(Thursday, June 12)—Hawkeye Downs has announced changes to the finishing order in the Miller Time Modifieds, Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks, and Performance Concepts Late Models. The changes are:

Late Model- After reviewing the transponder scoring it was determined that #25 Matt Lundberg was on the lead lap and finished in 7th.

Super Stock- The original winner of the race, #3 Dave McCalla was disqualified for an illegal clutch.  Jayson Scott was declared the winner and everyone else moves up.

Modifieds- The #15 Kyle Hinrichs was penalized to the tail of the lead lap for spinning #18 Chad Willett.



By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  061103)—Justin Diercks raced away from the field early on in the 31st running of  the Miller 100 to lay claim to his second straight win in the event. A couple late cautions put Dudley Fleck and Johnny Spaw within striking distance but Diercks was able to power around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile despite losing power steering during the race.


            A new format was used to set the starting lineups this year, as Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring recorded the practice times of the cars during hot laps. The fastest six cars were inverted based on a draw with the balance of the field set by time.


            Diercks started inside row two of the 23 car field and wasted little time taking the point, which he never surrendered. Fleck held on to second with Johnny Spaw third, Tony Bagstad fourth, and Jay Herbst fifth.


            This year the name of the event was changed slightly to the “Keith Fleck Miller 100,” to honor Mr. Fleck for his sponsorship and contributions throughout the years to the race program and the racers of Hawkeye Downs.


            The other divisions of the ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Championship were also in action for the race, which kicked off the 2003 version of the Hawkeye Downs Fair.


            Kevin Korsmo picked up his second win of the season in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature easily outdistancing Andy Duggan and Scott Wennermark. Korsmo started in row two and emerged from a three-wide opening lap as the leader.


            The Miller Time Modified feature was a wild affair that thrilled the capacity crowd with three-wide racing and multiple position changes. Arlo Becker held off a determined Max Corporon to claim the win. Corporon tried high and low lines to pass Becker but the cagey veteran was able to thwart each attempt. Corporon, sporting a GM “Crate Engine,” finished in second with Shawn Stinger crossing the stripe in third.


            Landon Cassill continued his impressive season in winning the Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends Feature. Cassill started in the third row and wrestled the lead away from Ross Zumbach to collect the checkers. Zumbach was scored second, with Tom Frady finishing third.


            Jayson Scott picked up his first win of the season in the  30-lap Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks feature. The event was slowed by a couple cautions which kept the field bunched. Bob Ahrendsen finished second with Arnie Reif crossing the stripe in third.

            (There is no racing Friday, June 13. Racing resumes Friday, June 20)


Results for June 11, 2003


Performance Concepts

Late Models- Miller 100

1. Justin Diercks, Davenport

2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

4. Tony Bagstad, Lacrosse, WI

5. Jay Herbst, West Salem, WI

6. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

7. Matt Lundberg, West Des Moines

8. Lorin Kurth, Waukon

9. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

10. Denny Osborn, Janesville

11. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

12. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

13. Dean Slater, Schaumburg, IL

14. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI

15. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

16. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

17. Dexter Bean, Westley, WI

18. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

19. Brad Osborn, Janesville

20. Brian Gibson, Walford

21. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

22. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids

23. Art Christoffersen, Toddville


Budweiser Sportsmen (30laps)

1. Kevin Korsmo, Hiawatha

2. Andy Duggan, Marion

3. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

4. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

5. Brian Franks, Central City

6. John Henecke, Hiawatha

7. Tom Burke, Nevada

8. Martin Ballard, Marengo

9. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

10. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

11. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

12. Lyle Williams, Center Point

13. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

14. Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids

15. Leonard Fevold, Oxford

16. Rob Keeney, Cedar Rapids

17. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

18. Bob Hosier, Cedar Rapids



1. Arlo Becker, Atkins

2. Max Corporon, Marion

3. Shawn Stinger, Palo

4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

5. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

6. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

7. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

8. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

9. John Baker, Toddville

10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

11. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids

12. Jim Williams, Atkins


SUPER STOCKS –30 Laps     (Top 15 only)

1 .Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

3.Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

4.Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

5. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

6. Tink Willey, Marion

7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

8. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

9. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

10. Scott Grady, Walker

11. Jeff Franks, Rowley

12. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

13. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

14. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids




1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

2. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN

3. Tom Frady, Cedar Rapids

4. Larry Will, Batavia, IL

5. Garrett Will, Batavia, IL

6. Eric Appleget, Ely

7. Brett Thomas, Cedar Rapids

8. Chris Springer

9. Ron Fare

10. Keith Meyer, Cedar Rapids

11. Mark Hauder, Dubuque