (25 laps) 1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids; 3. Hanson; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. Randy Filling, Toddville; 6. Doug Simon, Marion; 7. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 8. Chesmore;9. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn 10. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 12. Terry Clayton, Brooklyn; 13. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 14. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 15. Jason Block, Mt. Vernon; 16. Cory Houdek, Anamosa; 17. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 18. Scott Beauregard, Center Point; 19. Brad Daugherty, Cedar Rapids; 20. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids