By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 060706)—The 2006 Hawkeye Downs Fair kicked off Wednesday night with “ KZIA  Z102.9/100.7 The Fox Motor Madness” which featured racing in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Sunline Hornets, and a variety of novelty classes as well as a Monster Truck show.


            The Hobby Stock and Hornet divisions, which normally race on Friday nights, ran heats and features which earned regular points.


            Rodney Grother of Cedar Rapids picked up his third victory of the season in the Hobby Stocks after starting deep in the 16-car field. Grother edged out Terry Shaffar of State Center for the win. Scott Siems of Cedar Rapids finished third.


            The Sunline Hornets 12-lap feature went to Brian Beaty of  Palo. Beaty started on the point, quickly motored away from the pack, and was never challenged as he collected the win. Nathan Ballard of Marengo finished second while Roy Parker of Marion crossed the Coors Light Finish Line in third.


            Also on the Motor Madness card were Mini-Van and School Bus races. Kris Jones was the victor in the Mini-Van feature, unseating Ray Spaw, who had dominated previous Min-Van races. Spaw finished second while John Sweet was third.


            In the School Bus feature, Chad Vozenilek emerged as the victor but not before the buses thrilled the crowd with four-wide racing and Sonny Parker managed to roll his Department of Corrections Bus once again. Brian Dvorak finished in second with Dave Coghlan scored third.


            The Hawkeye Downs Fair crowd was also treated to a Monster Truck show featuring, The Reaper,  Project X, Hot Tamale, and Bare Foot. The trucks participated in wheelie, racing and freestyle contests crushing cars and a couple vans during the stunts.





HEAT 1- 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 2. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3.Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 4. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 5. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids; 6.Dennis Klinsky, Ely; 7. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 8. Barb Davis, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 2. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 3. Gary Pfantz, State Center; 4. Duayne Herb, Marion; 5. Tim Dains, Marion; 6. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids; 7. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 8. Joe Sprague, Independence

FEATURE (15 laps)- 1. Grother; 2. Shaffar; 3. Siems; 4.  K. Floyd; 5. Pfantz; 6.Herb; 7. Fare; 8. Dains; 9. Vozenilek; 10. J. Floyd; 11. Sprague; 12. Lacoursiere; 13. Mefford; 14. Davis; 15. Thomsen; DNS-Klinsky



HEAT 1- 1. Brian Beaty, Palo; 2.Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. Joe Zrostlik; 4. Roy Parker, Marion; 5. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 6. Brian Bries, Norway; 7. Clint Sheppard, Hiawatha; 8. Dan Vincent, Solon; 9. Brad Fisher, Oxford; 10. Jeff Ballard, Marengo

FEATURE (12 laps)  1. Beaty; 2. N. Ballard; 3. Parker; 4. Beadle; 5. Zrosklik; 6. Bries; 7. Fisher; 8. Sheppard; 9. J. Ballard; 10. Vincent



HEAT 1- 1. Kris Jones; 2. Jason Callahan; 3. Matt Alden; 4. Chad Vogt; 5. Shane Hatch; 6. Shawn Dunleavy

HEAT 2- 1. Ray Spaw; 2. Mike Rubacki; 3. Ralph Parrott; 4. John Maakestad; 5. John Sweet

FEATURE (12 laps) 1. Jones; 2. Spaw; 3. Sweet; 4. Alden; 5. Hatch; 6. Dunleavy; 7. Vogt; 8. Callahan; 9. Rubacki; 10. Parrott; 11. Maakestad



HEAT 1- 1. Dave Coghlan; 2. Barry Tritle; 3. Dennis Thomas; 4. Sonny Parker

HEAT 2- 1. Chad Vozenilek; 2. Brian Dvorak; 3. Arlo Becker

FEATURE- 1. Vozenilek; 2. Dvorak, 3. Coghlan; 4. Tritle; 5. Thomas; 6. Becker