Clausen, Hinrichs, Korsmo, Ahrendsen, Grother, and Ballard

Visit Hawkeye Downs Victory Lane


(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/17/05) The Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series made its annual visit to Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night as Storm Steel and Abrasive Jet presented racing with the HOSS Sprints and the Hawkeye Downs regular divisions.


            Tim Cox of Park City, IL set fast time in HOSS qualifying with a lap of 15.583 seconds, just a tick off the track record of 15.539. The current record is held by Kevin Feeney, who wasn’t on hand to defend the record Friday night. Cox also won his heat race.


            In the thirty lap HOSS Feature Michael Tarlton of Albion, IN seemed to have things well in control as the laps ticked off although Sondi Eaton, Crawfordsville, IN did try to mount a challenge a couple of times. With just one lap to go the complexion of the race changed quickly as fast-qualifier Tim Cox went from third to first on the final half-lap of the race. Tarlton and the other leaders encountered lapped traffic on that lap and Cox found a hole and shot around Tarlton for the win. Tarlton finished second while Jason Fuller of Bremen, IN finished in third.


            In racing as part of the Papa Johns Cup I-Wireless Stock Car Championships there were a couple new visitors to Coca-Cola Victory Lane in their respective divisions.


            Larry Clausen held off Tim Plummer for his first win of the season in the Miller Time Modifieds. Clausen had a big lead erased near the halfway point of the 30 lap feature when a spinning car brought out a YellowBook yellow flag. When green flag racing resumed, Clausen started to pull away again but Plummer reeled him in several laps later. Plummer couldn’t wrestle the position away however and settled for second.  Brian Allen finished third.


            The Performance Concepts Late Model feature saw Kyle Hinrichs of Swisher pick up his first career win in the division. The sixteen year old started on the point for the 25 –lap feature and he maintained a quite comfortable margin throughout the race. He finished 2.6 seconds ahead of the second place car of Dudley Fleck who came through the pack from the eighth starting spot. Landon Cassill emerged from a tough battle for position to finish in third.


            Kevin Korsmo got it done again in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature working his way into command of the race from the fourth row. The win was the seventh of the season for Korsmo.  Andy Duggan applied some pressure in the closing laps after also leading the race earlier but as the leaders passed the Lint Millwright Start-Finish Line Korsmo posted a .240 margin of victory.  Brian Franks finished in third.


            There was also racing on the quarter-mile on Friday night and again a season first winner prevailed at the line in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Bob Ahrendsen bolted into the lead on a lap 5 restart and then held off Brad Dvorak to lay claim to his first win of the 2005 season. Doug Simon got around Dvorak with just one lap remaining to take second with Dvorak finishing third. Chad Siems and Randy Filling rounded out the top of the order.


            In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock action, Rodney Grother of Cedar Rapids posted a first-time asphalt win after starting in the fourth row. Grother worked his way to the front and finished ahead of Tim Dains and Brandon Herb in another action-filled main event for the division. Chad Vozenilek finished fourth and Scott Siems was fifth.


            Jeff Ballard notched the win in the Marines.com Hornets division, leading nearly the whole way. He held off Nathan Ballard to collect his first win of the season. Creston Williams finished in third. Rick Gallo and Derrick Beadle finished fourth and fifth, respectively.


            Heading into the June 24 Zimmerman Ford Mid-Season Championships there have collectively been 32 different feature winners to date.




Fast Time- 15.583  Tim Cox, Park City, IL

Heat #1- Tim Cox

Heat #2- Patrick Stewart, Jamestown, IN

Heat#3- Hank Lower, Angola, IN


FEATURE (30 laps)

  1. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 2. Michael Tarlton, Albion, IN; 3. Jason Fuller, Bremen, IN; 4. Sondi Eaton, Crawfordsville, IN; 5. Ron Koehler, South Bend, IN; 6. Scott Seaton, Cedar Springs, MI; 7. Dale Wood, Bremen, IN; 8. Greg Wheeler, Columbia City, IN; 9. Roger Anderson, Indianapolis, IN; 10. Jerry Caryer, Ney, OH; 11. Hank Lower, Angola, IN; 12. Ted McKibben, Indianapolis, IN; 13. Patrick Stewart, Indianpolis, IN; 14. Tom Patterson, Argos, IN; 15. Sam Davis, Bourbon, IN; 16. Rodney Ziemek, Akron, IN




FEATURE (25 laps)

  1. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids; 3. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 5. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 6. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 7. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 8. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 9. Scott Wenneremark, Ely; 10. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 11. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids; 12. Lyle Williams, Center Point



FEATURE (25 laps)

  1. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion; 3. Brian Franks, Central City; 4. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids; 5. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 6. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 7. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 8. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 9. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 10. Amy Woodward, Mason City; 11. Steve Kibort, Milan, IL



FEATURE (30 laps)

  1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 5. Arlo Becker, Norway; 6. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 7. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 8. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 9. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 10. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 11. Steve Lindell, Marion; 12. Chad Willet, Alburnett; 13. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 14. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids; 15. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (20 laps)

  1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Doug Simon, Marion; 3. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 5. Randy Filling Toddville; 6. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 8. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 9. John Ness, Cedar Rapids; 10. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (15 laps)

  1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 2. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brandon Herb, Marion; 4. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. Roger LaCoursierre, Cedar Rapids; 7. Shawn Blauer, Cedar Rapids; 8. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 9. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 10. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 11. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 12. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids




1. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 2. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. Creston Williams, Atkins; 4. Rick Gallo, Cedar Rapids; 5. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 6. Connie Binder, Clutier; 7. Clint Sheppard