By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  061501)—Wade Prasil, Andy Duggan, and Mike Thomas all visited Coca-Cola Victory Lane for the first time this season after winning features at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night.


               The revised format for feature line-ups continued to yield some great racing with plenty of passing in all six divisions that were part of Friday nights’ ASA/Hawk Performance/Papa John’s Cup program.


               Wade Prasil won his first aggregates Late Model Feature after using the high grove to pass Dudley Fleck with 12 laps remaining in the “Powerade 50.” Prasil’s dash to the front started in the tenth row and he methodically picked his way toward the front before snagging the checkers. Fleck crossed the stripe in second with Mike Ehde in third.


               Andy Duggan grabbed his first career Budweiser Sportsmen win after holding off point leader Curt Van Der Wal in the closing laps. Duggan took advantage of a favorable starting spot and mounted a big enough lead that Van Der Wal was unable to catch him as the checkers waved.  Dave Johnson finished in third.


               Mike Thomas picked up the win the Miller Time Modifieds but not without holding off a four-car freight train headed by John Troxel. Thomas saw an early lead evaporate as a group including Troxel, point leader Mike Schulte, Arlo Becker and Brian Allen closed in.  Troxel held on to second with Becker finishing a strong third.


               Jeff Franks picked up his third feature win of the 2001 campaign in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks. Point leader Brad Dvorak finished second after charging to the front from the sixteenth starting slot. Franks used lapped traffic to his advantage to secure the win over Dvorak ahead of Brad Helle.


               Mike Walsh snared the lead with just a couple laps to go to take the first of two Barron Motor Supply Thunderstock features. Walsh outdueled Crystal Griesehop for the win with Daryl Jones finishing in third.


               Dean Michel posted a strong performance and led the second Thunderstock feature from start to finish. Matt Jones crossed the flagstand in second with Ron Dighton in third.


               Gwen Christensen held off Deb Mefford to take the win in the Coca-Cola Women on Wheels feature. Christensen grabbed the lead from Linn Hite in the early going and led the rest of the event. Mefford closed in on the leader in the final laps but settled for second, finishing ahead of Hite.








June 15, 2001




1.      Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

2.      Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

3.      Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

4.      Curt Martin, Independence

5.      Scot Johnson, Ankeny

6.      Brian Gibson, Cedar Rapids

7.      Marty Diercks, Bettendorf

8.      Randy Coghlan, Toddville

9.      Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

10.  Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids

11.  Max Corporon, Marion

12.  TJ Schaefer, Solon

13.  Les Cady, Deer Grove, IL

14.  Brian Allen, Hiawatha

15.  Lorin Kurth, Waukon

16.  Dave Naylor, Scotch Grove

17.  Dennis Gerst, Jesup

18.  Pete Alepra, Cedar Rapids

19.  Kevin Korsmo, Atkins

20.  Greg Kastli, Waterloo

21.  Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

22.  Doug Hite, Urbana




1.      Mike Thomas, Cedar Rapids

2.      John Troxel, Cedar Rapids

3.      Arlo Becker, Atkins

4.      Brian Allen, Hiawatha

5.      Mike Schulte, Norway

6.      Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

7.      Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

8.      Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

9.      Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids

10.  Don Long, Anamosa

11.  Trent Ross, Cedar Rapids

12.  Mike Duffus, Newton

13.  Beau Duffield, Cedar Rapids

14.  Keith Gogel, Solon

15.  Jim Williams, Atkins

16.  David Novotny, Solon

17.  James Lamphier, Urbana




1.      Andy Duggan, Marion

2.      Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

3.      Dave Johnson, Ankeny

4.      Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

5.      Scot Johnson, Ankeny

6.      Martin Ballard, Marengo

7.      Tom Burke, Nevada

8.      John Henecke, Hiawatha

9.      J J Meyer, Cedar Rapids

10.  Ross Kurth, Waukon

11.  Dan Zamastil, Fairfax

12.  Brian Franks, Central City

13.  Jack Vincent, Nevada

14.  Lyle Williams, Center Point

15.  Bruce Scheff, Swisher

16.  Bryan Jones, Swisher

17.  Jason Vincent, Nevada

18.  Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

19.  Steve Kibort, Milan, IL

20.  Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

21.  Kevin Lee, Homestead

22.  Ron Fisher, Shellsburg




1.      Jeff Franks, Rowley

2.      Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon

3.      Brad Helle, Cedar Rapids

4.      Randy Filling,Toddville

5.      Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

6.      Doug Simon, Marion

7.      Tink Willey, Marion

8.      Brian Franks, Central City

9.      Derrick Griesehop, Mt. Vernon

10.  Kurt Bohnsack, Coralville

11.  Clint Houdek, Anamosa

12.  Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

13.  Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

14.  Tim Dains, Marion

15.  Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

16.  John Baker, Cedar Rapids

17.  Mike Brecht, Cedar Rapids

18.  Jim Beer, Cedar Rapids

19.  John Ness, Cedar Rapids

20.  Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

21.  Scott Grady, Walker

22.  Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

23.  Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids

24.  Roger Merta, Walford







1.      Mike Walsh, Cedar Rapids

2.      Crystal Griesehop, Mt. Vernon

3.      Darryl Jones, Cedar Rapids

4.      Greg Hentrich,Hiawatha

5.      Dave Gleason, Atkins

6.      Brian Galde, Cedar Rapids

7.      Roger La Coursiere, Cedar Rapids

8.      Jodi Cranston, Cedar Rapids

9.      Bobby Grandstaff, Carlisle

10.  Jeff Selfridge, Marion

11.  Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids

12.  James Sheldon, Cedar Rapids

13.  Travis Doudney, Cedar Rapids

14.  Lisa Dumond, Cedar rapids



1.      Dean Michel, Cedar Rapids

2.      Matt Jones, Cedar Rapids

3.      Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids

4.      Ron Jarrett, Atkins

5.      Kevin Sanborn, Ely

6.      Chip Kohl, Marion

7.      Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids

8.      Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids

9.      Steve Luedtke, Cedar Rapids

10.  Larry Weston, Cedar Rapids

11.  Frank Auen, Garrison

12.  Dan Thompson, Cedar Rapids

13.  Fred Mains, Cedar Rapids

14.  Mike DeSotel, Cedar Rapids

15.  Shawn Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

16.  Crystal Wessley, Marion




  1. Gwen Christensen, Stanwood
  2. Deb Mefford, Marion
  3. Linn Hite, Urbana
  4. Dana Scott, Cedar Rapids
  5. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids
  6. Danielle Auen, Garrison
  7. Julie Walsh, Cedar Rapids
  8. Candace Jarrett, Atkins
  9. Jenn Harrington, Cedar Rapids
  10. Sandra Sheldon, Cedar rapids