By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 06/15/07)—A host of familiar faces visited Coca-Cola Victory Lane at ASA-Sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway during the annual “100.7 The Fox Free Race.” For the past several years KKRQ-FM has presented the free race, distributing thousands of free tickets to listeners across eastern Iowa.


            One new face picking up winners’ hardware was that of IMCA Sportmod feature winner Brian Kauffman of Cedar Rapids. Kauffman is the fourth different winner this season in the upstart class gaining the win after starting on the pole and staying ahead of the field in the 15-lap feature. Arnie Reif crossed the line in second followed by Tony Olson.


            Brad Chandler of Vinton notched his third win of the season in the Sunline Hornets after emerging from a three wide battle early in the 15-lap race. Chandler started in row three and battled his way to the front finishing ahead of Shawn Myers and point leader Brian Beaty. Jason Fawcett finished fourth after leading the early laps and Sonny Parker was fifth.


            Rodney Grother also picked up his third winners trophy of the 2007 campaign on Friday night after battling point leader Tim Dains over the last five laps of the 20 lap feature for Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. The two traded the lead back and forth with one car holding a slight advantage in turns one and two and the other leading in three and four. Grother collected the checkered flag by slightly more than a bumper after the two made slight contact emerging from the final turn on the final lap.


            Scott Siems finished third after starting on the pole while Ron Dighton rallied from the rear of the field to finish in fourth. Dennis Klinsky continued his strong performance in 2007 finishing fifth.


            In the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Kurt Bohnsack of Iowa City also scored his third win of the season. The first lap of the race resulted in a caution and took Greg Hentrich and Logan Hale out of contention. Bohnsack took advantage of the restart and bolted into the lead and then motored to the win finishing nearly a second and a half ahead of the second place car of Bob Ahrendsen. Dennis Hundley finished third, Doug Otto fourth and Brad Daugherty fifth.


            Defending Miller Time Modified champion Tim Plummer again found himself being interviewed in victory lane as he picked up his third trip to the podium Friday night.  The feature got off to a scary start when the front row appeared to bobble as they charged to the green flag causing the field to check up behind them and resulting in a red flag as debris was cleaned up.


            Once the race was restarted Plummer took control on lap five after passing Chad Willett and then scooted away from the field. Willett maintained second, nearly 3.5 second behind the leader as the checkers waved. Arlo Becker stayed in the thick of the points chase finishing third.  Shawn Stinger finished fourth while rookie Joey Gase recorded his best run of the season in fifth.




            In other Papa Johns Cup/I Wireless Championship action, Dave McCalla of Cedar Rapids became the first four-time winner of the season winning the 25-lap Budweiser Sportsmen feature. McCalla was undoubtedly the man to beat Friday night as he gridded sixth and moved to the lead just nine circuits into the race. Bob Ahrendsen and Martin Ballard finished next in line but by the time the checkers waved McCalla had amassed a 4.5 second lead as he turned lap speeds close to the 88 mph mark according to Hawkeye Downs Timing and Scoring.


            Michael Weber finished fourth and Mel Schappert was fifth.


            The Performance Concepts Late Models made their first appearance of the season on Friday night with the predicted nine cars signing in. Trevor Millikan of Omaha, NE started on the pole and lead the first 20 laps before Dudley Fleck of Cedar Rapids ducked underneath and took the lead with just ten to go just after a spin by Ben Glascock forced a restart.


            Thor Anderson the 15 year old from Bondurant, who was the fast qualifier of the night finished in second followed by Millikan.  Ken Reiser of Waukon, IA posted a fourth place finish with Griffin McGrath of CR placing fifth.


 Fleck had been battling ignition problems that started during the Miller 100 two weeks ago but solved the problem prior to tonight’s race.


The Late Models return in two weeks when at least two more entries are expected to join the field.









FEATURE- (15 laps)- 1. Brian Kauffman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha,IA;  3. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 5. Rob McDonald, Manchester, IA



FEATURE- (15 laps)- 1. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 2. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 4. Jason Fawcett, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jon Livingston, Marion, IA; 8. Brian Bries, Norway, IA; 9. Matt Poduska, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Nathan Chandler, Vinton, IA



FEATURE- (20 laps) 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 3. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 6. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 8. Scott Benesh, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 11. Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 13. Steve Wilhelm, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 16. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Dennis Hundley, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls, IA; 5. Brad Daugherty, Palo, IA; 6. Chad Siems, Marion, IA; 7. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 8. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 2. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 3. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 4. shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 5. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 9. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA; 11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 12. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 13. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon, IA



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 4. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 5. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 7. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 8. Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA; 9. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA



FEATURE (30 laps)  1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, IA; 3. Trevor Millikan, Omaha, NE; 4. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 5. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 7. Randy Coghlan, Toddville, IA; 8. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA  DNS- Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA